Customer Reviews for

The Tutor's Daughter

Average Rating 4.5
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Remarkable Plot and Characters

It was with great relish that I received my advanced reader copy of The Tutor’s Daughter by Julie Klassen, published by Bethany House Publishers. As a long-time fan of Julie Klassen’s work (The Apothecary’s Daughter, The Girl in the Gatehouse, and The Maid of Fairbourn...
It was with great relish that I received my advanced reader copy of The Tutor’s Daughter by Julie Klassen, published by Bethany House Publishers. As a long-time fan of Julie Klassen’s work (The Apothecary’s Daughter, The Girl in the Gatehouse, and The Maid of Fairbourne Hall, among others), I hoped for a tightly-woven, historically interesting Regency romance. I was truly not disappointed.

Emma Smallwood loves all things orderly and in their place. However, her devotion to her desolately widowed father drives her to join him in Cornwall, England as a tutor to a wealthy baron’s twin sons. Her memories of the twins’ older brothers, while they attended her father’s boarding school years before, bring both pain and excitement.

Once Emma and her father arrive at Ebbington Manor, Emma’s life of order is set in disarray. Night-time visitors, chilling messages, and family secrets combine to threaten Emma’s peace. Of course, her feelings for one of the brothers disrupts her carefully arranged life as well. Who is causing the mayhem and how far will it go? Which brother has caught Emma’s eye and will he return her affection?

The Tutor’s Daughter does not disappoint in its fully developed characters, descriptive setting, and interesting plot. Not only are the main characters’ reactions believable and accurate, but also the supporting casts’. Klassen’s attention to historical detail adds remarkable depth to the plot and characters. I thoroughly enjoyed reading The Tutor’s Daughter and joyfully give it five stars.


« Fun and Fast-paced
Remarkable Plot and Characters – Book Review of The Tutor’s Daughter by Julie Klassen

December 13, 2012 by mixednutts | Edit

Tutor'sDaughter_mck.indd

It was with great relish that I received my advanced reader copy of The Tutor’s Daughter by Julie Klassen, published by Bethany House Publishers. As a long-time fan of Julie Klassen’s work (The Apothecary’s Daughter, The Girl in the Gatehouse, and The Maid of Fairbourne Hall, among others), I hoped for a tightly-woven, historically interesting Regency romance. I was truly not disappointed.

Emma Smallwood loves all things orderly and in their place. However, her devotion to her desolately widowed father drives her to join him in Cornwall, England as a tutor to a wealthy baron’s twin sons. Her memories of the twins’ older brothers, while they attended her father’s boarding school years before, bring both pain and excitement.

Once Emma and her father arrive at Ebbington Manor, Emma’s life of order is set in disarray. Night-time visitors, chilling messages, and family secrets combine to threaten Emma’s peace. Of course, her feelings for one of the brothers disrupts her carefully arranged life as well. Who is causing the mayhem and how far will it go? Which brother has caught Emma’s eye and will he return her affection?

The Tutor’s Daughter does not disappoint in its fully developed characters, descriptive setting, and interesting plot. Not only are the main characters’ reactions believable and accurate, but also the supporting casts’. Klassen’s attention to historical detail adds remarkable depth to the plot and characters. I thoroughly enjoyed reading The Tutor’s Daughter and joyfully give it five stars.

Please enjoy the trailer for The Tutor’s Daughter from Bethany House.

**I received an advanced reader copy of The Tutor’s Daughter from Bethany House for no cost. My opinion is my own.**

posted by sewdabee on December 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A rather insipid story set in Cornwall, perhaps to give it an aura of mystery.

Emma Smallwood and her widower father are the daughter and tutor of the title. They’ve been invited to Ebbington Manor, the seat of the Weston baronetcy to tutor twin younger sons from a second marriage. The two older sons - Henry Weston who went out of his way to tease...
Emma Smallwood and her widower father are the daughter and tutor of the title. They’ve been invited to Ebbington Manor, the seat of the Weston baronetcy to tutor twin younger sons from a second marriage. The two older sons - Henry Weston who went out of his way to tease Emma and his gentler brother who she considered her friend - had studied at the Longdale School with Mr. Smallwood. Other characters inhabit the Manor, some menacing, some inconsistent in behavior, one downright mean and ugly, are supposed to create a menacing atmosphere, especially when things begin to happen with Emma’s belongings, when there are strange sounds in the night, and when she and Henry are trapped in a rising tide. None of the hinted-at evil is truly evil though, and none of the characters were interesting enough to overlook weaknesses of plot, etc. Nothing that was revealed by book's end was at all surprising. In fact it took determination to finish reading.

posted by srbSH on February 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 1, 2013

    summer read

    i bought this book knowing i was going to the beach. I wanted a fun easy read. It was more than just that...i enjoyed the storyline, the characters the setting. all in all it exceeded my expectations. I enjoyed it so much i recommended this to my daughter

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    Good historical romance read

    The book was very engaging but the plot and ending were pretty easy to figure out early on in the book. It's a good summer read... light, not complicated. Klassen's research into all aspects of life during this time is always thorough too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A rather insipid story set in Cornwall, perhaps to give it an aura of mystery.

    Emma Smallwood and her widower father are the daughter and tutor of the title. They’ve been invited to Ebbington Manor, the seat of the Weston baronetcy to tutor twin younger sons from a second marriage. The two older sons - Henry Weston who went out of his way to tease Emma and his gentler brother who she considered her friend - had studied at the Longdale School with Mr. Smallwood. Other characters inhabit the Manor, some menacing, some inconsistent in behavior, one downright mean and ugly, are supposed to create a menacing atmosphere, especially when things begin to happen with Emma’s belongings, when there are strange sounds in the night, and when she and Henry are trapped in a rising tide. None of the hinted-at evil is truly evil though, and none of the characters were interesting enough to overlook weaknesses of plot, etc. Nothing that was revealed by book's end was at all surprising. In fact it took determination to finish reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    THE TUTOR¿S DAUGHTER by Julie Klassen is an interesting inspirat

    THE TUTOR’S DAUGHTER by Julie Klassen is an interesting inspirational Regency historical fiction set in 1817 on the Cornwall coast. A fast paced story with a bit of Jane Eyre attached. Filled with secrets,faith,betrayal,education,healing,forgiveness,deception, a bit of romance and a lot of love. Follow, Emma Smallwood,and her father,an educator of young men on a journey of dark family secrets,as they embark to a cliff-top manor to educate a baronet’s two younger twin sons. Mysterious things begins to happen,Emma will learn a dark secret and find herself in danger. Henry Weston is the eldest Baronet son and has secrets of his own. He and his younger brother,Phillip were both taught by Emma’s father at his academy. If you enjoy Jane Austen,Jane Eyre,historical fiction,romance,Regency England,smugglers,shipwrecks,and superstitions, you will enjoy this adventure filled story of faith and love. Love blossoms as danger lurks. Family must stick together to get through the future,and leave the past far behind. A must read! Ms. Klassen has created another interesting tale of faith and love with her engaging,likable,and believable characters with an intriguing plot. Received for an honest review from the publisher.
    RATING: 4
    HEAT RATING: SWEET
    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction Reviews/My Book Addiction and More

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2012

    Remarkable Plot and Characters

    It was with great relish that I received my advanced reader copy of The Tutor’s Daughter by Julie Klassen, published by Bethany House Publishers. As a long-time fan of Julie Klassen’s work (The Apothecary’s Daughter, The Girl in the Gatehouse, and The Maid of Fairbourne Hall, among others), I hoped for a tightly-woven, historically interesting Regency romance. I was truly not disappointed.

    Emma Smallwood loves all things orderly and in their place. However, her devotion to her desolately widowed father drives her to join him in Cornwall, England as a tutor to a wealthy baron’s twin sons. Her memories of the twins’ older brothers, while they attended her father’s boarding school years before, bring both pain and excitement.

    Once Emma and her father arrive at Ebbington Manor, Emma’s life of order is set in disarray. Night-time visitors, chilling messages, and family secrets combine to threaten Emma’s peace. Of course, her feelings for one of the brothers disrupts her carefully arranged life as well. Who is causing the mayhem and how far will it go? Which brother has caught Emma’s eye and will he return her affection?

    The Tutor’s Daughter does not disappoint in its fully developed characters, descriptive setting, and interesting plot. Not only are the main characters’ reactions believable and accurate, but also the supporting casts’. Klassen’s attention to historical detail adds remarkable depth to the plot and characters. I thoroughly enjoyed reading The Tutor’s Daughter and joyfully give it five stars.


    « Fun and Fast-paced
    Remarkable Plot and Characters – Book Review of The Tutor’s Daughter by Julie Klassen

    December 13, 2012 by mixednutts | Edit

    Tutor'sDaughter_mck.indd

    It was with great relish that I received my advanced reader copy of The Tutor’s Daughter by Julie Klassen, published by Bethany House Publishers. As a long-time fan of Julie Klassen’s work (The Apothecary’s Daughter, The Girl in the Gatehouse, and The Maid of Fairbourne Hall, among others), I hoped for a tightly-woven, historically interesting Regency romance. I was truly not disappointed.

    Emma Smallwood loves all things orderly and in their place. However, her devotion to her desolately widowed father drives her to join him in Cornwall, England as a tutor to a wealthy baron’s twin sons. Her memories of the twins’ older brothers, while they attended her father’s boarding school years before, bring both pain and excitement.

    Once Emma and her father arrive at Ebbington Manor, Emma’s life of order is set in disarray. Night-time visitors, chilling messages, and family secrets combine to threaten Emma’s peace. Of course, her feelings for one of the brothers disrupts her carefully arranged life as well. Who is causing the mayhem and how far will it go? Which brother has caught Emma’s eye and will he return her affection?

    The Tutor’s Daughter does not disappoint in its fully developed characters, descriptive setting, and interesting plot. Not only are the main characters’ reactions believable and accurate, but also the supporting casts’. Klassen’s attention to historical detail adds remarkable depth to the plot and characters. I thoroughly enjoyed reading The Tutor’s Daughter and joyfully give it five stars.

    Please enjoy the trailer for The Tutor’s Daughter from Bethany House.

    **I received an advanced reader copy of The Tutor’s Daughter from Bethany House for no cost. My opinion is my own.**

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    Best julie klassen book

    Loved it from beginning to end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    Beautiful

    One of my most favorite authors. If you liked this you will LOVE Maid of Fairbourne Hall. Thank you to my sweet grandma for giving me Maid of Fairbourne Hall. READ IT! Adios!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Very good

    I liked the part where Emma was saying goodbye to their last student.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    When I started reading this book, I knew I recognized the writin

    When I started reading this book, I knew I recognized the writing style, but I couldn't place it until I noticed it was the same author as "The Maid of Fairbourne Hall." And then I knew I was going to love the book, and that is a vast understatement! This book reads like a classic. The author loves Jane Austen and "Jane Eyre," and this comes through clearly in the style and the story. Indeed, Julie Klassen has got to be one of the finest Christian historical fiction authors out there today, and I would love to read every single book she has ever written and ever will write.

    This book has it all--romance, history, mystery, intrigue, and so much more. I found myself so enraptured with the story that I did not want to put it down. It is a 400-something page book, but it never dragged. The characters were well-developed, and you couldn't help but love Emma and Henry. I have to admit that I wasn't even sure how the romance would play out, but the ending was exactly as it should have been. No sappy romance--just true love. Oh, and it almost goes without saying--no sex scenes nor profanity.

    The Christian message is woven expertly into the novel without beating you over the head with it. This is always what I appreciate about well-written Christian fiction. The gospel is never out of place in the book. The characters are real and come to rely on God in a special way. I would not think that this kind of book would appeal to any historical romance fans out there, and you are guaranteed a clean read.

    I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    This was my first book of Julie Klassen's and I enjoyed it much!

    This was my first book of Julie Klassen's and I enjoyed it much! The mystery and romance were quite enchanting and Emma Smallwood and the other characters captivating. I look forward to reading more books by her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Exceptionally GOOD! 2nd book I've read and i she still has been

    Exceptionally GOOD! 2nd book I've read and i she still has been hooked. I will be continue reading her books, i am looking forward to more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    D Cook

    This was a great book. I love anything Julie Klassen writes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    Romance the way it was suppose to be.

    Romance the way it is suppose to be in this book. Throw in a little mystery and suspense and you got a well developed book! The characters are rememberable and loveable.

    Read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    A fun read

    A historical romance with Gothic elements, including a family secret. It reminded me a bit of Phyllis Whitney or Victoria Holt. This was the first of Julie Klassen's books I've read, but I will be checking out others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Just a nice pleasant story.

    Enjoyed this book, good old fashioned romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2013

    I really liked it! This really was an awesome read. I like the c

    I really liked it! This really was an awesome read. I like the characters of both Emma and Henry, and the plot included a lot of surprises that kept me guessing. Emma goes to the Weston home to help her father teach the twin Weston boys. She has always been very organized, and is a bit reluctant to come to the Weston home, knowing that Henry Weston, a boy who taunted her relentlessly back at their boarding school in their childhood, will be there.
    Henry Weston is regretful of all the pranks he pulled on Miss Smallwood when he was younger. However, The Smalllwood's visit comes at a bad time for the Weston family and their secrets are hard to keep hidden.
    I loved all of the mystery in this book; it kept me guessing til the very end! It reminded my a little of Jane Eyre, because it had a few similar elements, which is awesome because I like Jane Eyre, but it was written in a more modern style, which was more pleasing to my taste.
    All in all, this was a great book! My favorite I have read of Julie Klassen's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    Awesome

    I LOVE this author and was so excited to see this newest book! The storyline is great, a sweet sweet romance with thrills galore! I highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    I love Julie Klassen!

    This book was awesome! Had a hard time putting it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2013

    One of the things I like about Julie¿s novels is the way she¿s a

    One of the things I like about Julie’s novels is the way she’s able to capture the “Gothic regency” feel while keeping her story real and believable. Her books usually center around some dark, family secret, and develop around some intriguing historically accurate even or belief or practice. The Tutor’s Daughter was true to form.

    The Tutor's Daughter begins in a common boarding school setting, made uncommon by the fact that a teenage Emma Smallwood (doesn’t that name just SOUND like a tutor’s daughter? Love it!) is actively teaching and administrating in the school, even though she is similar in age to many of the students. This has come about because of her mother’s untimely death, leaving her father in a state of grief that seems to rob him of his will to keep the school up and running. Emma does everything she can to keep their doors open, but she’s fighting a losing battle without her father’s support. When an offer comes for the tutor and his daughter to come and privately teach the younger sons of a patron whose older sons attended the Smallwood school, Emma encourages her father to do so.

    Although Emma and her father are at Ebbington Manor to teach the younger brothers, it is the two older brothers, the two who spent a few years with the Smallwoods, with whom Emma has a love/hate relationship - one she believes she loves, the other she believes she hates. When her world is turned upside down and inside out by the machinations of a whole household in the grips of fear and pride and sin, Emma learns that second chances are often a direct result from forgiveness.

    The story unfolds to reveal that not all is as it seems, that love can be blind, that hatred can be even blinder. Julie tackles tough subjects like mental illness, poverty, and class, and the age-old process of learning to forgive God when we feel He has wronged us in some way.

    This book was give to me for the purpose of this review.

    Another great book by the delightful Julie Klassen!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2013

    I loved, loved, loved this book! That¿s one of the things I real

    I loved, loved, loved this book! That’s one of the things I really like about historical fiction, you always learn something new!   I knew very little about English boarding schools run by families in their home during the 1800’s.  The author’s wonderful detail of day to day life and what education was like during that time was fascinating.  
    Emma Smallwood helped her father run one such boarding school, Smallwood Academy, for young boys during this time.   The death of her mother sent her father in to depression.  As he lost all interest in teaching and acquiring new students, Emma became very concerned about how not only how they would support themselves but that they could also possibly lose everything. She remembered the Weston family who had five years earlier enrolled their two sons, Henry and Phillip in her father’s school.  Using her father’s name, she contacts Mr. Giles Weston concerning the opportunity to teach his younger sons Rowan and Julian.  Mr. Weston sends a requesting the come to his estate, Ebbington Manor, and teach they boys.  She wasn’t expecting to leave their home and was even more surprised when her father is excited by the prospect and accepts the offer!
    Henry and Philip Weston, their former students have grown in to handsome men.  Emma is stuck in the past by still viewing them as they were when they boarded with them as young boys and she a young girl.  Henry was a prankster and always tormenting her.  Phillip had shown kindness and that gave her a soft spot for him.  Up on arrival Emma finds the manor intimidating and isolated as sits high on a cliff overlooking the windy coast. Not long after they settle in, things that can only be described as supernatural and very disturbing begin to occur.  Some speak of the Manor being haunted, something Emma definitely does not believe in, but how can these things be explained?  At first she thinks Henry is up to his old tricks.  When she realizes he isn’t she wonders, how then can these things be explained?  Emma shows great courage in seeking answers and makes startling discoveries of family secrets, even to the point of pointing herself in danger.  To complicate matters and much against her will she finds herself drawn to one of older sons. 
    Emma is also comes face to face with her rejection of God since her mother’s death.  Many of her experiences and the straightforward faith of all people, Henry Weston, help her realize she cannot live her life apart from the Lord. 
    Ms. Klassen’s writing was so very descriptive that it was as if I was walking through the halls and grounds of the Manor with Emma.  The anticipation at times in almost unbearable! Nothing is as it seems and the surprises are totally unexpected. That is why I kept reading and reading when I should have gone to bed!
    Fiction, history, romance, mystery, and suspense, what more could you ask from a book.  This one has it all.  You will definitely want to read The Tutor's Daughter!
    I received this book free from Bethany House Publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4