Customer Reviews for

The Truth About Forgiveness

Average Rating 4
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 26, 2012

    John MacArthur’s Truth About Forgiveness lays out the fund

    John MacArthur’s Truth About Forgiveness lays out the fundamental importance of God’s forgiveness for the believer and the non-believer. MacArthur addresses several important issues in his seven simple chapters. What I found to be most fundamental and important was the emphasis MacArthur placed on the story of the Prodigal Son. MacArthur went into much detail how God’s forgiveness is undeserved and how God truly wants to forgive, just like in the story of the Prodigal Son. MacArthur writes about God’s forgiveness simply yet exactly.
    The other chapter I found crucial was the last chapter that addressed the need to forgive others. I have struggled with this in my closest relationships, the need to forgive as Jesus has forgiven. I know that the Lord will give me the strength I need to forgive and to be forgiven by Him.
    I have enjoyed reading The Truth About Forgiveness and The Truth About Grace by John MacArthur. His way of writing is quick and easy to read and understandable.
    Thank you Booksneeze for the opportunity to read this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    I have never recommended a nonfiction book as highly as I recommend this one.

    This is a book in a series of three books by John MacArthur. I had to choose one out of The Truth About Grace, The Truth About Forgiveness, or The Truth About the Lordship of Christ to read and review. I chose the one that I would be the most interested in, as forgiveness is something I have always struggled with.

    I didn't expect much from the book; nonfiction generally bores me by explaining things I already knew in five times the amount of words necessary. I do admit sometimes I thought it was a little wordy—even for a book only a little over a hundred pages—but that is to be expected, and it didn't happen nearly as much as I thought it would.

    I started the book genuinely surprised; MacArthur started at a point I wouldn't expect, and continued explaining what I had never thought of before. That, in itself, is something wonderful. I began expecting little, and what I found was more than I could have hoped for.

    The first chapter made me think a lot. Sometimes I thought, "He can't say that, because it's very apparent that he's never experienced that himself," but every time as I kept reading I realized that this man truly knows what he's talking about, whether he's experienced "certain things" or not.

    The Truth About Forgiveness is not a typical Christian nonfiction book, basically putting a boring sermon I've heard before into text format. It's something entirely unique, and for the first time something actually worth putting into book format. It focuses much on what Jesus said about forgiveness, through parables and stories, along with actual happenings, but it does it in a way that grabs your attention and keeps you interested. What's more, it actually uses good points that you might not have thought of.

    It's extremely rare that a nonfiction book, especially about Christianity, does not disappoint me, but this one not only didn't disappoint me, it actually impressed me. When I saw the dozens of five-star ratings for the book, I inwardly chuckled and knew it would have a lot to prove if it were going to get anywhere near that rating from me. Because face it, everyone: sermons and books about forgiveness are generally just plain boring. We never truly hear what we need to hear. John MacArthur's book, however, is different.

    I have never recommended a nonfiction book as highly as I recommend this one. Five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    Pastor-Teacher John MacArthur has written a series of “Tru

    Pastor-Teacher John MacArthur has written a series of “Truth About” books which includes “The Truth About Grace”. As with the other two in the series this book looks at a particular Christian philosophy.
    The author begins by dividing grace into two specific concepts: Common Grace and Special Grace thus introducing a specific doctrine. This is important because many churches have their own definition of grace and all do not distinguish one grace from another. A common definition is: undeserved favor from God.
    As with all of his books John MacArthur gives a detailed explanation of what “grace” is and what it is not. In reading “The Truth About Grace” the reader will develop an understanding of various biblical principles relating to a Christian lifestyle.
    As I read the book I got the impression that John MacArthur sees God’s grace as the reason why we are able to receive salvation, which is true. What I believe he disagrees with is the teachings of “grace teachers” who present grace as a demonstration of God’s love in our daily lives as He blesses us with undeserved favor. By dividing grace into two concepts he in essence distinguishes his definition of grace from those of various grace churches.
    Obviously, of the three books that I read: “The Truth About the Lordship of Christ”, “The Truth About Forgiveness” and this one “The Truth About Grace”, this was my least favorite. Though I can appreciate his words on the subject I believe it falls short of the fullness of God’s grace. That said, I do recommend this book.
    I receive a complimentary copy of this book in exchange of a honest and fair review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    The title claims to be "the truth" and yet the content

    The title claims to be "the truth" and yet the contents are not "the truth". Sadly, the incorrect teachings in this book have tremendously dangerous consequences if accepted as truths - I think John MacArthur has been corrected enough times by now to know better than to continue to teach a works-based salvation.

    My main issue is that while MacArthur attempts to teach "justification by faith alone", he is so afraid of people slipping into antinomianism (justification by faith alone, where justification is NOT followed by sanctification in producing good works), that MacArthur ends up teaching "faith that includes works". This error is deathly important. This one point of contention was the basis of the entire Protestant Reformation. The true teaching from Martin Luther is that "We are saved by faith alone but not by faith that is alone" (our faith is followed by our sanctification and good works naturally follow). However, MacArthur often adds obedience and repentance to faith and his old belief of "faith includes works" can be seen creeping into nearly all his books and teachings.

    He writes, "The rich young ruler made it to the gate and asked Jesus what he had to do to enter the kingdom. The Lord told him to drop his matched set of Gucci luggage and come on through. But he refused to enter because he was too selfish to make the sacrifice Jesus asked of him." Although at first glace, this may sound true, look carefully. "Drop your wallet and THEN you will be saved." "Sacrifice your wealth, THEN you can be saved." This is saying "Do this work", THEN you can be saved. It's a faith plus works justification! The truth is "believe, THEN you will be saved". There is no requirement to perform any work! No requirement to give up your wallet! If the rich young ruler HAD, given up his wealth, would this have EARNED him eternal life? Of course not! The whole point of Jesus saying "Give up your wealth" was to prove the rich young ruler was guilty of breaking the law that he claimed to uphold and was a fallen sinner in need of a savior. Read Michael Horton's book “Christ The Lord” for a precise detailed explanation of this teaching. Sadly, even though Horton corrected MacArthur and in response to this correction, MacArthur revised his "Gospel According to Jesus" book, MacArthur continues to go back and erroneously teach salvation by faith and works. We must cling to "justification by faith ALONE". No works. No repentance. No giving up money for salvation. We can't buy our way into heaven by giving up our riches, as MacArthur teaches!

    Even after Horton’s correction, MacArthur also continues to reverted back to teaching the Sermon on the Mount was not about law but about gospel. But the verses read: "I have not come to abolish the law but to uphold it..." (Mt 5:17-20); don't murder or be angry unjustly; don't commit adultery or lust; don't divorce; don't break your oaths; don't seek revenge; don't hate your enemies but love them; don't do your works before men but before God; don't store up treasures on earth; don't worry; don't judge others; narrow is the path; not everyone who says "Lord, Lord, will enter the kingdom of heaven." As Michael Horton correctly points out, these verses are all about law and are meant to show humans that they cannot attain salvation by their own self-righteous attempts to hold to this law perfectly.

    Disclaimer - I got this book from the publisher but I am not required to give a positive review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    Master preacher discusses forgiveness

    In The Truth About Forgiveness, pastor and author John MacArthur discusses God’s great gift of forgiveness. In this easy to read compact book, part of The Truth About series, MacArthur first explores our need to be forgiven of our sins. Our redeemer, of course, is Jesus Christ. God, in the form of His only son, paid the only acceptable sin sacrifice. His love for us was that great.
    MacArthur first deals with the reason for forgiveness, man’s sin: “to deny personal guilt is to sacrifice the soul for the sake of the ego.” The example is given of the paralytic who was lowered from the ceiling to receive Jesus’ healing. MacArthur notes “Healing is actually a perfect metaphor for forgiveness.” Forgiveness for sin must come to a repentant heart in order for reconciliation with the Father to occur.
    MacArthur also counsels those who have been so violated that they find it hard to forgive others. Using Jesus’ own example from the cross, MacArthur advises, “The greatest measuring rod of love in the life of a Christian may be forgiveness.”
    Clearly arranged in short chapters with appropriate subtitles, this book could serve as a week’s personal devotional study. It could also be the basis of a book club or small group discussion. It answers questions we all struggle with throughout our spiritual walk; moreover, it is pure Gospel shared by one of our master preachers, John MacArthur.
    I received a complimentary review copy of this book from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I have to say it - I did not like this book. At all. John MacArt

    I have to say it - I did not like this book. At all. John MacArthur starts the book off by basically stating that all illnesses, physical and mental, are the products of a relationship with God that is not quite right. While yes, sometimes physical and mental ailments can be attributed to a person's relationship with God not being quite what it should be, this is not always the case. In fact, there are many people who are "right with God" and are still afflicted with mental and physical ailments.

    I do agree with the author's assessment that our society has found a way to ignore our consciences and assign our guilt to something other than our own sinful nature. However, I do not agree that you may not be a Christian if you get angry with people easily or if you harbor unforgiveness toward someone. That is part of being human and frankly, it is something to be worked on, but it <strong>does not</strong>
    mean that you are not a Christian.

    Finally, I take high offense to the idea that altar calls, which are done is most churches that I have attended, are manipulative things that mean nothing and that no free will is involved in a person's salvation or forgiveness. God does not forgive us of our sins until we actually make the decision to come clean to him about what we have done and ask for his forgiveness. If we do not ask for his forgiveness, he does not give it to us. But if free will is not a part of it, then we will never ask because we cannot make that choice.

    All in all, this book flies in the face of everything I have ever been taught - in multiple churches that I have attended and I find much of this book to be self-serving to the author's beliefs.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    The Truth About Forgiveness from John MacArthur is a deep book a

    The Truth About Forgiveness from John MacArthur is a deep book about sin and our need as humans to be forgiven by a holy perfect God. This book is not really about humans forgiving each other, but our need for God to have mercy upon us. Every single Christian needs to read this book because this is what the gospel is about. This is what our salvation is about. It's full of deep truths about salvation and sin. MacArthur addresses society's ways of excusing sin and sweeping it away under psychology labels like &quot;addition&quot;. He explains how people blame everyone but themselves for their sinful conditions and then they deny that these are sins by claiming they are outside of one's control as addictions. If we humans could see that our bad habits are actually sins and could fall upon Jesus Christ to save us, we could be free of those sins that we call addictions. That is what this book is about. It points out the true human condition of sin.



    Quotes that summarize this book:

    &quot;These days everything wrong with humanity is likely to be explained as an illness. What we used to call sin is more easily diagnosed as a whole array of disabilities. All kinds of immorality and evil conduct are now identified as symptoms of this or that psychological illness. Criminal behavior, various perverse passions, and every imaginable addiction have all been made excusable by the crusade to label them medical afflictions. Even commonplace problems, such as emotional weakness, depression, and anxiety, are also almost universally defined as quasi-medical, rather than spiritual, afflictions.&quot;



    &quot;But assume for the moment that the problem is sin rather than sickness. The only true remedy involves humble repentance and confession (the recognition that you deserve the chastening of God because you alone are responsible for your sin)&mdash;then restitution, and growth through the spiritual disciplines of prayer, Bible study, communion with God, fellowship with other believers, and dependence on Christ. In other words, if the problem is in fact spiritual, labeling it a clinical issue will only exacerbate the problem and will offer no real deliverance from the sin. That is precisely what we see happening everywhere.&quot;



    &quot;The sad truth is that disease-model treatment is disastrously counterproductive. By casting the sinner in the role of a victim, it ignores or minimizes the personal guilt inherent in the misbehavior. &ldquo;I am sick&rdquo; is much easier to say than, &ldquo;I have sinned.&rdquo; But it doesn&rsquo;t deal with the fact that one&rsquo;s transgression is a serious offense against a holy, omniscient, omnipotent God.&quot;



    Disclaimer: I received this book free of charge from the publisher but I am not required to give a positive review in exchange for the book. This is my critical review of the book as if I had bought the book with my hard earned money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1