Customer Reviews for

The Twelve Tribes of Hattie

Average Rating 3.5
( 267 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(92)

4 Star

(72)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

I don't always agree with Oprah, but this one is definitely a wi

I don't always agree with Oprah, but this one is definitely a winner. Grabs you from the beginning and doesn't lrt go.

posted by Hipster_dufas1 on December 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Drivel

I hate this kind of writing. There is no plot, no moral, no fully formed characters. There also are no redeeming features to this depressing drivel whatsoever. It reminds me of high school girls writing overly dramatic essays full of 'OMG!' That speaks to the depth of t...
I hate this kind of writing. There is no plot, no moral, no fully formed characters. There also are no redeeming features to this depressing drivel whatsoever. It reminds me of high school girls writing overly dramatic essays full of 'OMG!' That speaks to the depth of the novel adequately. Perhaps someday this author can find a true voice which speaks of joy, redemption, or lessons learned. Or, novel idea, tells a STORY! I admit I was caught by the Oprah hook, much to my regret. Readers, find a good book to spend your hard earned dollars on and give this author a wide berth until she really has something to say.

posted by Anonymous on December 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Drivel

    I hate this kind of writing. There is no plot, no moral, no fully formed characters. There also are no redeeming features to this depressing drivel whatsoever. It reminds me of high school girls writing overly dramatic essays full of 'OMG!' That speaks to the depth of the novel adequately. Perhaps someday this author can find a true voice which speaks of joy, redemption, or lessons learned. Or, novel idea, tells a STORY! I admit I was caught by the Oprah hook, much to my regret. Readers, find a good book to spend your hard earned dollars on and give this author a wide berth until she really has something to say.

    22 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    While this book had lots of promise, it failed to deliver. The b

    While this book had lots of promise, it failed to deliver. The book doesn't flow smoothly. I found myself guessing who the character was. with each new chapter I would have to assume that it was one of Hatties children talking. It would skip back and forth and really didn,t flow.


    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    Disappointing, Oprah missed the mark on this one. Just a bunch

    Disappointing, Oprah missed the mark on this one. Just a bunch of chapters with no glue really holding it together except for a bit of Hattie. Seemed like a bunch of dry newspaper clippings with no beginning and an awful ending. Didn't find any substance to this book, no realy story. I thought because Oprah recommended it that it would have been better. I found it really quite boring.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Pass on it

    Read it with our book club. Did not care for the writing as it was awkward. The format of each chapter being on a different person and time was interesting and unique. Stories were depressing and most of the characters very strange. Would have liked just a few to be achievers or overcome their circumstances. What an odd collection. The think I liked the least is that there seemed to be no message or lesson here about life. What a sad glimpse into a family's life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2014

    I was very disappointed. The book was well written, but didn't f

    I was very disappointed. The book was well written, but didn't fill it's potential. Throughout the stories of her children, I actually failed to get the depth of the main character, which is what I thought this story was supposed to be all about.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2013

    I was attracted to this book by Oprah's endorsement. What a let

    I was attracted to this book by Oprah's endorsement. What a let-down. It seemed to be a story of pathos! One sad story after another, with every character in the large family descending into one unhappy year after another. Come on!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    I did not like this book. I was waitng for the author to tie in

    I did not like this book. I was waitng for the author to tie in the chapters but it didn't happen. I did like or dislike ant of the characters. It was tough to finfish the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2013

    I would not recommend this book at all.  There was no story line

    I would not recommend this book at all.  There was no story line and no closure.  The first couple of chapters start out good but then you wonder where is this book going?  It does not go anywhere! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Not enjoyable to me

    The story line felt disjointed; I felt like I needed to keep going back to clarify. Couldn't one of the children be happy? Their mother suffered so much for their well-being. No one seemed to have reaped the benefit or her efforts. Disappointing read to me...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2013

    The first chapter was the best chapter of the book. I did not e

    The first chapter was the best chapter of the book. I did not enjoy this book at all and finished the book thinking, "That's it? What a waste of time!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    A lightweight read. The men in the novel are all worthless woma

    A lightweight read. The men in the novel are all worthless womanizers, gamblers or drunks or a combination. Hattie is joyless. Typical pick for Oprah--emphasizing the darkenss of life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2013

    Disappointed is the best way to describe my review of "The

    Disappointed is the best way to describe my review of "The Twelve Tribes of Hattie".  There are moments when the author had beautiful prose but the story itself was meaningless.  The only thing to take away from this novel is that despite the fact that this family migrated from the South to the North, to avoid the tumultuous violence, racism and oppression, they continued a life of self loathing and a bitter existence.  




    The story does not flow well and never tells the entire story of even one of the characters.  I don't know how the author came up with the title since Hattie only had eleven children.  This story is a mishmash of heartache.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    All Over the Place...

    This book was very fragmented. Character developement was sparse. The story did not flow well at all, thus making it a very boring read. I have too many questions about the characters in this book and I find that annoying!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    So so.....

    I should have paid more attention to the reviews on here. But, i bought the book hoping that i would enjoy it since Oprah gave it such rave reviews. I did not enjoy it at all. Hattie was not likeable, even though i tried to find the good in her. It jumped from one child to the next with no history to base any of the stories on. It was too disjointed to follow. I do not recommend this book. Maybe when it is in paperback and cheaper it would be alright. Dont expect a great story or you will be as let down as me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    I was looking for a good read and ususally like what Oprah recom

    I was looking for a good read and ususally like what Oprah recommends but not this time. This book, although well written was a complete downer. I would not recommend to anyone unless that what to fee miserable for a week.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    There is nothing beautiful about this book. It is an extremely

    There is nothing beautiful about this book. It is an extremely sad story about a family that repeats past mistakes and nobody seems to rise above and break fee.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Do not recommend

    DEPRESSING !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    No no no

    I did not like this book at all! The characters were not developed.. I found myself asking.. Who? With every chapter. I know that every story can't have a happy ending but the ending was bad. I know the author has the potential to write a wonderful book. But this is not the one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    OPRAH commentary

    I absolutely HATED the Oprah comments. It's fine if she has something to say but don't make me READ it. My opinion is mine. I didn't like the highlights. It distracted me from the reading.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2