Customer Reviews for

The Truth About Letting Go

Average Rating 3.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    Leigh T. Moore knows how to write realistic characters. I loved

    Leigh T. Moore knows how to write realistic characters. I loved the Truth About Faking, and I love how this one is in same familiar town as that one, but about new teens. The reader's heart breaks for main character Ashley as she deals with a family tragedy. Ashley makes positive and negative decisions regarding her friendships and relationships with two boys, and Leigh T. Moore writes the story to make sure you care about her and care to see how she figures out how to deal with the good and the bad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Once I picked up the book, I wasn't able to put it back down unt

    Once I picked up the book, I wasn't able to put it back down until I was finished. It simply wouldn't let me. I'm impressed by this author. Everything I've read by Leigh Talbert Moore brings me right into the worlds she creates. 
    The ARC of The Truth About Letting Go by Leigh Talbert Moore was provided to me by the author for review. The opinions are my own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2013

    4.5 stars! This story was not what I expected.  I thought it wo

    4.5 stars!

    This story was not what I expected.  I thought it would be more of a sappy love story type of romance, but this was nothing like that.  It was more of a gritty and emotional contemporary romance.  I'm definitely into that kind of story lately, and this hit the nail on the head.  It was so enjoyable and entertaining to read.




    After fighting a losing battle with cancer, Ashley's father passes away.  Ashley's previously perfect life is instantly changed.  The good girl that always got good grades and never got into trouble decides to rebel against everything and everyone after the loss of her father.  She can't stand the sadness in her heart, so she decides to cover it up with instant gratification... at whatever the cost.  Jordan, who has always been a classmate of Ashley's though she's never noticed him before, all of a sudden shows up on her radar.  Though he's dorky and not her type, she begins to feel drawn to him.  Then comes the new guy in school, Colt.  The bad boy who's full of fun and always down for a good time.  Ashley starts to think that Colt is exactly what she needs right now.




    The Truth About Faking is a raw look at a teenager's rebelling to deal with overtaking emotions.  The characters are realistic and definitely relateable. I loved how Moore developed these characters, each so different but yet so alike.  It was a deep book, though fun at the same time. One I really enjoyed. The Truth About Faking was right up my alley, and I'm so happy I was given the chance of reviewing it. Other than a few spelling/grammatical errors, it was awesome. I would definitely recommend this book to contemporary lovers, such as myself. It's a must-read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Leigh Talbert Moore always manages to write with a hidden messag

    Leigh Talbert Moore always manages to write with a hidden message. This book is no different than her other work. The Truth About Letting Go gives you a sense of hope, tells you never to hide, numb or run away from the pain. But to accept it and let it go. Because that's the only way, you'll ever be able to move on.

    Ashley Lockett is a popular, beautiful cheerleader, who went through a life changing tragedy. Her life went from perfect to horrid in the span of 6 months. Now, all she wants to do is numb out the pain with just about anyone. But then a rule-breaking athlete, Colt, rolls into town and he does everything in his power to make her his partner in crime. And together, Ashley does stupid things she never saw herself doing. Stupid things, she knows she'll regret.

    Ashley is a likeable protagonist, and by default, the protagonists always annoys me one way or another. After her fathers death, Ashley becomes very self-destructive, irrational and all together stupid. She made bad choices in the worst time of her life and I can't blame her for making them. I just can't help but feel irritated by her when she cluelessly vandalizes things around her with a horndog like Colt. They may have steamy intimate moments but honestly, if I was her bestie, I'd knock her out of her stupidity and save her from the regret she'll surely be feeling when her head clears out.

    Jordan and Charlotte are the new people in Ashley's life, that actually makes her face reality about her dad, her family and well, life. They're obviously the two people that she's better off with than Colt. But she doesn't want to be "safe", she wants adrenaline and a whole lot of rule breaking. And again, I'm annoyed at her stupid choices.

    Ashley, eventually snaps out of her self-destructive phase and the journey of how she went from perfect to horrid then to acceptance is full of heartwarming, thrilling, and even swoon-worthy scenes.

    To sum it all up, This book, tells you The Truth About Letting Go. The journey it takes you starting with the tears, the pain, the anger, the regret, the despair, the acceptance, and ending with letting go. Leigh portrayed the message loud and clear with appropriate characters, the friendship and the love story that helps Ashley recover from the heartbreak of losing a parent. An unputdownable contemporary romance filled with heart-wrenching moments, and a beautiful message that will make you cry as you go through the book with the protagonist.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    Wow. This book was powerful, beautiful, and real, addressing sev

    Wow. This book was powerful, beautiful, and real, addressing several issues within a great story in a very smooth, uncluttered way. Rarely have I read a book like this one, that felt so real it could be true. I felt a kinship with the teens, especially Ashley as she used self-destructive behavior and distractions to cover up her pain. Her spiritual struggle was also very true to life and understandable in those circumstances. I admire Ms. Moore's inclusion of church, religion, and faith in this book. Too often such discussion or mention is excluded from books because it is considered to not be politically correct or is seen as offensive or too sensitive a subject. I think the near constant exclusion of the subject in realistic fiction is unrealistic. Faith, or lack thereof, often plays a large part in one's life, especially during the years and time of self-discovery. Though this book is not at all preachy, I'm glad that the subject of God/faith was broached. The pace, tone, and voice of this book were great. The ending is perfect for the story. Not too much, not too little, but just right for what the story is.


    General thoughts: The Truth About Letting Go is just....so real, and so beautiful, even in the pain, despair, harsh realities, and confusions. I just loved it. 5 stars. I definitely recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

     

     

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Hummm

    Sounds dangerous

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1