Customer Reviews for

The Trident: The Forging and Reforging of a Navy SEAL Leader

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    This book was a wonderful Military leadership novel, I was assig

    This book was a wonderful Military leadership novel, I was assigned this to read for a social entrepreneurship class, and did not know what I would think of it. However, after diving into it, it was difficult to set back down! It was a great Insight into both his life at home as well as his life overseas. Definitely a must read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    A future best seller!! This book has something for everyone!! An

    A future best seller!! This book has something for everyone!! And I guarantee you will find it to be an emotional roller-coaster!
    It is highly motivational and provides a glimpse of the inner workings and associated hardships related to being a SEAL and the long road to recovery that our wounded warriors must travel.

    At its core I found it to be a Love story!! Yep a Love story!! All the way through! Love of country, Love of his warrior brothers and the glue that held him together through the entire journey....The unconditional Love of his wife and family!! What a journey!!

    I would suggest that it be required reading for anyone that aspires to lead people, as the lessons learned while on his journey to become a leader of highly motivated elite warriors are universal traits required to be an effective leader at any level.

    Most of us are far to eager to inventory the shortcomings of those around us yet go to great lengths to avoid an inventory of our own! Out of the few that are courageous enough to face mankind's ultimate enemy, SELF, even fewer would be willing to journal the battle and publish it for the entire world to see.

    I think it's time to walk up and slap MY dragon!! Thank you Jason and Thank you to all that serve!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2015

    For me, Jason Redman opening up his own ┬┐inner world┬┐ from early

    For me, Jason Redman opening up his own “inner world” from early desires for the Trident to his willingness to expose to the world his shortcomings and recovery process in this book in such an emotionally transparent way proves to me one of the reasons his life was spared. His story needed to be shared and his service and voice were needed for our veterans today. Jason earns my respect not only for having earned the Trident and surviving Ranger school and his wounds. He earns my respect for remolding his thinking, sharing this story and honoring his wife and family’s sacrifice. He further earned my respect for all he continues to do in service to our country and her wounded veterans. I tend to read the most negative reviews after I finish a book, and I have read the ones posted here for Trident. Ninety percent of them must not have read the synopsis before purchase. Seems they were looking for a commercial type success manual instead of an autobiographical story of how this man reformed his thinking and succeeded in his work and recovery (which he largely credits to others btw). The other ten percent stopped reading or blinded themselves to the rest of the story when Jason openly tells us early on how eager he was for combat and that thinking this way was part of his downfall. Sad really that those readers couldn’t understand; all books are about journeys, and in order to tell where Jason is today he had to tell what he came from and all he went through for us to truly understand the man he is today. That’s what I expected the book to be and it delivered 100%. Thank you Jason for your service and for sharing this with all of us who are so thankful for our freedom and the veterans who helped enable it to continue.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    Very Good.

    Im actually training to be SWCC. Very little people know this but BUD/S is required for all NAVSOC Units such as SEALs, SWCC, and Navy Divers. After BUD/S SWCC goes to CQT and SEALs go to SQT.
    SWCC- Special Warfare Combatent-Crewman
    CQT- Crewman Qualifcation Training
    SQT- SEAL Qualifcation Training
    BUD- Basic Underwater Demoltion

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Navy knowledge To all navy seal rpers

    Navy ranks and rates: seaman recruit. Seaman apprentice. Seaman. Petty Officer 3rd class. Petty Officer 2nd class. Petty Officer 1st class. Chief Petty Officer. Senoir Chief Petty Officer. Master Chief Petty Officer. Warrent Officer 1-5. Ensign. Lieutenant Junior Grade. Lieutenant. Lieutenant Commander. Commander. Captain. Rear Admiral (Lower Half). Rear Admiral (Upper Half). Admiral. SAILORS CREED!! I am a united states sailor. I will support and defend the constitution of the united states and obey the orders of those appointed over me. I represnt the fighting spirit of the navy and those who have gone before to defend freedom and democracy around the world. I am committed to the excellence and fair treatment of all......... I will take charge of this post and all government property in view~A Navy Rotc Student. (im in the next result if there is more questions and im bored...)

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2014

    Sing to any melody

    Look around
    At the people near
    At will become so dearly clear
    That all good people
    Have a heart
    Have a heart
    Getting off to a good start
    But all the evil in the world
    All there meaness all unfurled
    Have no heart

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    Was a wonderful and informative book. I really enjoyed how throughout Jason Redman's journey he would describe all of his emotions both good and bad and how it helped him grow. He also gave due justice to his wife and family and how everything affects them but in turn how a soldiers family handles things also affects the soldier. God bless them all for their sacrifices to keep Americans free.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Best book I have ever read

    I have read most of the documetrys of navy seals this is my favorite

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Outstanding Book

    Found this to be an uplifting book about the man, his growing process and the love for family, and Country. Would recommend this to anyone who loves our Country and the men and women who have placed their lives on the line for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Gent

    Am I too late to join?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Great read Phenomenal Story

    Going through this book gave me the feelings of how much adversity a person can be put through and succeed with a great family network and a Strong community. Truly exemplifies the character of this young SEAL leader and his triumphs and setbacks throughout his career.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    To piper

    Is that rose, or the other piper? From Doctor

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Rose

    Walks over to J. Let me help you I say.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Myth and Storm

    Myth: She sits down.***
    Storm: He sits down next to Myth

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Sage

    She nods,"cool. My buds and i r ready to go." She grins
    <p> Metallic, Mackell, Butch, and friends watch everyone ((lookimg for names))

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Jon and Jazz

    "Im doin fine." Jazzelle says and sits in a chair putting her crutches to the side. Jon nodded. "Oh well, this old man is doing just fine." He says and sits down putting his hand on his solid gold staff.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Piper

    Nods

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Bjorn

    Yawns

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Silver

    What the hell happened to you did i miss all the action

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Andrew

    I wish i had cruches or a cane

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2