BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Twelve Clues of Christmas (Royal Spyness Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A holiday mystery based on the twelve days of Christmas is the b

    A holiday mystery based on the twelve days of Christmas is the basis for this latest Royal Spyness Mystery series. Georgie (Lady Georgiana Bannock, 35th or 36th in line for the throne) escapes from Castle Rannoch and her sister-in-law, Fig, whom she dislikes, by answering an ad to act as a social hostess for a large Christmas party in a small English village, Tiddleton-under-Lovey. Her actress mother and Noel Coward are staying in the same village, supposedly writing a play, and Georgie convinces her grandfather to join them.

    But almost immediately dead bodies begin to appear, one a day. The police think it is the result of a prison breakout by three convicts. Villagers believe the deaths are the result of the Lovey Curse, made by a “witch” burned there hundreds of years before. However, all the deaths appear to be accidental, at least until Georgie comes up with a possible motive for murder.

    This sixth novel in the series is, as were its predecessors, very entertaining. The plot is clever, woven around the Twelve Days of Christmas theme. And as an added bonus, all the recipes for an old-fashioned English Christmas, food and games are provided after the mystery is solved. Who can ask for anything more?

    Recommended.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    A clever and fun Christmas murder mystery

    This book was like the whipped cream on top of my Christmas Irish coffee! The plot was clever, exciting, and the characters were three dimensional. Woven into the story were the customs and activities of the Christmas season in a simpler and less commercial time, including in an appendix an explanation of the activities, food, and games portrayed in the book. This was a diamond in the "Royal Spyness" series, and I look forward to the next installment!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Really enjoyed the book

    I enjoyed this book very much. I liked the characters and the story was intriguing. I was not expecting the ending. A good read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Royal Spyness never disappoints

    Just finished the latest installment. This would be so wonderful as a television series. I love the creepy, witty, theatrical, suspense with the holiday theme.

    I can't wait for the next one.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    good mystery-England during the depression

    but not depressing! I am loving this series and her diet of beans on toast (poor thing). Can't wait to see who the Irishman really is really.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Excellent mystery - lots of romance!

    I have read plenty of reviews that the love interest of Georgiana's is never featured enough thru this series....romance lovers...you will enjoy this one! Mr. Darcy O'Mara makes an appearance and becomes a main character in this Christmas story...wonderful !!!

    The main plot of this story is Georgiana getting a job to be a co-host at a traditional English country home for Christmas. But once she arrives, a person dies each day for the twelve days of christmas. Who is doing this and why?

    Rhys Bowen has woven a great mystery plot. It moved quickly. I truly enjoyed the cozy mystery and substantially more of a relationship for Georgiana and Darcy in this book.

    I recommend this book to all cozy mystery readers!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Good Read

    Finally, Georgie and Darcy are engaged. Let's hope it doesn't take another six books for them to marry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Lady Georgiana at it again!

    Another great story with interesting characters - Georgie and Darcy never fail to please. Looking forward to the next.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    Excellent, waiting for the next book

    Good story, moved rapidly, one of my favorite authors

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2012

    I thoroughly enjoyed THE TWELVE CLUES OF CHRISTMAS!! The story

    I thoroughly enjoyed THE TWELVE CLUES OF CHRISTMAS!! The story line is GREAT and it's easy to get lost in the world of Georgiana Rannoch. You can relate to each character in this novel and I couldn't help thinking that the Dowager Countess in the book was the same as the Dowager on Downton Abby (lol) . I could visualize her and her remarks so vividly! The twists and turns of this book will have you on the edge of your seat! You won't be able to put it down! I was not left wanting!!! Good job, Rhys, as always! I highly recommend the Royal Spyness Series if you haven't already read them!! GREAT READS!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    I loved this one!

    Great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    Loved it

    Great book as usual! I just love Darcy and Georgie!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Clue

    To find the clue make a pair of two the clue is one false note

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2014

    GREAT READ

    Yes, I would recommend this book. It keeps you on your toes trying to figure out who had did all of the killings. Love the twist and turns!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2014

    Classic english manor and clever reason for her to be there

    Rent a royal. However i hope maid learns enough to be a help or stops burning clothes and really mother needs to step in and give her eating money this poverty is ruining story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2014

    As fabulous as all the Royal Spyness books

    This one might have been slightly more far-fetched than other stories in this series, but they're all light-hearted, fun cozy murder mysteries. And LOTS of the charming Darcy O'Mara -- reason enough to read right there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The best one yet!

    I have been in love with this series since the first volume came out, and #6 does not disappoint. I think it may be the most interesting plot yet, you don't even know there's a murder for sure until about 120 pages in, and the characters all grab your interest. The ending was a bit tame, but the story was so good and satisfying that I didn't mind. Georgiana provides her top-drawer social status to help (for a fee) hostess a 'traditional English Christmas' for minor gentry having a house party of people from several countries, who turn out to be paying guests. Just as Georgie arrives, local people begin turning up dead in situations that seem natural until the number starts mounting. With her irrepressible mother staying in a cottage in the same village and her grandfather and Mrs. Hodges also (acting as butler and cook to Mummy's current man), all Georgie lacks is Darcy--and then he turns up, being cousin to the hosting family! Lots of fun to read. Keep it up, Rhys Bowen! This is your best series, in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Disappointed

    Georgie doesn't stretch her sleuthing muscles until page 245. Before then, she is just strictly reporting the scene of murders. The murderer was very predictable, and the ending was unsatisfying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it! One of my favorite Christmas mysteries. Lots of holi

    Loved it! One of my favorite Christmas mysteries. Lots of holiday and mystery. What a Christmas mystery should be like. Like Santa, I'm, reading this one twice. Something I rarely do!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2013

    Fun read

    The usual Royal Spyness read. Fun fast moving with the usual "friends" showing up. If you like the Royal Spyness series then don't miss this book. If you have not tried this series start with the first book and read in order so you will enjoy the development of the different characters/ situations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3