BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Tube Riders

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 25, 2012

    Review of The Tube Riders by Chris Ward An amazing adventure th

    Review of The Tube Riders by Chris Ward

    An amazing adventure through a dystopian futuristic Britain that I sincerely hope no one ever lives to witness, “The Tube Riders” is an immensely creative and thoroughly imagined, riveting novel. I couldn’t step away and I doubt any other reader could. Marta, Simon, Paul, Jess, Switch, and later Paul’s brother Owen, and young Carl, undergo danger, horror, adrenaline surges, friendship, family loyalty, deaths galore-and what doesn’t kill them does indeed make them stronger. “The Tube Riders” possesses incredible characters, and not just the “heroes.” No, even the “villains”: Dreggo, Clayton, the Huntsmen, Dr. Karmski, and the mysterious, elusive, incredibly powerful Governor of Mega Britain, are vividly imaged and truly four-dimensional.

    Author Chris Ward weaves Dystopian society and culture with a natural outgrowth of the current rush-to-collapse seen in some segments of contemporary society, and with the history of decades of scientific experimentation, vivisection, and genetic engineering and manipulation. The quest to engineer a “Super-Man” in the Nietzschean sense is well more than a century old, but in the deft hands of this author, the quest reaches a horribly ugly but effective conclusion.

    I was provided with an e-book copy of this novel by the author, Chris Ward, on Sept. 12, 2012, via the Goodreads Group Making Connections, in exchange for my fair and impartial review.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2014

    Near future sf.  Very well written.  i guess if the are giving a

    Near future sf.  Very well written.  i guess if the are giving a book away free they cannot afford to have someone check it for typos, but it would be a smoother read if so.  Several young friend in a London which has really gone to hell escape from the police and cyborgs who are out to kill them .
    Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Hello

    A very well-written free 1100 page triology of a very bleak future in what was England. Survival, rebellion, and escape/adventure for 6 young people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2014

    O My Gosh

    This book rocks so hard. Had it for a while before I got around to reading it, then couldn't put it down.
    Went and got the other two books before I finished the first. Man what a ride.
    If your thinking of getting it and are on the fence, jump and get ready for a great ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    A great read!

    The Tube Riders is a riveting story from beginning to end! Chris Ward's vivid descriptions of Britain's dystopian society and the characters are easy to imagine and I could "place" myself right there in the story. Though the story is long it didn't drag; there was always something going on. I read it over a few days (things like a job kept getting in the way) and I eagerly anticipated continuing the read each day. And after finishing book one, I quickly bought book two!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    Awesome

    A very good, very long story, very hard to put down. 1200+ pages. I read it in 3 settings. Well done. Glad the story continues

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2014

    I

    I am trying to become interested in this book, but it is difficult to understand a need to jump on trains at the risk of one's life....these characters aren't teenagers. Surely in this fractured world there is higher calling...and they are preparing to have a gang war over what???!??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    An epic adventure set in a disfunctional, divided future Mega Br

    An epic adventure set in a disfunctional, divided future Mega Britain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Dont miss out!

    This book was an enjoyable read! Fell in love with all the tube rider characters. Since I am not a grammer natzi, I never noticed any grammer or puncuation mistakes because the story was so engaging, and exciting that it didn't matter to me! I am looking forward to the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Wow!

    Excellent creation of british dystopian future.
    Needs to be made into a movie!
    Just bought books 2 & 3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2014

    A real page turner.

    A view of the not too distant future in England. There are changes that might seem small at first....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    couldn't get into.

    gave up in first chapter. not vey clear.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Anonymous

    Great read as well as free !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    Great book

    Very imaginative, really draws you in to a futuristic world that is scary and perhaps often a little to close to reality!
    I'm off to buy the next one!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Great book

    Keeps you wondering what will happen. You are drawn to the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2014

    Enjoyed reading this. Hard to put it down. Good character devel

    Enjoyed reading this. Hard to put it down. Good character development. Action packed. I would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1