Customer Reviews for

The Trouble with Honor

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2014

    This was a great start for the Cobot Sisters series. I enjoy





    This was a great start for the Cobot Sisters series. I enjoyed it very much.
    Honor Cobot at times was very forward for a debutante, but I liked her very much for her feisty ways, but sometimes she sounded a little selfish. She was very loyal and did worry about her mother and sisters. Losing their home and usual comforts when her brother got married was a big worry.
     After meeting George Easton, a gambler and womanizer, she asks him to help her out. A diversion for her brothers fiancé might be just the thing. 
    George was a great character, not the usual arrogant Lord which was a nice change, and but not always that confidant. 
    Honor and George made a great couple together, and when they got romantic it was very hot.
    This was a fun book to read, and I'm eagerly awaiting for more from the Cobot Sisters series .




    I received a free copy of this book from the Author in exchange for an honest review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2014

    Have you ever had one of those books that you wish hadn't ended

    Have you ever had one of those books that you wish hadn't ended because you want to go back and read more? That is what has happened to me with The Trouble With Honor, Julia London's newest historical and first novel in the Cabot Sisters Series. The heroine is Honor Cabot, the oldest of four sisters. The step-daughter of a dying Earl, Honor is a strong-willed character who is not happy with the fact that her choices in life are limited because she is a woman. She and her sisters were lucky when their Mother met and married the Earl, because he took them in as his own, and his son, Augustine, adores them as well. Now, the Earl is dying, Augustine is engaged to a woman who may not be happy with five other women in the house, and their Mother is slowly "going mad," exacerbated by a carriage accident. Honor, who's been disappointed in love once, because her father's rank was not high enough, has embraced her current lifestyle and tends to do what she pleases. She has no wish to marry and embarks on a scheme to delay the inevitable with her step-brother, in hopes of keeping her Mother and sisters in their home. Enter George Easton, illegitimate son of a Duke and nephew to the King. Easton is a self-made man, and known womanizer. Honor hopes to convince him to lure her step-brother's Fiancee away. Easton disagrees with the scheme, but gets pulled into it because he likes her. This brings them together in fun ways, with both realizing the other isn't the person they show the world.
    The characters are fun, and I even come to like the "Evil" Fiancee. The ending sets the reader up for the next book, when we will find what scheme sister Grace has gotten herself into in her effort to "save" the family. I am not sure I can wait until August to find out what happens next!

    ** I was provided and ARC for an honest review...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The Trouble with Honor was my first Julia London book and my cha

    The Trouble with Honor was my first Julia London book and my chance to dip my toes back into an historical romance. It’s really been too long since I’ve read one and I realized after reading about Honor and George and the other cast of characters how much I enjoy slipping back into a different time. A different time filled with witty repartee, intrigue, and subtle scheming all wrapped up in the push and pull between the hero and heroine.

    Let’s talk about Honor first. I didn’t like her at first. No, not one bit. Her motives to her schemes seemed selfish. But then Julia London unraveled the character that is Honor, exposing her true wishes and desires, her passion and her dreams. Then I couldn’t help but silently cheer for Honor and hope that even in a seemingly hopeless situation, she found what she needed.

    ‘“I mean that unless women demand to follow their heart’s true instincts, we will never be allowed to do so. Society will insist we marry well, and that is all they will ask of us.”’

    George…now, George is quite the charmer! He’s dashing and a rake. He’s not considered part of the ‘ton’ and polite society due to his birth. My heart ached for him to find his place in society and to be worthy of Honor’s love. His humor and his downright sexy male personality shone through.

    ‘He was on fire, fully engulfed by a woman whose smile could reduce him to ashes. She touched her finger to his lip and whispered, “Did you miss me?” “More than the air I breathe,” he growled.’

    What I love about this story is that even though Honor is facing some extremely difficult challenges, she stands up for what she wants. She’s not a wilting flower. And the banter and sexual tension between her and George kept me turning the pages waiting for the moment when they would again engage with each other. But whether or not their love was possible, remained to be seen.

    ‘To say words of love when one could not live in that love was too painful to endure, wasn’t it?’

    Julia London wrote a sexy, fun romance and introduced us to the Cabot sisters, focusing on Honor for this book. Overall, I loved being transported back in time and seeing the journey unfold. Now I need to read Grace’s story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A fun historical romance full of schemes and secrets, The Troubl

    A fun historical romance full of schemes and secrets, The Trouble with Honor was a lovely read. I really enjoyed reading this book. The romance, the scheming, the scandal: it was all wonderful.

    Honor was a good heroine, though I had my issues with her. On one had, she was feisty, independent, and very loyal to her family. She would do anything to take care of her sisters. On the other hand, she had a tendency to be immature and she acted spoiled several times. She tended to steamroll right over people's feelings in her determination to get what she wanted. Regardless, I still liked her, though she wasn't my favorite heroine.

    George was wonderful, for the most part. He was sweet and determined to make the woman he loved happy. He knew his place in society was precarious at best, so he wanted to be sure he could take care of her. His stubbornness was a bit frustrating, particularly when it resulted in Honor being publicly humiliated. But, for the most part, I thought he was sweet.

    The romance was great. Honor and George were sweet together, despite both of their stubbornness. And there was a ton of chemistry between them that led to some steamy moments. They were a lovely couple.

    The plot was fast paced. I was kept interested the entire way through. There were tons of schemes and antics that kept me entertained, and a few surprises along the way. I really enjoyed the story and I thought the ending was lovely. I'm excited to see what happens next with Grace's story.

    The Trouble with Honor was a fantastic historical romance. I really enjoyed reading this wonderful book. Romance lovers, this is a book worth reading.

    *I received a free copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2014

    There are four Cabot sisters. Honor is the oldest. She is beauti

    There are four Cabot sisters. Honor is the oldest. She is beautiful, unconventional and stubborn. Her family is in turmoil. Their stepfather is dying and their mother is slipping into senility. Augustine, their stepbrother, is the heir. He is planning to marry Monica Hartgrove. Honor knows this means trouble. She has a plan to stop the wedding. She enlists George Easton, the illegitimate, son of a duke, to seduce Monica. Honor and George are a perfect match. They fight their attraction but it burns bright. Where will their desires take them? Julia London has written a fast-paced, emotional romance that will keep you reading from the first page. The story comes to life with captivating characters and lively dialogue. Honor and George are engaged in a battle of wills. Neither will back down from their fiery attraction. The secondary characters add so much emotional depth to the story. I want to know more about them. I'm looking forward to reading more about the Cabot Sisters. I know it will be a wild ride. Julia London doesn't disappoint.

    I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2014

    Honor Cabot has been able to experience life without the restrai

    Honor Cabot has been able to experience life without the restraints given those girls who have been betrothed or married.
    She has been brokenhearted before and she is in no hurry to get married and lose what little freedom she has been afforded
    as a woman.  When her step-brother becomes betrothed to her nemesis she fears that not only will she be put out upon their marriage,
    but also her siblings and ailing mother. She must do something to stop the wedding!

    George Easton knew the first time he laid eyes on Miss Cabot he was in trouble. Now she has come to him and asked the renowned
    rake to help ruin the engagement of her step-brother. Could she possibly be that selfish that she doesn't want to lose her fine things?
    Still something makes him consider helping her and as he gets drawn deeper and deeper into her plans, he finds that the woman
    he is getting to know just wants to protect her family.  

    Together they both discover a person who understands them for who they are.  And while Honor teaches George that he is worthy
    of happiness, George teaches her that she is ready to find and risk all for love again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Book One in the Cabot Sisters series. Honor Cabot is anxious to

    Book One in the Cabot Sisters series.

    Honor Cabot is anxious to find a way to delay her stepbrother's wedding. She believes her soon-to-be sister in law will displace Honor, her mother and her sisters as soon as she can. Honor makes a deal with George Easton to distract Monica from her impending marriage. It's never that easy, though.

    If you're looking for a fun historical romance with an audacious girl, real family chemistry and outrageous antics, this is definitely the book for you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Always love Julia's historical books. Fantastic story, great cha

    Always love Julia's historical books. Fantastic story, great characters. Beautiful cover art. Just an all around winner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2014

    Kaylee

    "It's okay." She rolled onto her side, facing her. "You're here now." A grin edged over her lips.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2014

    Jaima

    Smiles and rolls over as well.(I'll be on around 6:15 central.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    Not that good

    At first i like the fire of honor, but then she goes too far. It was an ok read, not a great one. This story has been done before and done better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2014

    The first book in the Cabot Sisters series by new-to-me author,

    The first book in the Cabot Sisters series by new-to-me author, Julia London.
    I am very impressed with this story, with the memorable characters, with its execution, its delightful dialogue, and its ending. It reminds me of Jane Austen’s Sense and Sensibility with its themes of money and power, and of women’s vulnerability in a society ruled by men. 
    Honor Cabot is the eldest of four virtue-named sisters (Grace, Prudence, and Mercy being the others). Her heart was once broken so her motto these last few years has been to have fun and live for herself and not rely on any man for happiness. Her beloved stepfather, an earl, is dying and her mother is suffering from what I thought might be Alzheimer’s—she suffered a possible concussion in a carriage accident and her memory is fading.
    Honor’s beloved stepbrother, Augustine, who has always been kind if a bit dim and easily influenced, is engaged to marry Monica Hargrove, once Honor’s good friend but now her nemesis. Monica has always been a bit jealous of Honor’s beauty and fashion sense and now Monica has the power to possibly toss Honor, her sisters, and their ailing mother out to pasture; which is something Honor cannot and will not allow.
    This is a frightening scenario unfamiliar in our modern twenty-first century world. Recall Fanny Dashwood’s persistent and cunning persuasion of her husband to not provide for his half sisters and stepmother in Sense and Sensibility. 
    So Honor decides to persuade George Easton, whom she daringly once met and played in a gaming hell, to turn Monica’s head. Of course, he thinks she’s mad and it’s a mad scheme but amazingly, he agrees as he takes many risks and enjoys them. But he hadn’t counted on Monica becoming suspicious. I’ve seen this trope before, as Emma Harlow in Lynn Messina’s lovely The Harlow Hoyden, also asks a man to seduce a woman away from her fiancé.
    ”’If I could take up a sword and fight for it, I would. If I had a vast fortune at my disposal, I would use it. But I am a woman, and the only options I have are to connive as I promise myself to the highest bidder before all is discovered.’” (p132)
    George Easton is the unacknowledged son of a duke, born to a chambermaid who managed to secure for him a gentleman’s education and stipend, as befitting a man of his class, although he can never be truly recognized by Polite Society. He is a self-made man who has invested a considerable sum in shipping, which has thus far proven to be a dubious venture. 
    During their schemes, both Honor and George find themselves often alone and are drawn to each other in a way that pleasures as it confuses them both. Honor, because she only wants to feel lust for the man and George because, underneath her bravado and daring, he knows she’s an innocent and he is a honorable man. He feels badly for her when he realizes the reasons behind her scheme, as he felt protective about his own mother. 
    ”’Do you think that men are the only ones allowed to desire?’” (p128)
    Monica Hargrove is a cold woman. But her real cohort is her unassuming mother. The scene when they visit Longmeadow, the Cabots’ country estate, and suggest changes to the landscape, reminds me of Fanny Dashwood’s renovation plans for Norland, describing them with great glee in full view of its present occupants.
    “But for the first time since meeting Honor Cabot, George saw her innocence. It was there, buried under the mantle of privilege and sophistication, and it made him feel strangely protective of her.” (p126)
    The family life of the Cabots is lovely and poignantly-rendered. Their father, the dying earl, is kind to his daughters but recognizes his son’s weaknesses and limitations and so he asks for Honor’s promise to take care of her mother when he dies. 
    At many points, my heart broke for Honor, at all that she had to bear. But I admire her forbearance and determination to have a better life, the life she wants with the man she loves. She’s a woman who takes responsibility for her actions.
    ”’We will never have alternatives if we don’t demand them.’” (p297)
    George seems at times almost a beta hero as he feels he is not worthy of someone like Honor, something that infuriates her to no end. She must work very hard for the man she wants, to make him see they are meant to be together.
    “He wanted things to remain as they were, with opportunities to be in her company, to hear her clever mind spinning out wretched ideas to create a bit of mayhem in her society, to keep him properly diverted from the lack of a name, the loss of his fortune. From who he was.” (p300)
    The love story between Honor and George is fiery and very passionate, their conversations are spirited and the sexual tension is palpable. They are two headstrong and loving people.
    ”’If a woman is to make her way in this man’s world without a husband, she must risk quite a lot to succeed.’” (p73)
    “How ironic that it would be someone just like her who would show her that what she really wanted was love. She wanted love.” (p221)
    There are many memorable characters including Honor’s parents, her sisters (whose stories will be told in future books), and even Finnegan, George’s cunning and supportive valet-cum-butler, who doles out unwanted but ultimately helpful advice to George.
    The last chapter is a teaser for the next romance, The Fall of Lady Grace, the second sister’s story.
    Lively, spirited, and fun, I will definitely be reading more in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Not her best effort

    The beginning is good and gets you into the story line, but the middle is too tedious with continued problems. A few bumps along the way is always interesting, but it seemed as this story line was excessively plagued for the main characters. The ending, while in the "happy ending" tradition of resolving most issues, was too brief in its development. The storyline seemed like a pyramid, large at the base and tapering to a small point at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    I am so glad that there are more stories to follow in this seri


    I am so glad that there are more stories to follow in this series. Julia London has done a great job of weaving a story that is very enjoyable. Honor was quite bold for a lady of that time, and George was quite bull headed. The path to true love was rocky indeed.


    At times though, I wanted to knock their heads together to get some sense into them. But that was the magic of the story. Honor would not give up on George, but he kept resisisting! Right down to a very public humiliation for Honor. I don't know if I could ever forgive such a humiliation.
    Pick up this book and you won't be sorry. The road to true love is very rocky indeed for these two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2014

    I was given this book by Harlequin so i could give a review. If

    I was given this book by Harlequin so i could give a review.
    If you like your Heroines cerebral, patient, and unwilling to take a risk, then you will not like Honor.
     At first you may think she is a little flighty with her schemes and outward behavior. at one point i think i liked her nemesis better.
     But she grows on you. In "Trouble with Honor" many of the characters grow with the story.
     Of course in a romance you know your going to have you happy ending but getting there took some doing.
     George Easton the hero is the illegitimate son of a Duke with money and self esteem issues and he is bold as brass with Honor
     and society, kind and caring in private. The trouble with the "Trouble with Honor" was an ending that was too quick as many
     of my favorite books so often are. Add to that a cruel tease for the next book in the series out in Aug.
     Honor takes all the risk, with this book you won't be taking any. Great story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2014

    Loved Honor's strong character. She went after what she wanted

    Loved Honor's strong character. She went after what she wanted and had fun and heartache along the way. The tortured life and soul of George made your heart feel for him. I didn't like the idea Honor had of separating her step brother and his finance. Maybe the concept, but something different. Her step brother actually loved the friend. I wouldn't want to see him hurt because as it turned out he supported Honor and that was important. A twist at the end, with the card game. I liked the bond the sisters had and look forward to reading Grace's story next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Good read

    Good read. Can't wait for next installment in August.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Not many authors can make you cry, laugh, tense up and feel good

    Not many authors can make you cry, laugh, tense up and feel good all at the same time. London can. This was really good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Loved it!

    This is the first book of a new series about the Cabot sisters, and I loved it. It is about Honor Cabot, the eldest sister, and George Easton. They develop a very unlikely friendship that deepens into love. However, theirs is an unacceptable alliance because George is the unrecognized bastard of a duke and would not be an acceptable husband for Honor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Worth reading

    Truly a writer..good depth...good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2