Customer Reviews for

The Trouble with Honor

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2014

    This was a great start for the Cobot Sisters series. I enjoy





    This was a great start for the Cobot Sisters series. I enjoyed it very much.
    Honor Cobot at times was very forward for a debutante, but I liked her very much for her feisty ways, but sometimes she sounded a little selfish. She was very loyal and did worry about her mother and sisters. Losing their home and usual comforts when her brother got married was a big worry.
     After meeting George Easton, a gambler and womanizer, she asks him to help her out. A diversion for her brothers fiancé might be just the thing. 
    George was a great character, not the usual arrogant Lord which was a nice change, and but not always that confidant. 
    Honor and George made a great couple together, and when they got romantic it was very hot.
    This was a fun book to read, and I'm eagerly awaiting for more from the Cobot Sisters series .




    I received a free copy of this book from the Author in exchange for an honest review.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2014

    There are four Cabot sisters. Honor is the oldest. She is beauti

    There are four Cabot sisters. Honor is the oldest. She is beautiful, unconventional and stubborn. Her family is in turmoil. Their stepfather is dying and their mother is slipping into senility. Augustine, their stepbrother, is the heir. He is planning to marry Monica Hartgrove. Honor knows this means trouble. She has a plan to stop the wedding. She enlists George Easton, the illegitimate, son of a duke, to seduce Monica. Honor and George are a perfect match. They fight their attraction but it burns bright. Where will their desires take them? Julia London has written a fast-paced, emotional romance that will keep you reading from the first page. The story comes to life with captivating characters and lively dialogue. Honor and George are engaged in a battle of wills. Neither will back down from their fiery attraction. The secondary characters add so much emotional depth to the story. I want to know more about them. I'm looking forward to reading more about the Cabot Sisters. I know it will be a wild ride. Julia London doesn't disappoint.

    I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2014

    Honor Cabot has been able to experience life without the restrai

    Honor Cabot has been able to experience life without the restraints given those girls who have been betrothed or married.
    She has been brokenhearted before and she is in no hurry to get married and lose what little freedom she has been afforded
    as a woman.  When her step-brother becomes betrothed to her nemesis she fears that not only will she be put out upon their marriage,
    but also her siblings and ailing mother. She must do something to stop the wedding!

    George Easton knew the first time he laid eyes on Miss Cabot he was in trouble. Now she has come to him and asked the renowned
    rake to help ruin the engagement of her step-brother. Could she possibly be that selfish that she doesn't want to lose her fine things?
    Still something makes him consider helping her and as he gets drawn deeper and deeper into her plans, he finds that the woman
    he is getting to know just wants to protect her family.  

    Together they both discover a person who understands them for who they are.  And while Honor teaches George that he is worthy
    of happiness, George teaches her that she is ready to find and risk all for love again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2014

    Have you ever had one of those books that you wish hadn't ended

    Have you ever had one of those books that you wish hadn't ended because you want to go back and read more? That is what has happened to me with The Trouble With Honor, Julia London's newest historical and first novel in the Cabot Sisters Series. The heroine is Honor Cabot, the oldest of four sisters. The step-daughter of a dying Earl, Honor is a strong-willed character who is not happy with the fact that her choices in life are limited because she is a woman. She and her sisters were lucky when their Mother met and married the Earl, because he took them in as his own, and his son, Augustine, adores them as well. Now, the Earl is dying, Augustine is engaged to a woman who may not be happy with five other women in the house, and their Mother is slowly "going mad," exacerbated by a carriage accident. Honor, who's been disappointed in love once, because her father's rank was not high enough, has embraced her current lifestyle and tends to do what she pleases. She has no wish to marry and embarks on a scheme to delay the inevitable with her step-brother, in hopes of keeping her Mother and sisters in their home. Enter George Easton, illegitimate son of a Duke and nephew to the King. Easton is a self-made man, and known womanizer. Honor hopes to convince him to lure her step-brother's Fiancee away. Easton disagrees with the scheme, but gets pulled into it because he likes her. This brings them together in fun ways, with both realizing the other isn't the person they show the world.
    The characters are fun, and I even come to like the "Evil" Fiancee. The ending sets the reader up for the next book, when we will find what scheme sister Grace has gotten herself into in her effort to "save" the family. I am not sure I can wait until August to find out what happens next!

    ** I was provided and ARC for an honest review...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Always love Julia's historical books. Fantastic story, great cha

    Always love Julia's historical books. Fantastic story, great characters. Beautiful cover art. Just an all around winner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2015

    A really great book. get it and read it.

    I enjoyed this book. If youlike this genre as mush as I co. you'll enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2014

    Ive had it

    I'm not going to punish the author by giving this less stars, but seriously I'm getting sick of everyone who gets a free copy for a so called honest review rubbing it in. Just write the review for pete's sake. When most of the reviews are written by freebies, who wants to pay $6 or $7 for a book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2014

    Jaima

    Smiles and rolls over as well.(I'll be on around 6:15 central.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2014

    The first book in the Cabot Sisters series by new-to-me author,

    The first book in the Cabot Sisters series by new-to-me author, Julia London.
    I am very impressed with this story, with the memorable characters, with its execution, its delightful dialogue, and its ending. It reminds me of Jane Austen’s Sense and Sensibility with its themes of money and power, and of women’s vulnerability in a society ruled by men. 
    Honor Cabot is the eldest of four virtue-named sisters (Grace, Prudence, and Mercy being the others). Her heart was once broken so her motto these last few years has been to have fun and live for herself and not rely on any man for happiness. Her beloved stepfather, an earl, is dying and her mother is suffering from what I thought might be Alzheimer’s—she suffered a possible concussion in a carriage accident and her memory is fading.
    Honor’s beloved stepbrother, Augustine, who has always been kind if a bit dim and easily influenced, is engaged to marry Monica Hargrove, once Honor’s good friend but now her nemesis. Monica has always been a bit jealous of Honor’s beauty and fashion sense and now Monica has the power to possibly toss Honor, her sisters, and their ailing mother out to pasture; which is something Honor cannot and will not allow.
    This is a frightening scenario unfamiliar in our modern twenty-first century world. Recall Fanny Dashwood’s persistent and cunning persuasion of her husband to not provide for his half sisters and stepmother in Sense and Sensibility. 
    So Honor decides to persuade George Easton, whom she daringly once met and played in a gaming hell, to turn Monica’s head. Of course, he thinks she’s mad and it’s a mad scheme but amazingly, he agrees as he takes many risks and enjoys them. But he hadn’t counted on Monica becoming suspicious. I’ve seen this trope before, as Emma Harlow in Lynn Messina’s lovely The Harlow Hoyden, also asks a man to seduce a woman away from her fiancé.
    ”’If I could take up a sword and fight for it, I would. If I had a vast fortune at my disposal, I would use it. But I am a woman, and the only options I have are to connive as I promise myself to the highest bidder before all is discovered.’” (p132)
    George Easton is the unacknowledged son of a duke, born to a chambermaid who managed to secure for him a gentleman’s education and stipend, as befitting a man of his class, although he can never be truly recognized by Polite Society. He is a self-made man who has invested a considerable sum in shipping, which has thus far proven to be a dubious venture. 
    During their schemes, both Honor and George find themselves often alone and are drawn to each other in a way that pleasures as it confuses them both. Honor, because she only wants to feel lust for the man and George because, underneath her bravado and daring, he knows she’s an innocent and he is a honorable man. He feels badly for her when he realizes the reasons behind her scheme, as he felt protective about his own mother. 
    ”’Do you think that men are the only ones allowed to desire?’” (p128)
    Monica Hargrove is a cold woman. But her real cohort is her unassuming mother. The scene when they visit Longmeadow, the Cabots’ country estate, and suggest changes to the landscape, reminds me of Fanny Dashwood’s renovation plans for Norland, describing them with great glee in full view of its present occupants.
    “But for the first time since meeting Honor Cabot, George saw her innocence. It was there, buried under the mantle of privilege and sophistication, and it made him feel strangely protective of her.” (p126)
    The family life of the Cabots is lovely and poignantly-rendered. Their father, the dying earl, is kind to his daughters but recognizes his son’s weaknesses and limitations and so he asks for Honor’s promise to take care of her mother when he dies. 
    At many points, my heart broke for Honor, at all that she had to bear. But I admire her forbearance and determination to have a better life, the life she wants with the man she loves. She’s a woman who takes responsibility for her actions.
    ”’We will never have alternatives if we don’t demand them.’” (p297)
    George seems at times almost a beta hero as he feels he is not worthy of someone like Honor, something that infuriates her to no end. She must work very hard for the man she wants, to make him see they are meant to be together.
    “He wanted things to remain as they were, with opportunities to be in her company, to hear her clever mind spinning out wretched ideas to create a bit of mayhem in her society, to keep him properly diverted from the lack of a name, the loss of his fortune. From who he was.” (p300)
    The love story between Honor and George is fiery and very passionate, their conversations are spirited and the sexual tension is palpable. They are two headstrong and loving people.
    ”’If a woman is to make her way in this man’s world without a husband, she must risk quite a lot to succeed.’” (p73)
    “How ironic that it would be someone just like her who would show her that what she really wanted was love. She wanted love.” (p221)
    There are many memorable characters including Honor’s parents, her sisters (whose stories will be told in future books), and even Finnegan, George’s cunning and supportive valet-cum-butler, who doles out unwanted but ultimately helpful advice to George.
    The last chapter is a teaser for the next romance, The Fall of Lady Grace, the second sister’s story.
    Lively, spirited, and fun, I will definitely be reading more in this series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    I am so glad that there are more stories to follow in this seri


    I am so glad that there are more stories to follow in this series. Julia London has done a great job of weaving a story that is very enjoyable. Honor was quite bold for a lady of that time, and George was quite bull headed. The path to true love was rocky indeed.


    At times though, I wanted to knock their heads together to get some sense into them. But that was the magic of the story. Honor would not give up on George, but he kept resisisting! Right down to a very public humiliation for Honor. I don't know if I could ever forgive such a humiliation.
    Pick up this book and you won't be sorry. The road to true love is very rocky indeed for these two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2014

    I was given this book by Harlequin so i could give a review. If

    I was given this book by Harlequin so i could give a review.
    If you like your Heroines cerebral, patient, and unwilling to take a risk, then you will not like Honor.
     At first you may think she is a little flighty with her schemes and outward behavior. at one point i think i liked her nemesis better.
     But she grows on you. In "Trouble with Honor" many of the characters grow with the story.
     Of course in a romance you know your going to have you happy ending but getting there took some doing.
     George Easton the hero is the illegitimate son of a Duke with money and self esteem issues and he is bold as brass with Honor
     and society, kind and caring in private. The trouble with the "Trouble with Honor" was an ending that was too quick as many
     of my favorite books so often are. Add to that a cruel tease for the next book in the series out in Aug.
     Honor takes all the risk, with this book you won't be taking any. Great story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2014

    Loved Honor's strong character. She went after what she wanted

    Loved Honor's strong character. She went after what she wanted and had fun and heartache along the way. The tortured life and soul of George made your heart feel for him. I didn't like the idea Honor had of separating her step brother and his finance. Maybe the concept, but something different. Her step brother actually loved the friend. I wouldn't want to see him hurt because as it turned out he supported Honor and that was important. A twist at the end, with the card game. I liked the bond the sisters had and look forward to reading Grace's story next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Loved it!

    This is the first book of a new series about the Cabot sisters, and I loved it. It is about Honor Cabot, the eldest sister, and George Easton. They develop a very unlikely friendship that deepens into love. However, theirs is an unacceptable alliance because George is the unrecognized bastard of a duke and would not be an acceptable husband for Honor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is book 1 in the Cabot Sisters series. Honor Cabot's stepf

    This is book 1 in the Cabot Sisters series.

    Honor Cabot's stepfather is dying and her mother is going insane. She knows it is just a matter of time before her stepbrother's fiancée makes them move to the country. She'll never find a husband there, so she must come up with a plan.

    George Easton, an illegitimate son of a Duke, is intrigued by Honor at their first meeting. He can't believe what she has asked him to do, seduce her brother's fiancée! George finally agrees to Honor's scheme, but finds himself becoming more and more attracted to Honor. How can he seduce one woman when he is attracted to another?

    As the attraction between George and Honor heat up, will their desire convience them to fight for what they think they can't have?

    I really enjoyed this story. I loved the chemistry between George and Honor and LOVED that he called her Cabot throughout the story! I've been a huge fan of Julia London's for years and she did not disappoint with this book. I can't wait to read about the other Cabot sisters in her upcoming books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2014

    First things first! There should be a disclaimer on this book: T

    First things first! There should be a disclaimer on this book: This Ain’t Your Granny’s Historical!

    Anyone who knows me, knows that I’ve got a go-to soft spot for Julia London’s books. She’s written over 30 now and I’m pretty sure I’ve read every single one, so to say I know what to expect from her, wouldn’t be an exaggeration.

    Well, I truly didn’t see this one coming!

    Honor Cabot is a heroine who knows what she wants and doesn’t let anything stop her from getting it. I’ve read a couple reviews where people think she’s spoiled, but I believe she’s anything but. These reviews are clearly written by people who haven’t grown up reading Regencies for decades like I have and show a true lack of understanding of the mores of the era. Honor is ahead of her time and realizes she must work within the parameters that society has placed on her to change the outcome of her life.

    George Easton is the bastard son of nobility in a time when anyone considered less than “quality” of the “ton” were shunned unless well and truly connected (such is George). He fights to prove to society that his standing is just as equal as those born on the right side of the sheets. Although he desires to be accepted by his peers, George is no school boy and makes bold decisions and takes large risks with his finances.

    When the story opens we’re immediately thrust back in time and are reading an updated version of Austen. We watch as a jaded bastard, Easton, is well and truly snared. He’s so sure of himself and I dare any romance reader not to smile with smug satisfaction and cheer for Honor and laugh at George’s arrogance by the end of the first chapter.

    I loathe spoilers so you won’t find any here other than the fact that Honor is ahead of her time and knows what she wants in more ways than one.

    As George says: Such a bold girl. Unapologetic. Brave. A woman who sought her pleasure as she sought her place in the world.

    Julia London doesn’t skimp on the spice. Once Honor’s passion is aroused by George, let’s just say a potted palm or dark balcony are all that are required for George to prove a point or an eager Honor to explore her budding passion. When the deed is finally done, I cheered out loud! After watching George take the upper hand during many of their passionate encounters, it was refreshing to see Honor take the lead during their consummation.

    George is definitely an Alpha hero but Honor is a Heroine for today. If you’re looking for Richard Gere to sweep in and carry Debra Winger off from her factory job, go rent a video. If you are looking for a woman with a backbone who won’t take “no” for an answer, then this is the book for you. I give The Trouble with Honor by Julia London 5 out of 5 stars!

    Written by Dee McGee - Booze, Bookz, and Bad Boyz

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2014

    With limited time, Honor Cabot; who as the oldest step-daughter

    With limited time, Honor Cabot; who as the oldest step-daughter to the Earl of Beckington is tasked with finding a way to support herself along with her mother and younger sisters. If they have their way, her nasty step-brother and his fiancee will evict the women from their home with no funding, they will lose their social standing along with any chance of making good marriages.
    Honor forms a plan that includes the only man wicked enough; but still has the social standing and contacts to attract the horrid fiancee into betraying the step-brother, thus cancelling the plans she has been making to take over.
    Born in scandal and being illegitimate hasn't stopped George Easton from building his own fortune even if he has to take extreme risks to succeed. Their first meeting doesn't sit well with either of them, but Honor is determined to have the help of this duke's son.
    Will the flames be too hot to handle? Will he be able to resist this spirited lady; will they be able to suppress their feelings for each other?
    Come find out with this; the first of a new series about the Cabot sisters by Julia London. She always talks to the heart; whether it's the love and romance, or the sizzle and heat of passion. Come along for this wonderful romp! Julia London does NOT disappoint!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1