Customer Reviews for

The Trigger Point Therapy Workbook: Your Self-Treatment Guide for Pain Relief

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Good self-help tool.

    I consider this book to be a useful self-help tool for treating trigger points, or irritable spots in the muscle. It has many, many pictures which help guide the reader to common places in the muscles where these things are at. From there, you can use a ball, massage them with your fingers, or even use this tool called a Thera-Cane to get to those hard to reach places. <BR/><BR/>All in all a handy book for treating trigger points, another good lesson here is that sometimes muscle trigger points can mimick more serious ailments, when the problem is really just in the muscle. Also recommend The 5-Minute Plantar Fasciitis Solution if you suffer from plantar fasciitis pain.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Great book for all!

    I recommend this book because everybody can use it. I first bought it to use in massage therapy school and used it many times. Now on my own, I refer back to this book everybody, to give guidance to my clients. My clients usually end up buying this book anyway.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2010

    trigger points - an interesting concept

    Still reviewing this book so shouldn't give more opinion

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2007

    Trigger points are everywhere.

    This book is about how to deal with those annoying little things in the muscle known as trigger points. I don't know it anyone really knows what they are for sure, short of them being irritable spots in the muscles, but this book will show you how you can treat them. One caveat though- the little buggers have a tendency to come back, so I also recommend other things to try such as stretching and strengthening exercises. Lots of great pictures in this book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2006

    Thank you, Claire Davies

    I swear by this book. I am a professional cellist and this book has solved, or at least dramatically improved problems with headaches, thoracic outlet syndrome, 'frozen shoulder' like symptoms, as well as ear,leg, foot and tmj problems. For me, the only drawback is that people think I'm a freak as I'm constantly digging my fingers into my neck or rolling a tennis ball around on my arm.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2005

    'Trigger Happy'

    Feel a sore ¿knot¿ in your neck? Back? Leg? Then you likely know trigger points. Headaches? Sore back? Hip? Then you likely know trigger points. Why not get to know them better ¿ and help them move out! The Trigger Point Therapy Workbook clearly explains trigger points, how to locate them, and how to de-activate them. There are well over 100 muscles identified (including pronunciations) in this book. The delightful news is that you don¿t need to learn them all (or how to pronounce them) before you begin! Thanks to the smartly-designed illustrations and easy-to-understand guidelines, you can begin the healing process right away! Being a colossal skeptic, I am hesitant whenever I encounter an exaggerated claim...but here goes. This book has actually changed my life! And I¿m confident it will continue to do so. Within two days of using this book, I felt genuine relief from my long-time companion: pain. As a great believer in the ¿patient, heal thyself¿ approach, I have tried many remedies over the years ¿ including massage, reflexology and accupressure. I continued the search. I was aware of trigger points and some of the mischief they can cause, however, it was not until I came across this book that I actually understood trigger points. This book has changed my life ¿ and I¿m thrilled to have found it! Can this book change your life? Yes. Will this book change your life? I encourage even the most skeptic of skeptics to give it a try. You will be glad you did. Mr. Davies and his daughter, Amber, have given us the tools to help us help ourselves heal. They note on page 45: ¿You deserve to be pain free. Give yourself this gift.¿ It¿s in your hands ¿ literally. A piece of advice...get yourself a good highlighter. You¿ll want one. Happy healing! (You can find Chapter One of the book, which describes Mr. Davies¿ journey from pain, online.)

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Try the unconventional method

    This is great if you have issues that a doctor can't or won't deal with other than an RX. Try this. Really good for muscle pain and deep issues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2010

    Awesome book...Highly Recommended 5 stars!

    Bought this book because I was sick of having little aches and pains that a doctor would only give me pills to treat. Also, my chiropractor had me getting massages and myofasica release treatments...this book is a perfect addition to all of my natural treatments. You owe it to yourself to have this book as a great reference tool!

    Jane

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reading this book led me to a greater understanding of Migraine headaches and the muscle structure that predominantly is the cause.

    This book is the solution to understanding and treating chronic headaches without pharmaceutical intervention. It addresses the source of the problem; tense muscles. Be it either from incorrect posture or repetitive job stress. An important note though, be prepared to follow the author's suggestions on the frequency of manipulating the muscle(s) that are causing the pain. This will teach the reader to be more observant of their own movements which in all probability are the cause of their problems. Self awareness is the best teacher.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    For anyone that has muscular pain

    I have recommended this book to everyone I know. It is a must have if you have any type of muscular pain. It is easy to read and provides wonderful information.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    I found this book very helpful

    I first saw this book at my massage therapist office. Since purchasing the book I have been able to help myself with self massages before they get unbearable. The photos and the guides made it very easy to perform the messages. The book is written so everyone can understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2006

    Best resource I have yet found!

    As a Massage Therapy student, I am always looking for a new resource of information. This book has been as beneficial to me as the textbooks that the schools teach out of. Whether you are a seasoned professional, a student, or simply looking to get rid of some of your personal pain I highly reccommend this book. Jerry Indiana

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2