Customer Reviews for

The Troop

Average Rating 4
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Be Prepared!

Gruesome, gory, great! I took a walk on the wild side and found The Troop by Nick Cutter and let me tell you campers out there, there may be more to fear than the mosquitoes, or the bears, or the Sasquatch. When a troop of boys out camping with their leader come to the ...
Gruesome, gory, great! I took a walk on the wild side and found The Troop by Nick Cutter and let me tell you campers out there, there may be more to fear than the mosquitoes, or the bears, or the Sasquatch. When a troop of boys out camping with their leader come to the aid of a deathly ill man, there is nothing that could have prepared them for the nightmare they have just fallen into. In a gruesome tale of terror, The Troop is every horror lover’s dream with vividly described scenes filled with guts, gore and excruciating deaths, leaving the young scouts alone to try to outrun almost certain death. But what can kill with such violence from within the body? Is it man-made? An act of God? Science? Sent from the devil?

Beyond the horrific scenes, I found the breakdown of the boys sense of camaraderie to be equally scary as they, too began to fall prey to the deadly killer within them. The strongest became weak, the weak ones showed tremendous courage and the dark evil kept coming and coming and coming. Perfect reading for any night you want nightmares.

Nick Cutter was brilliant in his build up to the troop’s initial contact with the emaciated and crazed man that wandered into their camp. Face it, life has its hierarchy, and these boys had theirs, from the classic bully to the classic geek. What better way to demonstrate the changes each character underwent throughout this tale! Filled with typical “boy” talk, everything from bathroom humor to talking about girls, I felt like I was a fly on the wall and got several chuckles and eye rolls out of their bantering dialogue. Mr. Cutter’s gift for gore is second to none, often grossly disgusting and always intense enough to keep me riveted to each bloody page. I will say though, the next time I feel the need to rough it off the beaten path, I’ll just choose a motel without a pool or Wi-fi.

I received an Arc edition in exchange for my honest review from Gallery, Threshold, Pocket Books.

posted by DiiMI on September 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I was immediately intrigued by the description of this book a




I was immediately intrigued by the description of this book and was looking forward to a good read. On that note, some parts were good, some not so much.

What I liked: The setting was perfect - boy scouts on a secluded island, a stranger shows up, chaos ensues, an...



I was immediately intrigued by the description of this book and was looking forward to a good read. On that note, some parts were good, some not so much.

What I liked: The setting was perfect - boy scouts on a secluded island, a stranger shows up, chaos ensues, and they have no one to rely on but themselves. But can they trust each other? The bioengineered horror (I don't want to give anything away) was a new approach and added a scientific element to the plot. I also enjoyed the rotation between what was currently happening and the court transcripts and reports during the aftermath of the island occurrences and the varying POV's between the boys and the scoutmaster. The backstory on each boy was also helpful in explaining their personalities.

What I didn't like: This book isn't for the faint of heart. Give me gore, blood, guts, murders, etc. of people in any story - not an issue. But when it involves animals, it can be a problem for me. There were a few incidents of graphic animal abuse in this story and I just had to skim through those parts. The boys seemed pretty stereotypical - the jock, the nerd, the psychologically disturbed one, etc. The scoutmaster, Tim, supposedly a responsible, upstanding doctor in a small community who had worked with these boys for years, made some incredibly bad choices that seemed a little unbelievable for his character.

I've been a horror fan since the 3rd grade and if you're into horror books and have no problem with animal abuse, this novel is enjoyable. Although the majority of characters in this book are 14, this is most definitely an adult book, so I don't recommend this for younger readers.
This review is based on a digital copy from the publisher through NetGalley.

posted by tpolen on February 25, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Be Prepared!

    Gruesome, gory, great! I took a walk on the wild side and found The Troop by Nick Cutter and let me tell you campers out there, there may be more to fear than the mosquitoes, or the bears, or the Sasquatch. When a troop of boys out camping with their leader come to the aid of a deathly ill man, there is nothing that could have prepared them for the nightmare they have just fallen into. In a gruesome tale of terror, The Troop is every horror lover’s dream with vividly described scenes filled with guts, gore and excruciating deaths, leaving the young scouts alone to try to outrun almost certain death. But what can kill with such violence from within the body? Is it man-made? An act of God? Science? Sent from the devil?

    Beyond the horrific scenes, I found the breakdown of the boys sense of camaraderie to be equally scary as they, too began to fall prey to the deadly killer within them. The strongest became weak, the weak ones showed tremendous courage and the dark evil kept coming and coming and coming. Perfect reading for any night you want nightmares.

    Nick Cutter was brilliant in his build up to the troop’s initial contact with the emaciated and crazed man that wandered into their camp. Face it, life has its hierarchy, and these boys had theirs, from the classic bully to the classic geek. What better way to demonstrate the changes each character underwent throughout this tale! Filled with typical “boy” talk, everything from bathroom humor to talking about girls, I felt like I was a fly on the wall and got several chuckles and eye rolls out of their bantering dialogue. Mr. Cutter’s gift for gore is second to none, often grossly disgusting and always intense enough to keep me riveted to each bloody page. I will say though, the next time I feel the need to rough it off the beaten path, I’ll just choose a motel without a pool or Wi-fi.

    I received an Arc edition in exchange for my honest review from Gallery, Threshold, Pocket Books.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2014

    I was immediately intrigued by the description of this book a




    I was immediately intrigued by the description of this book and was looking forward to a good read. On that note, some parts were good, some not so much.

    What I liked: The setting was perfect - boy scouts on a secluded island, a stranger shows up, chaos ensues, and they have no one to rely on but themselves. But can they trust each other? The bioengineered horror (I don't want to give anything away) was a new approach and added a scientific element to the plot. I also enjoyed the rotation between what was currently happening and the court transcripts and reports during the aftermath of the island occurrences and the varying POV's between the boys and the scoutmaster. The backstory on each boy was also helpful in explaining their personalities.

    What I didn't like: This book isn't for the faint of heart. Give me gore, blood, guts, murders, etc. of people in any story - not an issue. But when it involves animals, it can be a problem for me. There were a few incidents of graphic animal abuse in this story and I just had to skim through those parts. The boys seemed pretty stereotypical - the jock, the nerd, the psychologically disturbed one, etc. The scoutmaster, Tim, supposedly a responsible, upstanding doctor in a small community who had worked with these boys for years, made some incredibly bad choices that seemed a little unbelievable for his character.

    I've been a horror fan since the 3rd grade and if you're into horror books and have no problem with animal abuse, this novel is enjoyable. Although the majority of characters in this book are 14, this is most definitely an adult book, so I don't recommend this for younger readers.
    This review is based on a digital copy from the publisher through NetGalley.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2014

    This book should have a disclaimer for all the animal abuse that

    This book should have a disclaimer for all the animal abuse that's within its pages. I kind of understand why it was in there, but I really found all of it unnecessary. The kitten, the gorilla, the turtle, the crab...just wow. I was so excited about the book and was thinking it was terrifying about 60 pages in. After that, I got pretty bored. No more fear, just kept reading to see if anyone survived. Almost stopped reading after all the animal abuse. Won't be buying another Nick Cutter novel!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Awesome!

    THE TROOP is one of the BEST novels I have read in a long time! The horror, the pity, the gore, the monsters, the desperation, plus the inclusion of military hearings, all lend to a Stephen King like smoothness and intimacy with the characters. Loved it!

    DO ~

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Stephen king-esque

    Well, like the old, good, stephen king books. Good story line even though it is so obviously fiction... hmmmm... but not so far fetched that it is fantasy or sci fi. Really quite possible. Blech... i hope i don't see any worms until i forget this book.

    Read it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I received a copy of this via NetGalley, for an honest review.  

    I received a copy of this via NetGalley, for an honest review.
     
    The blurb reads 'part Lord of the Flies, part 28 Days Later', and I found this to be very true.  It was an excellent study on
    adolescent male behavior and psychology in the setting involving a quarantined island and a terrifying new take on a zombie infestation.  
     
    The author tells the tale of the boys on the island and then intersperses those chapters with what is happening or has happened 
    outside of the quarantined area and I found the first one out of place, but as I read on, they did grow on me.  I would say
    that midway through the book, one of those interludes, if you will, gave away the ending, or at least part of the ending and I was not
    too thrilled with that.
     
    All in all though, this was an exciting read that had me glued to the E-ARC, even after that disappointing reveal. If you like horror with
    a new look at zombies, I would highly recommend this book.  Go pre-order this book!  
     
    I will also be keeping my eyes out for more works by Nick Cutter.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    Animal abuse?  Why couldn't just maul the humans who likely dese

    Animal abuse?  Why couldn't just maul the humans who likely deserve it?  Sickest

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2014

    Yuck

    Could NOT handle the animal abuse!!!!! Not necessary!!!!!! Story OK otherwise

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2014

    In the horror genre, there are really only two types of books as

    In the horror genre, there are really only two types of books as far as I'm concerned. First, there are the books meant to creep you out. They are more subtle, more psychological. Second, there are the books meant to gross you out. Blood and gore abound in these type of books.
    The Troop definitely falls into the "gross out" category. From start to finish, this book redefines the boundries of gross and disturbing. I'm not a prude by any means, but there were a few times where I had to stop reading and take a deep breath. I also discovered that eating while reading this book is out of the question.
    That being said, the plot of The Troop was very well thought out, and Mr. Cutter's writing style is very enjoyable.
    It would be very hard to give a detailed review wothout spoiling something for future readers. Suffice it to say that if this kind of book is your forte, then I would highly reccomend The Troop.
    You have been warned.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    Highly recommend

    Worthy of Steven King. Creepy

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Four stars

    First off, this book is TOTALLY CREEPY! Like shivers and goosebumps creepy. Well written, great plot. People keep comparing it to Stephen King, but I find one glaring difference. King writes characters that you truly care about. Maybe even cry for. The boys in this book were not so likeable. Even the good guys were not so care worthy. I guess I feel that the character development was a bit lacking. Otherwise I enjoyed the read, and the gross out factor was off the charts!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2014

    Keep your eyes open for more from this writer... I believe he's

    Keep your eyes open for more from this writer... I believe he's a rising star.

    Mr. Cutter reminds me of Stephen King, during his great years, (all King fans fondly refer to his works as "Old Stephen King" and "New Stephen King" with "old" being the glory days of his writing). Another positive, for myself at least, is that unlike Mr. King, Mr. Cutter doesn't bog the reader down with endless details. Is there detail? Most definitely. Are there informative and interesting flashbacks? Absolutely. By the time the flashback and detail is wrapped up, have you forgotten what was going on in the first place? NO! :)

    This book is all about suspense that builds and builds and then out of nowhere, something insane happens and you're like, "WHAAAAT?!?!?!?" Makes for an awesome reading experience.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2014

    Loved it

    Well done for a first novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2014

    Reading a book about a guy drinking his own piss would have been

    Reading a book about a guy drinking his own piss would have been easier to swallow than this particular novel. To be clear, this isn’t a bad book. It’s not even a poorly written book. The structure, with letters and interviews and the plot moving forward, kept me on edge, while the slaughtering and stomach-churning antics kept my nausea on red alert. If I could have punctured a hole through my brain without doing any permanent damage, I might have briefly considered the notion, before I permanently discarded in the ocean. If I could have jammed about five thousand volts of electricity through my body without the need for a diaper, it might have been a viable alternative. But in the end, selective amnesia works just fine, and I plan on using it to its fullest.

    What disturbed me more than tapeworms exiting through open orifices was there wasn’t a single character that I could stand behind without worrying about taking an elbow to the chin. THE TROOP made me want to march in the opposite direction in a most expeditious manner, and I kept reading through sheer determination and a need to push myself to the limit rather than some impending notion that there was a pot of gold at the end of the rainbow. I probably looked away from the page as much as I looked at it.

    This tale made me realize that coming up with the absolute worst case scenario and working backwards isn’t necessarily a good thing, especially when the boat was stuck at full speed ahead, and I couldn’t find a way to turn off the engine or drop anchor. I plan on employing a taste taster to consume my food before I do, and if I see any suspicious or slightly pale or slow-talking individuals, I plan on running first and asking questions later.

    And if you want to read a review by a reviewer or three who actually knows what the heck he or she’s talking about, you might want to take a gander at what Dan or Trudi or Kelly or Karen has to say on the subject. Since after wiping my brain, I will now consume applesauce, Jell-O, smoothies, and liquid vegetables for the rest of my days.

    I received this book for free through NetGalley.

    Robert Downs
    Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2014

    Would have been awesome but

    Would have been an awesome book except for the animal abuse. Let the humans duke-out the blood and guts in gruesome ways but not the animals. I am glad I didn't have to pay to read this book but I will try one more from this author. I gave it 3 stars but it deserved 0 stars for the animal abuse, although the writing qualifies for 4 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The author pens "The Troop" in a plot filled with horr

    The author pens "The Troop" in a plot filled with horror....full on horror! His story line was unique with great imagination, solid and with great characters that I could connect with an root for them in their perils. This is one book that really kept me turning the pages and yes I did sleep with the lights on that night...a very very rare thing. I totally enjoyed the book and have one word of caution... if you are sensitive to any type of animal abuse, please be aware that it's in here and in detail. Highly recommended for all horror fans!




    This review is based on a complimentary copy from the author which was provided for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2014

    Great book

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This book does provide the horror and terror you are expecting;

    This book does provide the horror and terror you are expecting; however, it also provides an abundance of the grotesque. I wasn’t expecting the story to be so continuously gruesome. I don’t want to provide any spoilers, but be forewarned that this novel will appeal most to those fans of the type of horror movie that is mostly filled with images of disgust and gore. Not really my deal. I like thrills and suspense and fear. The “monsters” in this story are all too real and possible. It is rather unsettling, and will probably affect your appetite. The book does create a very interesting look at what it is to be a sociopath, and remind us that they exist all around us.
    Michael Travis Jasper, Author of the Novel “To Be Chosen”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    Disturbingly good!

    It has been a while since I read a horror novel that repulsed me so much that I couldn't put down. This is an absolute nightmare I would recommend to any fan of horror.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    frightening

    Very original. Glad to have another author to look forward to.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3