Customer Reviews for

The Trouble with Highlanders

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

Excellent book, I love all of MW's books, they all are well written and exciting from beginning to end. Norris helped Daphne get out of an arranged marriage, but he could not forget her, he wanted her for himself not for her fortune, so he went after her. He saved her a...
Excellent book, I love all of MW's books, they all are well written and exciting from beginning to end. Norris helped Daphne get out of an arranged marriage, but he could not forget her, he wanted her for himself not for her fortune, so he went after her. He saved her after she was beaten by another Earl who wanted her to submit to marrying him, so Norris took her home with him. Wow the sex scenes were hot, hot, hot. Best book I've read in long time and I read every day. Highly Recommend.

posted by FFC70 on October 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Eh?!

While this was a good book to pass the time, it was not her best by far.

posted by Momov4 on November 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 4, 2012

    Too Much Fun

    Apparently I have a thing for highlanders. I loved this book, fun story with a plot-shocker given the book's cover! It is definitely a romance novel but without the trite & cheesy cliches that could have plagued this type of romance novel. Reminds me of Diana Gabaldeon's Outlander- but MUCH shorter than her 1000 pages (not necessarily a bad thing). I definitely suggest reading this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Excellent

    Excellent book, I love all of MW's books, they all are well written and exciting from beginning to end. Norris helped Daphne get out of an arranged marriage, but he could not forget her, he wanted her for himself not for her fortune, so he went after her. He saved her after she was beaten by another Earl who wanted her to submit to marrying him, so Norris took her home with him. Wow the sex scenes were hot, hot, hot. Best book I've read in long time and I read every day. Highly Recommend.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Another winner...

    Lusty, passionate, and full of a cocky Scot. What's not to love?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    If you love a good Scottish Highland romance, then you must read

    If you love a good Scottish Highland romance, then you must read this book of Mary Wine. The high drama between Norris and Daphne will take you for a spin on a captivating story of Scottish history full of intrigue and hot scenes. You will feel the trust they share for each other. Such a captivating story! You will understand the love between a father and a son. I would love a story of Gahan in the future.
    Breathtaking, I give it five stars! If you are a fan of Mary Wine, you will not be disappointed by this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    Eh?!

    While this was a good book to pass the time, it was not her best by far.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2014

    Great story!

    Classic M. W., a well written story. Thanks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    Would recomend

    Good characters and story line

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    TROUBLE WITH A HIGHLANDER

    Okay book. Only 194 pages. A short book to me....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Crystal Book provided by NetGalley for review Review

    Reviewed by Crystal
    Book provided by NetGalley for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    Mary Wine’s Highlander books are a really good series. I hate that I’m starting with the fifth one, The Trouble With Highlanders.

    Daphne needs all the help she can get. Her clan has lost everything. She doesn’t know how they will survive the winter. Everyone knows that she gave her virginity to the overlord Norris Sutherland. Everything is up in the air because there is no male to take over and she steps in even though she is a woman.

    Norris is a very strong and just Overlord. He can’t get Daphne off his mind even if she was the one that walked away. He decides to go see her because her dowery is in question. Also because he wants to see her.

    It had a slow start to it and I didn’t know if I would be able to get into it. I’m glad that I decided to give it a chance and kept on reading. That’s when things started getting very interesting. I couldn’t put it down after that.

    I enjoyed watching Daphne and Norris banter back and forth. It was so exciting to watch and really you could say they were both the winner. The sex between them could’ve set the sheets on fire but they didn’t always have sheets. Norris wasn’t ashamed like most men would be. He knew he was hooked and he didn’t care who seen.

    Of course Norris being a highlander he did let his temper get away from him. I loved when he would pick Daphne up and put her over his shoulder for everyone to see.

    You know out of every romance nothing is ever smooth sailing. You have a spoiled little witch. Well that’s the nice word that I will call her. Sandra Fraser is her name and she is after Norris. Will she get him by whatever means she can? I guess you’ll just have to read to find out.

    I enjoyed this story and loved how the characters interacted with each other. I hope that I get to learn more. I just know that some of them has to have their own stories and can’t wait to find out which.

    I have never read a book by Mary Wine but, I just want to say that I truly like her writing style. I felt the fear and the love that Daphne was feeling and that takes a lot for an author to do. So I want to thank her for pulling me into the story and letting me experience everything that her characters where doing.

    So now I’m ready for the next Highlander that will come into my imagination. I highly recommend this book to everyone because the sex was out of this world. What would you expect with a Highlander.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2013

    I enjoyed it!

    You can not go wrong picking a highlander romance from Mary Wine. I've enjoyed this story along with all her other highlander books. It captures and holds your attention with strong characters and a story that flows.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Entertaining

    Solid story, with decent characters. Makes for good casual reading, on a plane or a rainy afternoon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Slow reading

    For a shorter book, this seemed to drag on. Not a bad story line, but it could not hold my attention. Found myself skipping wgole sections just trying to get to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2