Customer Reviews for

The Tudor Plot: A Cotton Malone Novella

Average Rating 4
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Slow to begin, then WHAM!

Being a history major in college, many years ago, I saw some well done nuances. This is a "gotta read"!

posted by 11181950 on May 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Short Read

This ebook was a quick 100+ page read. It was a great storyline but it ended way too quick. Wish it was a full size novel. If you're a fan of Steve Berry, you'll want to get this. If you've never read Steve and his character Cotton Malone this is a great way to meet the...
This ebook was a quick 100+ page read. It was a great storyline but it ended way too quick. Wish it was a full size novel. If you're a fan of Steve Berry, you'll want to get this. If you've never read Steve and his character Cotton Malone this is a great way to meet them. All it took for me was one read of Steve Berry and I was hooked.

posted by brushmanDF on May 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    Great Short Read

    This ebook was a quick 100+ page read. It was a great storyline but it ended way too quick. Wish it was a full size novel. If you're a fan of Steve Berry, you'll want to get this. If you've never read Steve and his character Cotton Malone this is a great way to meet them. All it took for me was one read of Steve Berry and I was hooked.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2013

    Not up to the usual standard

    I've read a fair number of Steve Berry's novels and always enjoyed them. This one, however, not so much. Too much royal entanglement and too little action.
    When I got to the end, I was a bit surprised - thought I would have another 100 pages or so to finally get the book rolling. Not to be.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Great short Steve Berry novella.

    Love Steve Berry books. This was a great read. Good reading for someone who has never experienced his books. Lets them get a feel of his style and character.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Slow to begin, then WHAM!

    Being a history major in college, many years ago, I saw some well done nuances. This is a "gotta read"!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2013

    Typical Steve Berry, which at least for me is getting old. Was l

    Typical Steve Berry, which at least for me is getting old. Was looking forward to new book this summer, but not so much anymore. Cotton Malone is not Jack Ryan, not Jack Reacher, not Gabriel Allon but he could be a great character in his own right. Seems that Berry has hit a slump. Maybe he busts out of it, maybe not. Frankly, I'm rooting for him.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Very Good Short Story from Berry

    This was an very enjoyable short Cotton Malone story from Steve Berry. While most short stories leave much to be desired this when had a good beginning, a very good plot line and a good ending. Really enjoyed reading this before starting the King's Deception. While not directly related to the King's Deception having occurred 7 yrs prior, it did provide some good atmosphere and background to this upcoming novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Berry doesn't disappoint

    I'm a fan of Steve Berry and have many of his books, including others with the character Cotton Malone. This tale is short and fun. I recommend to anyone: fans of Mr. Berry's and those who have never read him.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    EXCELLENT NOVELLA

    A MUST READ before reading The King's Deception! Great to have Cotton Malone back!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2015

    Good f Good read

    Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Really Good short!

    This was a really interesting story about a fictional event in the British Royal Family. Hope it leads into a fun novel in The King's Deception!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    Not his best

    Disappointing compared to his other books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Good, quick read

    Being a novella or short story, there's no room for pages on pages of description or a sub-plot. This story is a little slow taking off, but quickly picks up pace and holds you until the end. Frankly, I didn't understand the part of the story regarding Arthur, but it offered a nice Icelandic diversion and didn't detract. I wasn't satisfied by the ending, but it left it open for another story.
    All in all, a great weekend/rainy day read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Needs a better editor

    Sorry, but Berry needs a more critical editor. Despite the book's short story, I found myself going back to previous pages or paragraph's to try to figure out which "he" or "she" or "they" a particular sentence referred to. Berry has an awful habit of mentioning a character, inserting other story details, often including a different character, after which the next sentence describe a character's action, only you can't tell which character is which.
    He also writes himself into a literary corner on occasion, then explains the anomaly with details that should have been disclosed much earlier. Flashbacks should be used for dramatic effect rather than to correct problems with the timeline.
    The subject matter Berry uses in the stories are interesting; too bad the writing doesn't match.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    Well Worth It!

    Cotton gets to seek revenge and the reader gets to see inside areas that become apparent in other novels. A great read and I enjoyed every page. No lag and well worth the $2.99.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Steve Berry is one of my favorite authors. While not his very b

    Steve Berry is one of my favorite authors. While not his very best, I greatly enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    Highly recommended

    I liked it even though it's fantastical. It reminded me a bit of Stephen King's 11/25/63--sort of a rewriting of history. It's a little different than the usual Cotton Malone in that it's a short story so things progress much more swiftly and there's not the in-depth background that we're used to. I think maybe this history is more interesting than the real one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    Recommended

    A novella rather than a full novel which introduces Cotton Malone. The story was okay, the character development was limited and rough. It was hard to get past some of the revisions to English history. Even though a roughed out novella of Cotton Malone, I would have been itching for more it I had read this prior to the novels available. Like any other author developing a character there is always growth of the characters and storylines.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    readable

    Like this author and this character but this book not hs best effort.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3