Customer Reviews for

The Twelve Tribes of Hattie (Oprah's Book Club 2.0)

Average Rating 3.5
( 268 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(92)

4 Star

(72)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

I don't always agree with Oprah, but this one is definitely a wi

I don't always agree with Oprah, but this one is definitely a winner. Grabs you from the beginning and doesn't lrt go.

posted by Hipster_dufas1 on December 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Drivel

I hate this kind of writing. There is no plot, no moral, no fully formed characters. There also are no redeeming features to this depressing drivel whatsoever. It reminds me of high school girls writing overly dramatic essays full of 'OMG!' That speaks to the depth of t...
I hate this kind of writing. There is no plot, no moral, no fully formed characters. There also are no redeeming features to this depressing drivel whatsoever. It reminds me of high school girls writing overly dramatic essays full of 'OMG!' That speaks to the depth of the novel adequately. Perhaps someday this author can find a true voice which speaks of joy, redemption, or lessons learned. Or, novel idea, tells a STORY! I admit I was caught by the Oprah hook, much to my regret. Readers, find a good book to spend your hard earned dollars on and give this author a wide berth until she really has something to say.

posted by Anonymous on December 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 268 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Drivel

    I hate this kind of writing. There is no plot, no moral, no fully formed characters. There also are no redeeming features to this depressing drivel whatsoever. It reminds me of high school girls writing overly dramatic essays full of 'OMG!' That speaks to the depth of the novel adequately. Perhaps someday this author can find a true voice which speaks of joy, redemption, or lessons learned. Or, novel idea, tells a STORY! I admit I was caught by the Oprah hook, much to my regret. Readers, find a good book to spend your hard earned dollars on and give this author a wide berth until she really has something to say.

    22 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2012

    I don't always agree with Oprah, but this one is definitely a wi

    I don't always agree with Oprah, but this one is definitely a winner. Grabs you from the beginning and doesn't lrt go.

    20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Life is not always what you expect.  When you make choices wheth

    Life is not always what you expect.  When you make choices whether to choose one thing or one person over another you belief that you've made the right choice.  The Twelve Tribes of Hattie is about sexuality, adultery, life, consequences, circumstances and choices.  In 1923, Hattie Shepherd, was just fifteen years old, when she made the decision to leave Georgia for a better life in Philadelphia to start a family and become a wife. Her life was hard, challenging and the decisions she made were based upon her in-experiences of life.  These challenges, as seen through the eyes of her children, caused them tremendous stress, dysfunction and unforgiveness throughout their adulthood. Her children did not fully understand that she too was young and inexperienced to make these types of decisions but Hattie did not fully understand that her inexperience decisions would cause indecisiveness in the development of her children.  A decision that Hattie made came back to haunt her years later through the decision of her daughter.  Ayana Mathis takes us on a journey to generational curses and how they can greatly affect the future.  

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    The twelve tribes of Hattie

    I loved the book, but wished the characters would have been developed further. Did not care for the sudden ending.

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2012

    A very powerful first novel !!! Ayana Mathis has this incredibl

    A very powerful first novel !!! Ayana Mathis has this incredible talent to make the reader feel every ounce of Hattie's pain and anguish... it was almost like I was Hattie and it was happening to me....

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    More of the same...

    If you like the type of story where everybody is miserable their entire lives and no matter what choices the different characters make then you'll like this book.
    I just don't see the point to yet another book where everyone's lives turn out horribly simply because the author thinks they will get reviews with words like "riveting" or "mesmerizing" or whatever else.
    The ending seemed like the author ran out of ideas and ended it abruptly.

    13 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    I can't even finish this book. It jumps around so much and make

    I can't even finish this book. It jumps around so much and makes no sense. I wish I had not wasted my money.

    11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Disapointed

    It caught my attention in the begining but it Never got to the point .. miserable doomed characters and a quick pointless ending.... boooooo

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    This is not an uplifting book and the characters are, for the mo

    This is not an uplifting book and the characters are, for the most part, sad and miserable. The beginning was good and caught my attention, but after the first few pages it was not as captivating. Wish I had just taken it out of the library.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Great read just disappointed with the ending

    I would still recommend reading this but wish the characters would have come full circle.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2012

    Personally, Ioved this book. Not a huge Oprah Book Club fan. Thi

    Personally, Ioved this book. Not a huge Oprah Book Club fan. This book, however, grabbed my attention and heart immediately and carried me quickly to the ending. Definite read.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    I so wanted to love this book.   When will I learn that if Oprah

    I so wanted to love this book.   When will I learn that if Oprah puts her seal on it, odds are the book will be steeped in realism, which in itself is OK, but this one teased of an ending that would be redeemed by Hattie's humanity finally being explored.  I didn't need happy endings or anyone being saved, but the ending was just too abrupt with Hattie.s anger and sadness ending only because she was too old and tired to hang on to them.  The hours spent reinvested in reading the book feel wasted.  Surely, one of the characters would have c
    grown  to have at least 1 happy day in their  lives?  If so the book doesn't even allude to one.  Big downer!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Why, Why, Why???

    Why did I buy this book, why did I read the whole thing? I kept hoping something positive or redeeming would happen, something that would be the aha moment of investing time in reading this. It's not there. Why does Oprah recommend this book?! Is she friends with the author?

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    While this book had lots of promise, it failed to deliver. The b

    While this book had lots of promise, it failed to deliver. The book doesn't flow smoothly. I found myself guessing who the character was. with each new chapter I would have to assume that it was one of Hatties children talking. It would skip back and forth and really didn,t flow.


    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    You will want to know more

    I absolutely loved this book. I wanted to know more about each character's story. It was almost like reading a collection of short stories.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Highly Recommended!

    The Twelve Tribes of Hattie is a rare debut novel. The story is captivating from the very first page. I could not read fast enough to know what was going to happen next. I purchased the hardcover and the e-book as I was going on a trip for a few days and didn't want to miss any time I could be reading! Ms. Mathis writes like a seasoned veteran of the printed word. I truly look forward to her next work. Thank you Ms. Mathis for this special treat in fine writing.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    TRULY ACCOMPLISHED. PLOT HAS TO BE CONSIDERED, BUT OF COURSE HO

    TRULY ACCOMPLISHED. PLOT HAS TO BE CONSIDERED, BUT OF COURSE HOW THE PLOT IS CARRIED OUT IS ALL IMPORTANT (GRAMMAR, CORRECT VOCABULARY. THEN TOO QUESTIONS OF HOLDING INTEREST ARE ALL IMPORTANT. THE NOVEL DOES IMMEDIATELY GAIN ATTENTION. iNDEED,OPRAH HAS PICKED WELL. BUT, NOW, LET ME ASK, WHY AND HOW ARE THE BOOKS REALLY PICKED ? THE NOVEL "CHRIS AND LOUISA" ON THE SUBJECT OF POLYGAMY, 125 YEARS OF US HISTORY AND THE RISE , WEALTH AND POWER OF MORMONISM HAS NOT BEEN SINGLED OIUT FOR OPRAH.]. THAT ISI ANOTHER AREA OF EXISTENCE OF COURSE, THE MORMON WORLD, BUT I SUPPOSE MY POINT IS THAT EXCELLENT BOOKS WRITTEN WITH CONSUMATE SKILL ARE TOO OFTEN OVERLOOKED.
    OF COURSE MY WIFE, JUDY, AND i WROTE CHRIS AND LOUISA.



    RALPH P. VANDER HEIDE

    4 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Come on

    We all know NOT EVERY STORY HAS A HAPPY ENDING! I will give this book a try despite the negative reviews.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2013

    I'm really enjoying this book. You don't know what to expect wi

    I'm really enjoying this book. You don't know what to expect with each new chapter (tribe/child of Hattie). Each chapter covers one of Hattie's children. You have to read the chapter to kind of figure out what's going on and I love that it's not predictable. It's definitely a great read for a book club.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    And then........

    A good book until the end. Well actually there wasn't an end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 268 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14