Customer Reviews for

The Total Money Makeover Workbook

Average Rating 4
( 164 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(87)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 173 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Straightforward and Practical. Best book purchase I have ever made.

    I would recommend this book to everyone. Dave Ramsey is straightforward and doesn't sugar coat anything. This book is what we all should have already learned about money that was never taught to us in schools or by family and friends. I am not a fan of self help books, and I generally roll my eyes when they are recommended, but this book is worth buying and keeping. This author is battling against debt, spending what we don't have, and the entitlement idea we have about what we are owed by life.

    This is not about theories or magical plans or get rich quick schemes; this is about the way you should handle money so it doesn't rule and ruin your life. If you don't want to face your mistakes or learn to tell yourself 'no' to frivolous purchases, you will not like hearing what this man has to say. If you are unwilling to face the actions you have made that have driven you into debt, you will be unable to hear what he has to teach.

    He does not tout specific strategies for every situation. Instead, he teaches you to look at money in a more practical way. Money is a tool, and we all need to learn to use it wisely. It takes work to correct financial mistakes, and he shows you the steps that you will need to do that. Short of identity theft, personal tragedy, and huge medical bills, the debt we carry is our own doing, and he teaches us how to stop spending ourselves into the ground and how to reach for and gain financial stability.

    High praise, but this is the best book purchase I have ever made. I owe this author a debt of gratitude for challenging the way I think and teaching me that I was being irresponsible in my spending.

    I would suggest reading 'The Overspent American: Why we Buy what we don't need' as a companion to this book for the greatest impact.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Makes very hard work simplified!

    Dave Ramsey doesn't elude to any get rich schemes. His advise relates to hard work -VERY HARD WORK! It's simple common sense, but breaks it down into baby steps so you can succeed! Not to be dramatic, but this book has changed our lives for the better!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    Excellent!

    This plan is easy to understand and very practical. Dave Ramsey is very down to earth and gives you a plan that is simple to use everyday. I look forward to being debt free in a very short time with his help.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    Great Book, Definitely a must read!!

    I first read the hard copy of this book a few years ago. Now that I'm in Afghanistan working the Debt Snowball, I wanted to reread it but didn't want extra books laying around so I bought a second copy, this time for my Nook.
    If you're interested in making vast improvements in your personal or business financial health, this book is a GREAT guide on how to do that and even explains myths and why they're wrong or right. Dave Ramsey really breaks it down in an easy to read and understand and it even has a workbook that comes extra that helps you actually execute the plan. I'll be estatic to have the chance to reread it anywhere life takes me.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Debt is Dumb

    common sense advice and information for getting out of debt and staying out of dept.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    i

    is it really worth it? put yes or no ether one.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Great Read, Highly Recommended!

    My boyfriend (who is not much of a reader) had been telling me about this book for months. I finally read it and was not disappointed. The book is extremely motivating and offers great tips for how to manage your money. Although it seems the target reader is someone who is trying to get out of debt, I think everyone should read this. Its a very fast read; I managed to read the whole book in a day and plan to read it again so I can drill his money managing methods into my brain. I'm officially a Dave Ramsey fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very Informative

    This book helps you learn to look at your money with your brain instead of your emotions. Also, I like his references to the bible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    Follow the book and you can change your financial future

    I've seen this book so many times, but looked at it as another self help book to make the writer money. I finally got the book on sale and gave it a chance. The book is a great read with a lot of interesting facts along the way to keep you entertained as well. I thought I was doing well, but truthfully never really looked at the money and this book helped me do that. The advice is simple and no nonsense and very easy to follow. The book gives clear direction and advice on how to create a budget, pay off debt, and save for the future. The book is also fun to read, with funny tidbits and myths along the way.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    Life changing.

    Not a get rich quick scheme. If that's what you're after, take a pass on this one. That being said, this book changed our lives (wife & I). We are closer to each other, closer to God and moving towards a completely debt free lifestyle. We hope to pass on all of these valuable lessons to our kids. This book gives very practical and actionable steps on how to clean up your debt mess. It also teaches you to THINK and ACT rather than just following the crowd, keeping up with the Jones', or falling into "victim thinking". Thank you Dave Ramsey!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2006

    A must read

    I heard Dave Ramsey once and I'm hooked. Excellent advice and what I thought about carrying debt is total wrong. About to get into his Financial Peace University so I too can live without debt.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    i personally found this useless and wish i could get a refund as

    i personally found this useless and wish i could get a refund as i did not finish it. As a bookkeeper this is nothing short of basic accounting math. and repeating the same thing over and over again and again. i was so annoyed i stopped reading it or skimming it should i say. i liked larry winget you're broke b/c you want to be so much better. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Very helpful

    This is a very helpful book, Use it with the Total money makeover book. Dave Ramsey financial books is the best in the business.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    highly recommended

    You can not go wrong with Dave Ramsey products. He is a financial genius! I give him thanks for helping my husband and I get smart with our money. Must check this out and all of his other products, esp the total money makeover dvds!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Recommend

    Easy to follow and understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    Inspired!

    This book has really inspired me! Another book that was recommended to me when purchasing this book was "Life After Foreclosure" by Dean Wegner and I feel both books really helped me out in becoming Financially Successful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 173 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9