Customer Reviews for

The Turncoat: Renegades of the Revolution

Average Rating 5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

THE TURNCOAT by Donna Thorland is an exciting historical fiction

THE TURNCOAT by Donna Thorland is an exciting historical fiction set in 1777 The Jerseys and Philadelphia. #1 in "Renegades of the Revolution". Fast paced,filled with danger and passion. It has sensual tension,spies,suspense,betrayal,sacrifice,treason,the tens...
THE TURNCOAT by Donna Thorland is an exciting historical fiction set in 1777 The Jerseys and Philadelphia. #1 in "Renegades of the Revolution". Fast paced,filled with danger and passion. It has sensual tension,spies,suspense,betrayal,sacrifice,treason,the tension of war,and a blossoming love filled with dread and danger. "The Turncoat" is a captivating story of a turbulent time in our history, for both the America Colonies and the British,and the extraordinary men and women of that time. Meet,Kate Grey,a young Quaker girl who is thrust into war. And Major Lord Peter Tremayne,a young British Viscount who has no stomach for war but must endure.One is a spy the other may become a traitor to his countrymen.A Rebel spy and an enemy officer,both will face danger and may lose their lives in the next heartbeat. Ms. Thorland has written a story that is filled with the horrors of war,and the thin line between passion and patriotism. I enjoyed this story, while the romance was there it was not the most important factor in "The Turncoat". A must read for not only history bluffs,but for romance readers alike. You will not be disappointed in "The Turncoat". A joy to read, and one you will not want to put down. The plot is intriguing filled with historical facts,and the characters who jump off the page. A must read. Received for an honest review from the publisher.
RATING: 4.5
HEAT RATING: MILD
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews

posted by MyBookAddictionandMore on March 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good as a historical fiction book, but not a great historical ro

Good as a historical fiction book, but not a great historical romance.

Warning: If you choose to read The Turncoat you had better really (really!) love history.




I love historical novels, especially anything pertaining to the American Revolution.  It’s a darn good t...
Good as a historical fiction book, but not a great historical romance.

Warning: If you choose to read The Turncoat you had better really (really!) love history.




I love historical novels, especially anything pertaining to the American Revolution.  It’s a darn good thing too, because I consider that an essential requirement for reading this book.  There is a lot of historical detail included!  It actually reminded me of the descriptions of Culloden in Dragonfly in Amber by Diana Gabaldon.  Both books are pretty dry reads at times because of all the history, and I had to take breaks when so many facts being thrown at me got overwhelming.  The biggest difference between the two is that Dragonfly in Amber has a fantastic romance to go along with all that history, The Turncoat doesn’t.  




The main characters are Kate and Peter.  Kate is wonderful.  I always fall for the smart, gutsy heroines, so I really like Kate.  She is intelligent, courageous, and idealistic.  Her Quaker upbringing was instrumental in shaping her world view.  That’s a new one for me, one which I found it fascinating.  Kate’s love interest is Peter.  Uhm... he’s okay.  I never felt like I got to know him and I’m still not sure why Kate found him so appealing.  He isn’t the righteous idealist Kate is, but he ended up doing the right thing most of the time.  




The shining star of this book was the historical fiction.  The sacrifices Kate and her mentor made in order to serve their country were incredible.  For the telling of that story alone, I must say that the author has talent.  The book is well-written and well researched, but something was missing for me.  I wasn’t drawn into the the lives and motivations of the characters as much as I needed to be. On top of that, the romance never managed to capture my attention.  The sex scenes were hot and steamy, but outside the bedroom, I was less than impressed.  The flow between the historical fiction and the historical romance wasn’t very good, they seemed to be battling against one another most of the time.  To put it bluntly, I was left feeling that the romance was only added in an attempt to make the book more marketable.  




I know that’s like a lot of criticism for a book I liked, but I am writing for a romance review blog, and the romance wasn’t stellar.  As a historical fiction, it is a good book.  As a romance, it’s not very good.

posted by Streamer on March 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    Fantastic

    This book was wonderful. Such a page turner, read most of it in a night. Buy this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Fantastic

    Great pageturning historical fic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2013

    This is a superbly riveting novel set against the backdrop of th

    This is a superbly riveting novel set against the backdrop of the American Revolution. The prose crackles right off the page. Its simply astonishing that this is a debut. This is not boring ballroom and parlor espionage-- its treacherous field operations with weapons, disguise and cunning. The book is full of rich historical detail which completely absorbs the reader. I actually felt like I was right there in every scene. It kept me hooked. The characters are full bodied and well defined.
    The protagonist Kate Grey wasn't a wilting lilly or a stoic idealist, but a real person-- the kind you don't see very often in many romance novels. Her relationship with Major Lord Peter Tremayne, a handsome British viscount, was layered, subtle, and complicated. If you're looking for a serving and sex and violence in a historical setting, it doesn't get much better!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    The Revolution Comes Alive! As a big fan of historical fiction,

    The Revolution Comes Alive!

    As a big fan of historical fiction, I was excited to get my hands on THE TURNCOAT, by newcomer Donna Thorland, as I had heard great things about it. The story of a Massachusetts farm girl who becomes embroiled in a dangerous web of espionage during the American Revolution, THE TURNCOAT takes you from ball rooms to battle grounds and everything in between.

    Thorland's vivid writing brings the Revolution Era to life - you can practically smell the sweet rum punch wafting through the air - and deftly weaves her fictional characters in with historical figures and events. With a story that keeps turning and escalating, you'll be hard pressed to put this book down. Action, romance, intrigue, and betrayal - THE TURNCOAT has it all.

    A great choice for your book club, and I'm looking forward to her next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Kate Grey is living quietly as a Quaker in Pennsylvania during t

    Kate Grey is living quietly as a Quaker in Pennsylvania during the Revolutionary War in the American colonies in the 1700s when in one night her whole world undergoes an indescribable change.  The British soldiers who invade her home, headed by Major Peter Tremayne, are aggressive and frightening.  Tremayne forces a kiss upon this reluctant woman who reacts with awe to the senses awoken by his forceful, sensual kiss.  But she also sees something that night that converts her from the stereotypical Quaker pacifist to a fierce, determined Patriot who will do anything to see the “Red Coats” defeated!
    A mysterious woman known as the “Widow” arrives and it is very clear that she is not a Quaker and is really a spy.  She will undertake Kate’s training in skills to be used against the enemy, a formidable task that will earn Kate death if she is caught. At the same time, their activity results in the court martial of Peter Tremayne, the man who loses everything but cannot forget Kate Grey, the woman who possesses his mind and heart from that first but brief encounter and kiss.
    The novel will continue and bring the reader into enemy plans, battles, other spies and Loyalists who will do anything to force the British to leave.  Kate’s father is serving General Washington, two men who know far more than the British realize and whose network of spies enables advance action in the face of huge numbers of enemy soldiers. Philadelphia is a prize for the victor, one that demands multiple waves of devious strategy. 
    Peter and his cousin, “Bay Caide” hold a deep, dark secret that many seem to know but will not reveal.  Tenderness, bitterness, stark cruelty, and sweetness fill these pages which are predictable in one sense but totally unpredictable as certain events test the will of both Peter and Kate.  Love of country demands nothing less!  
    The Turncoat: Renegades of the Revolution is a realistic, harsh and sweet story to be relished – a fine piece of historical fiction!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    THE TURNCOAT by Donna Thorland is an exciting historical fiction

    THE TURNCOAT by Donna Thorland is an exciting historical fiction set in 1777 The Jerseys and Philadelphia. #1 in "Renegades of the Revolution". Fast paced,filled with danger and passion. It has sensual tension,spies,suspense,betrayal,sacrifice,treason,the tension of war,and a blossoming love filled with dread and danger. "The Turncoat" is a captivating story of a turbulent time in our history, for both the America Colonies and the British,and the extraordinary men and women of that time. Meet,Kate Grey,a young Quaker girl who is thrust into war. And Major Lord Peter Tremayne,a young British Viscount who has no stomach for war but must endure.One is a spy the other may become a traitor to his countrymen.A Rebel spy and an enemy officer,both will face danger and may lose their lives in the next heartbeat. Ms. Thorland has written a story that is filled with the horrors of war,and the thin line between passion and patriotism. I enjoyed this story, while the romance was there it was not the most important factor in "The Turncoat". A must read for not only history bluffs,but for romance readers alike. You will not be disappointed in "The Turncoat". A joy to read, and one you will not want to put down. The plot is intriguing filled with historical facts,and the characters who jump off the page. A must read. Received for an honest review from the publisher.
    RATING: 4.5
    HEAT RATING: MILD
    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2013

    Action, swashbuckling, espionage and romance. Great female prota

    Action, swashbuckling, espionage and romance. Great female protagonist and male lead, and well-drawn supporting cast. Bayard Caide and John Andre were top-drawer "villains."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Engrossing and well written. Brava!

    Engrossing and well written. Brava!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2013

    I am going to start this review off by saying this isn't a Roman

    I am going to start this review off by saying this isn't a Romance, even though it is being reviewed on several Romance sites. I am usually a reader of historical romance, because straight historical fiction tends to bore me to tears. Nothing about this book even approximates boring. It held me riveted... I mean, "take a long lunch break" kind of riveted, because I couldn't bear to put it down and return to my desk.

    Thorland masterfully crafts Kate Grey as a Quaker woman turned Rebel spy, who remains true to herself even as she changes into someone she doesn't recognize. The Revolutionay War was heart-wrenching and harrowing, and Thorland shows it in all its unsentimental detail. She doesn't need to embellish it - her scenes suggesting rape or worse don't need details to shock, even as we understand and abhor that such things happen in war. There is a hero and an anti-hero whom both tug at Kate's heart, and enough historical detail to keep the time period front and center without losing a reader with a short attention span.

    My favorite part of this book, however, was the writing. The prose is breathtaking without being florid. Thorland writes like Ken Follett, at his best. High praise, as Follet is one of my all-time favorite authors.

    My only criticism of the book is the ending, and I actually have to give kudos to Ms. Thorland for not giving into what was surely an urge to gift the protagonists with a story-book ending. I wanted a happily ever after (must be the romance reader in me). I didn't get it. Nor did I get clear closure on why the anti-hero made the choices he did in the end, against what seemed to be clear motivating factors on his part. However, I am adult enough to acknowledge that doesn't make the ending wrong.

    Wonderful job, and I can't wait to see what Ms. Thorland produces next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1