Customer Reviews for

The Twelve Tribes of Hattie

Average Rating 3.5
( 268 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(92)

4 Star

(72)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

I don't always agree with Oprah, but this one is definitely a wi

I don't always agree with Oprah, but this one is definitely a winner. Grabs you from the beginning and doesn't lrt go.

posted by Hipster_dufas1 on December 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Drivel

I hate this kind of writing. There is no plot, no moral, no fully formed characters. There also are no redeeming features to this depressing drivel whatsoever. It reminds me of high school girls writing overly dramatic essays full of 'OMG!' That speaks to the depth of t...
I hate this kind of writing. There is no plot, no moral, no fully formed characters. There also are no redeeming features to this depressing drivel whatsoever. It reminds me of high school girls writing overly dramatic essays full of 'OMG!' That speaks to the depth of the novel adequately. Perhaps someday this author can find a true voice which speaks of joy, redemption, or lessons learned. Or, novel idea, tells a STORY! I admit I was caught by the Oprah hook, much to my regret. Readers, find a good book to spend your hard earned dollars on and give this author a wide berth until she really has something to say.

posted by Anonymous on December 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 268 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Slow and depressing...did not finish it.

    I was so excited to start this book after hearing about it, but I just couldn't believe how slow it moved. Sad and depressing and I didn't think it was particularly well-written. I did not make it to the end. I may try again, but I was disappointed to say the least.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    This sounds very interesting. Good luck with reviews Ronna Gage

    This sounds very interesting. Good luck with reviews
    Ronna Gage romance author

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    It started good but it was all over the place. Struggled through

    It started good but it was all over the place. Struggled through bits of it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Absolutely one of my favorites

    This is one of the best books I have ever read, and i am dissapointed to see others reviews. The story is told in a family's point of view as opposed to just a single character's view, and as unlikable or difficult one character is, you see thier view and understand them. Highly recommended. I am so glad i found this book, I didn't want it to end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    Disappointing, Oprah missed the mark on this one. Just a bunch

    Disappointing, Oprah missed the mark on this one. Just a bunch of chapters with no glue really holding it together except for a bit of Hattie. Seemed like a bunch of dry newspaper clippings with no beginning and an awful ending. Didn't find any substance to this book, no realy story. I thought because Oprah recommended it that it would have been better. I found it really quite boring.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Her words speak to my core being

    After reading this amazing novel, I had an epiphany of what sisterhood and brotherhood truly are - sharing to edify another - no familial ties required. Oprah and Ayana expressed sisterhood in sharing these words and realities with me. Ayana Mathis and Toni Morrison surely share a similar spirit. This book will linger in my heart. Thank you, Ayana!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Good read

    I purposely did not read reviews of this book before buying the book. I tend to enjoy books like this one and figured it was a bonus because Oprah had chosen the book. I thought the book was very good. I understood Hattie and I imagined what life could have been like for my ancestors who also migrated to Philadelphia from the south. You won't get a happy ending, but you get a very realistic story with a very realistic ending...the writing is vivid and beautiful as it paints the picture of mother's experience as the head of her family...
    Yu

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Very amateurish writing. Had to force myself thru it. Much like

    Very amateurish writing. Had to force myself thru it. Much like Oprahs highly recommended pot pie, this failed to deliver!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    I agree with the people that talk about jumping around.  I did n

    I agree with the people that talk about jumping around.  I did not have too much trouble with that, but like others have mentioned, it ended so suddenly.  My nook said that I had 30 pages left, and then, it was over.  The rest was discussion questions.  I would have liked to learn more about the characters and would have like to see some of their conflicts resolved.  But, that is just me!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Wonderful

    Loved this book! Hate it ended so soon.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    Good book

    Very good book only wish the writer would have told how.each child's life was either made better or how what happened to them. And nothing else was mentioned about the daughter hattie had by Lawrence. I really liked the book but was left with questions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    wow I love your book

    wow I love your book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Pass on it

    Read it with our book club. Did not care for the writing as it was awkward. The format of each chapter being on a different person and time was interesting and unique. Stories were depressing and most of the characters very strange. Would have liked just a few to be achievers or overcome their circumstances. What an odd collection. The think I liked the least is that there seemed to be no message or lesson here about life. What a sad glimpse into a family's life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2014

    I was very disappointed. The book was well written, but didn't f

    I was very disappointed. The book was well written, but didn't fill it's potential. Throughout the stories of her children, I actually failed to get the depth of the main character, which is what I thought this story was supposed to be all about.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Twelve tribes of hattie

    Not horrible but not great either

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Wynotme

    Loved this book from the beginning. Really had you going til the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2014

    Hated It. A total waste of time, energy and money.

    Hated It. A total waste of time, energy and money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Interesting work

    The trials and plights of one family through so many years. Hattie and her children show so many sides of one woman's love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Captivating.... Interesting look at a family and a walk through

    Captivating.... Interesting look at a family and a walk through history..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2013

    I was attracted to this book by Oprah's endorsement. What a let

    I was attracted to this book by Oprah's endorsement. What a let-down. It seemed to be a story of pathos! One sad story after another, with every character in the large family descending into one unhappy year after another. Come on!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 268 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14