Customer Reviews for

The Truth About Faking

Average Rating 4
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Harley didn't know what she was getting herself into when the id

Harley didn't know what she was getting herself into when the idea came to her to fake date Jason. She figured that Trent would see her in a different light if she were to be dumped and that he would want to console her. But in just a few short days Harley's plan to get...
Harley didn't know what she was getting herself into when the idea came to her to fake date Jason. She figured that Trent would see her in a different light if she were to be dumped and that he would want to console her. But in just a few short days Harley's plan to get Trent starts becoming a little fuzzy the more time she spends with Jason. So when she does land that date with Trent...is he everything she ever thought he would be? Or will her feelings for Jason overcome her?




Ok, so not going to ramble on like I sometimes do, but just state the facts. This book was too adorable and too sweet and too adorable. Oh wait I said that right? But GAH! It is adorable. I loved every bit of it. It was the perfect book for a lazy day at home and I easily read it in one day. Loved the story line even though some parts were a little easy to figure out...but still thought the author did a great job revealing those parts.




I absolutely 100% adore Jason. I love how he never really gave up on Harley, even when it looked like he did. And Harley was a great character to follow as well. I enjoyed that she was a little awkward at first and actually allowed her friend to pretty much walk all over her in the beginning. Because as the book progressed we see her character, slowly but surely, growing more and more.




Probably my only fault with the book…would love to have had Jason’s POV sprinkled in. And really it’s not a fault of the book…just a preference I would have liked. Oh to get into his head and see what he is really thinking. I am telling you people…this guy is perfect. Gremlin and all.
 
So here is what I am thinking when I finished the book....umm, Moore you so need to continue on with these fabulous people. There is so much that could still be told about them. So I will be crossing my fingers hoping you will see this and decide 'hey, Mandy is so right. She is an absolute genius. There is more story to be told.' Right? I’m right aren't I?  ;)




Ok, so I lied. I did ramble a bit, not a bunch, just a bit. But hope you got the jest of what I wanted to tell you about this book. It is a must read. And I hope you go grab yourself a copy soon!

posted by twimom101 on December 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The Truth about Faking was a cute contemporary. Initially I wasn

The Truth about Faking was a cute contemporary. Initially I wasn't the best fan of the main protagonist, Harley, especially with her mind set on Trent. Also, Jason was a bit needy and I didn't like how he wasn't playing it cool with the fake dating. Over time, Harley wa...
The Truth about Faking was a cute contemporary. Initially I wasn't the best fan of the main protagonist, Harley, especially with her mind set on Trent. Also, Jason was a bit needy and I didn't like how he wasn't playing it cool with the fake dating. Over time, Harley was more bearable but Jason just got better for me. He finally put his foot down and decided he didn't want to get played, which is when Harley finally sees the good thing in front of her. Towards the end, it definitely got more interesting plot wise.
Plot wise, I really enjoyed how Leigh portrayed Harley's family life as a normal one with loving parents. We don't usually get that with parents from YA novels. The book mentions once or twice the way her parents look at each other and how much they love each other. These moments were the most memorable for me. Also, Harley's father is a Reverend and her mother is a therapist, so it was great to see how different people ended up together. However Harley's relationship with her mother is strained but it isn't due to childish things and it is explored in this book.
At the beginning, this novel felt a bit cliched, however the ending was just so out there. I found it to be a bit bizarre but satisfying. Of course the people who should end up together do end up together but it is how they reached there in the end. Leigh wrote a wonderful novel, while I struggled a bit at the beginning, it was a very enjoyable novel overall. I recommend it to contemporary fans, especially fans of Jennifer Echols' The Boys Next Door.

posted by majibookshelf on November 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 19, 2012

    He loves me, he loves me not, he loves me, he loves me not . . .

    He loves me, he loves me not, he loves me, he loves me not . . .

    It can be hard when you're a teenager with a crush. Not only do you have to compete with all those raging hormones, but it's easy to idolize someone that doesn't idolize you back. I remember those years, and man were they painful. I was so shy I had a hard time ordering a burger at McDonalds. How on earth could I talk to boys?

    In Leigh T. Moore's book, The Truth About Faking, Harley has a similar problem. She's obsessed with a boy named Trent, but is too scared to ask him out. Trent with the blue eyes and gorgeous blond hair. Trent who rescued her when she got hit in the head with a basketball. She's wanted to go out with him for an entire year, and now that he's broken up with Stephanie, this is her chance!

    Then Jason shows up and ruins everything, from her mother's car (that Jason smashes into at a red light in the first chapter) to her chance to go to the big dance with Trent. And Harley, who's a pastor's daughter, needs to find a way to forgive him. No, wait. Not just forgive him. Use him to help her get Trent!

    What happens when a beautiful, intelligent cheerleader pretends to like someone else to make another person jealous? It's a great premise, but it's only the tip of the iceberg. Because there's so much more going on in this small town than anyone would guess. There are secrets, hidden motives, and deeper issues the author delves into that made me think about how hard it is to fake who we really are. Yet, how often we do it anyway. To protect our parents. Our friends. Our community. This is a beautiful book.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Amazy!

    I really enjoyed this book! It's a teen book but it doesn't go over the line for a teen book. I would recommend this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Rio'sReviews

    Right from the start i could ell this book was perfect for a rainy, friday night read. I love the characters. They are desribed so well!! All the romance scenes are cutsie and just make me do a mental awwwwww. Its a nice quick read (211 pages) and evoked just the right amount of emotion. I hardly read romance novels but i just had a break up and felt like curling up with a good book and some fudge ice cream!! (I know, loser.)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Not bad at all

    Really good I liked how it taught the main character that karma really does exist and it does so in many differen ways I got through it in a day and it is a romance but I don't perfer them so for me this was still good and very realistic when ut came to teen life and love life

    This book was very good at hitting and relating to things that happen to everyone everyday

    This book doesn't just call to one perticular group of people so just about anyone could read this book and like it and relate to it

    Hopr every one enjoys and discovers something about theirselves while reading

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Amazing!!!!!

    The truth about faking is the absolute best book there is out there!! I loved it!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    The truth about faking

    Jason want to date Harley
    Harely wants to date trent
    But with a misaberstading jason ends up fake dating Harley because trent broke up with someone and she thought they would have more in common if she broke up with someone. So she fake dates jason but then her friend ends up dating trent.
    And like she doesn't have anofe to deal with. Her moms student likes her mom and he is going for her but Harley dosn't and what will happen when she comes home one day and he's at thier house half naked. Will trent ever date harley. And will they enjoy it. You shuld think this book is interesting.
    There are some swears in this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Really cute

    I thought this was a really cute book. Not runchy. Perfect young adult book! Will read more from her.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Truth About Faking by Leigh Talbert Moore is another one of

    The Truth About Faking by Leigh Talbert Moore is another one of those books that I would have been crazy about in high school, and I still am today! Harley's innocent and fun. I love her attitude and the way she thinks. Jason came in with a bang, literally, and I was hooked. Harley's best friend drove me up a wall.. probably more than she should have for a fictional book, but there is a reason. I had a "friend" just like her in high school. I mean JUST like her. And like Harley, I tried to overlook it for a long time. So, those parts brought back a lot of bad memories, but my personal issues(haha!) didn't take away from my overall enjoyment of this book. There was a lot going on within the plot, and it really grabbed your attention. I love getting lost in high school love stories! This is the second book I've read by Leigh Talbert Moore and I'm definitely a fan. I'll be keeping my eye out for more of her books!

    The Truth About Faking by Leigh Talbert Moore was provided to me by the author for review. The opinions are my own.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is a very cute story! I love the feel of thinking its all a

    This is a very cute story! I love the feel of thinking its all a game when it’s not.

    Plot: This plot is about a girl who has a pretend boyfriend and in the mist of things, she falls in love with him. I absolutely love this story. It’s a very cute read with tons of great characters and plot. The plot also goes in to detail with her family as well as her friends. One thing about this plot is that it feels very real and you can connect with the characters.

    Love: This love is super fun to read. It does reach a climax of choices but I like that it takes her a while to see what she needs to do. Over the course of their friendship and love, both Jason and Harley start to question what they are doing. There relationship also has some strained with family problems as well as friend drama. It’s good to see this relationship build slowly to a wonderful friendship and love.

    Ending: I love this ending. It is a HEA and I’m okay with that. Being with all the characters have gone through, they deserve some peace.

    This is a very cute and fun read. Super easy to get into and love, The Truth About Faking captures a fantastic teenage voice that is brought to life with a great satisfying plot. A fun romantic drama that is touching, The Truth About Faking is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    Good Quick Read

    Sweet high school romance. Made me want to love as fiercely as I did when I was a teenager again. Touched more on religion than I was expecting, but it was a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2013

    Good read

    This is a good book, well written. Great ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    Good read

    Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Mrr

    Apropiate for 12 yr olds?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2