Customer Reviews for

The Twelve (Passage Trilogy Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 417 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(212)

4 Star

(115)

3 Star

(58)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Cronin is in complete control of this masterpiece and I was spellbound.

The Twelve begins with a clever prologue. It was delivered much like scriptures and recaps the events from the Passage. This quickly reacquainted me to the world and the characters. As I read I imagined the Omen theme song in my head. The twelve are the original men tur...
The Twelve begins with a clever prologue. It was delivered much like scriptures and recaps the events from the Passage. This quickly reacquainted me to the world and the characters. As I read I imagined the Omen theme song in my head. The twelve are the original men turned viral when a military experiment "Project Noah" went wrong. They are linked and the parents of all the Virals created. Five years have passed since Amy and her small team defeated Babcock. In this novel Cronin skillfully takes us from year zero to 97 A.V,-five years after book one ended. He masterfully fills in details and introducing new characters. The tale that unfolded sent shivers down my spine as I became fully immersed in the world Cronin created. The characters in this trilogy have been superbly fleshed out. Amy while still a mystery evolves in this second novel. Peter is at a crossroads and is perhaps my favorite character. The underlying connection between them captured my heart. We reconnect with Lila, Wolfgast's ex-wife. She is fractured, unique and has a significant role in book two. Grey who was a sweeper in book one, is back and attempts to change his life. Greer is imprisoned and becomes a seer. Guilder is a new character and straight from your worst nightmare. I still shiver thinking about him and what he is capable of. All of the key characters are reintroduced and become more fleshed out, as we go from past to present. We get a closer look and understanding of the Virals, otherwise known as Dracs, Glowsticks, Jumps, Dopeys, Smokes and Flyers. We begin to understand their hierarchy and what has become of their humanity. Then there is the twelve and there leader Zero. I can hear them in my head, "I am Morrison-Chavez-Baffles-Turrell-Winston-Sosa-Echolos-Lambright-Martinez-Reinhardt-Carter." "Come to me." *shivers* There is a very helpful guide in the back of the book that lists all of the characters and briefly describes them. The world Cronin has created is horrifying, unimaginable and yet I believed. Cronin is in complete control of this masterpiece and I was spellbound. Not since Stephen King's The Stand have I been so blown away. While the tale doesn't move in a linear fashion he skillfully takes us from past, present to future giving me a 3-D panoramic view of the world. It is quite clear he knows the terrain of the Midwest and with his pen; he brought its vast grasslands to life. He has crafted a tale, which completely enthralled me. It also scared the crap out of me. It made me question the human mind, scientific advancements and mans quest for power. How would we survive this world? It also inspired me, and gave me hope as humankind survived, adapted and never surrendered. The Homeland and all that it stood for frightened me more than the Virals. I could not wrap myself around the horrors Guilder had created. This tale ended on a slightly high note, and felt complete. Cronin left us with the knowledge that a new battle would begin soon...Eep! I cannot wait. Flyers! I really feel like my review does not even begin to give The Twelve and author the praise it deserves. Cronin is pure genius and I would love to have a coffee and a conversation with him. I honestly think, he sees the characters in his mind and knows exactly what they are doing, even when they are not present within the pages he is writing. He blurs the lines of reality, bringing this post-apocalyptic nightmare to life. If you know me, you kno

posted by kimba88 on October 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Bored

I loved the first book, but this one has not grabbed me at all. It is random and disjointed. A waste of time and money.

posted by 7019433 on November 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 212 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted October 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Cronin is in complete control of this masterpiece and I was spellbound.

    The Twelve begins with a clever prologue. It was delivered much like scriptures and recaps the events from the Passage. This quickly reacquainted me to the world and the characters. As I read I imagined the Omen theme song in my head. The twelve are the original men turned viral when a military experiment "Project Noah" went wrong. They are linked and the parents of all the Virals created. Five years have passed since Amy and her small team defeated Babcock. In this novel Cronin skillfully takes us from year zero to 97 A.V,-five years after book one ended. He masterfully fills in details and introducing new characters. The tale that unfolded sent shivers down my spine as I became fully immersed in the world Cronin created. The characters in this trilogy have been superbly fleshed out. Amy while still a mystery evolves in this second novel. Peter is at a crossroads and is perhaps my favorite character. The underlying connection between them captured my heart. We reconnect with Lila, Wolfgast's ex-wife. She is fractured, unique and has a significant role in book two. Grey who was a sweeper in book one, is back and attempts to change his life. Greer is imprisoned and becomes a seer. Guilder is a new character and straight from your worst nightmare. I still shiver thinking about him and what he is capable of. All of the key characters are reintroduced and become more fleshed out, as we go from past to present. We get a closer look and understanding of the Virals, otherwise known as Dracs, Glowsticks, Jumps, Dopeys, Smokes and Flyers. We begin to understand their hierarchy and what has become of their humanity. Then there is the twelve and there leader Zero. I can hear them in my head, "I am Morrison-Chavez-Baffles-Turrell-Winston-Sosa-Echolos-Lambright-Martinez-Reinhardt-Carter." "Come to me." *shivers* There is a very helpful guide in the back of the book that lists all of the characters and briefly describes them. The world Cronin has created is horrifying, unimaginable and yet I believed. Cronin is in complete control of this masterpiece and I was spellbound. Not since Stephen King's The Stand have I been so blown away. While the tale doesn't move in a linear fashion he skillfully takes us from past, present to future giving me a 3-D panoramic view of the world. It is quite clear he knows the terrain of the Midwest and with his pen; he brought its vast grasslands to life. He has crafted a tale, which completely enthralled me. It also scared the crap out of me. It made me question the human mind, scientific advancements and mans quest for power. How would we survive this world? It also inspired me, and gave me hope as humankind survived, adapted and never surrendered. The Homeland and all that it stood for frightened me more than the Virals. I could not wrap myself around the horrors Guilder had created. This tale ended on a slightly high note, and felt complete. Cronin left us with the knowledge that a new battle would begin soon...Eep! I cannot wait. Flyers! I really feel like my review does not even begin to give The Twelve and author the praise it deserves. Cronin is pure genius and I would love to have a coffee and a conversation with him. I honestly think, he sees the characters in his mind and knows exactly what they are doing, even when they are not present within the pages he is writing. He blurs the lines of reality, bringing this post-apocalyptic nightmare to life. If you know me, you kno

    37 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    Amazing book! Id give it 6 stars if i could.

    I don't even know where to begin on how much I loved this book. I've been up two days straight reading it. I think this author is a brilliant writer. There are authors who are good story tellers, and there are authors who are good writers.....and then there is the rare combination of authors who are both. Justin Cronin falls into that rare category. I definitely reccommend this book to anyone who loves to read. Regardless of what kind of genre you are interested in, I think you will still enjoy this book. It has action, adventure, sci-fi, fantasy, realism, and even a little romance, all rolled in between the covers of this book. :)

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Love this series

    By far the best series I have ever read.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2012

    While The Twelve was a bit difficult to read based on how Cronin

    While The Twelve was a bit difficult to read based on how Cronin jumped from one time period to another, I still loved it. I actually liked it a bit better than The Passage. While I also loved the Passage, it was a bit slow from time ot time. I guess that's to be expected in a book that's almost 900 pages long. I never thought The Twelve was slow at any point. There was a lot more action and the original characters was developed even more. Overall, I loved it and can't wait for the last installment.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Second book picks up and expands on first

    There are new characters, but really not new. The book takes up with some minor characters from the first and expands on their role and their connections with the people we learned about in the first book. While it is hard spending less time with those we became invested in, the book is the second in a planned trilogy so can can expect that there is still some place setting that needs to be done. I enjoyed the way that the new people were fitted into the overall story. It is much deeper and layered than a simple survive in a changed world. The history and world making is well done and I cannot wait until the third one comes out.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Not for the simple minded reader

    Cronin creates another word world with his descriptions of characters and places. Although not as good as the first book he leaves the reader wanting to know what happens to the heroes. If you have no imagination, visualization skills, or above a 7th grade reading level, DONT BUY the book. If you enjoy using your mind and intelligence then you are in for a great read.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Anonymous

    I liked this one as much as the first. Its hard for me to believe some of the negative reviews posted. I personally think he writes as well as King.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    I loved this book. I agree it was a bit slow and did spend too m

    I loved this book. I agree it was a bit slow and did spend too much time on some characters that were not heard of again ( most likely taken up or killed outright) but for me, it was just as suspensful as the first book. Especially Sarah's and Amy's journey. I cannot wait for the final book to find out how Lisha and Peter's character plays out.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Chilling

    Great story, grabs you and won't let go. Loved all the characters and the connections Cronin created. Disappointed I cannot find when the final book will be out.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2013

    The Twelve is book 2 of the Passage Trilogy.  I read the Passage

    The Twelve is book 2 of the Passage Trilogy.  I read the Passage a while ago and when The Twelve came out I just had to go through The Passage again.  The Twelve is very interesting without a dull moment.  The first "half" of the book bounces from 5 years after The Passage back to the original period of infection.  Characters from the first book come back so we can see what happened to them approximately 100 years ago.  How did all these changes take place?  So we jump from 5 years after the Passage back to approx. 100 years in the past - then about 75 years forward then back to the future period which finishes out the 2nd half of the book.  The initial jumping around in time took some effort to follow but it was ALL relevant and necessary.  How had the Virals survived through this century?  What sustained them?  For what purpose?  Could they be stopped?  Many of the characters from The Passage are also in The Twelve and I am not sure you could follow The Twelve without having first read book 1 of the trilogy.  Are there others like Amy or Alicia?  Sadly, I now need to wait for book 3 to see what's next.  There are many books about creatures that were humans who had been infected by some virus - manmade or otherwise.  But this series truly sets itself apart by the depth of the infection through time, space, and numbers.  If you are looking for something to scare the daylights out of you for days on end - this series is for you!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Two down, one to go

    I read The Passage largely because Stephen King gave it a good review. I couldn't put the book down and couldn't put The Twelve down either. I was (no pun intended) taken up with the story and with the characters. I hope Justin is well into the third book because I don't want to wait too long to find out how it all ends!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Read this Series!!

    The second book in The Passage Series, The Twelve, might be better then the first!! It'll keep you on the edge of your seat and bonus- the author is from Texas! This series is a MUST READ.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    The Twelve by Justin Cronin picked up where The Passage left off

    The Twelve by Justin Cronin picked up where The Passage left off. The Twelve has the same powerful writing style as The Passage. There are some new characters and old characters that you can't help caring about.
    Justin Cronin has a writing style that makes every character, even a stock character seem alive and able to walk off the page. His description of scenery makes you feel as if you are inside and living in the book.
    There are many shocking developments in The Twelve. This book has a surprise ending that leaves you wondering what is next for the third book in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Amazing

    Helps to read a The Passage. Both books will have you wanting more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Loved it

    Can't wait until the final chapter!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Wow

    This #2 in the passage series book started out in an entirely different direction than I expected. The addiction to read until my eyes glazed over however was the same as the first. An amazing story! Then near the end I'm thinking this may be the grand finale when the book ends leaving me hanging again. Awesome read!


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Couldn't put it down!

    I admit that I cried trough most of the first book (The Passage) and half of this one. An amazing book but I have to say I was starting to really get beat down emotionally by this story. I am very glad it turned out the way it did . . . with some loose ends tied up happily and some hope in the works. Really looking forward to book three.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Enthralling

    Can't put it down!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    NStaat

    Loved it! I can not wait until the next one.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    Fantastic book. Extremely entertaining and well written.

    Fantastic book. Extremely entertaining and well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 212 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11