Customer Reviews for

The Twisted Window

Average Rating 4.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    3 1/2 stars. Once I realised that this book was first published

    3 1/2 stars.

    Once I realised that this book was first published in 1988, everything fell into place. It just had that sort of feel about it. It's hard to explain quite why, but it lacked the subtelties of some modern Young Adult novels. This was not one that I felt crossed over for adult reading as many YA books do now. Although this version has been updated to allow for modern technology, such as mobile phones, they didn't seem to be an integral part of the characters' lives as they would be today. Also, Brad's use of a gun to get what he wanted, seemed a bit excessive.

    Tracy Lloyd is thirteen and has recently lost her actress mother who was murdered. Her father spends much of his time away on film sets and has sent Tracy to live with her aunt and uncle. This has necessitiated a change of town and schools and she has become a bit of a loner.
    Brad Johnson has come from another state. He spots her from a distance and feels drawn to her. He needs help to locate his baby sister who he suspects may be with his step-father in Winfield.
    Although Tracy has avoided contact with other boys, she goes against her better judgment and decides to help Brad. She is angry with her father for sending her away and sympathises with Brad in his anger against his step-father.
    There follow several twists and turns, some more believable than others. Not everything is as it initially seems.
    The ending was quite well done but did leave some issues unresolved.

    I loved the author's biography at the end, with photographs of her as she grew up and of her growing family. This was a lovely touch.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Blast from the Past

    Man, was this a blast from the past! I grew up in the 80's and Lois Duncan was a regular on the library shelves. Seemed like every where you looked, there was a new Lois Duncan mystery novel just waiting to be checked out.

    Unfortunately, I didn't enjoy this book as much as I did when I was younger. The first time I read it, it opened my eyes to what reading could be. It could be suspenseful, mysterious, surprising and you could fall in love with characters ... you could bond with them. But as an adult, the book just fell short for me. I didn't feel that same connection with the main character that I did all those many, many, MANY years ago. Maybe I'm just jaded now from the hundreds ... dare I say more like close to 1,000 or over?!? ... of books that I have read since first picking up The Twisted Window. Either way, I just couldn't connect this time.

    It's a well written book, no huge grammatical errors or lulls in the story. Everything ran smoothly, it just was a bit boring to me. That's it ... no shock and awe. I wanted the shock and awe. I wanted to be taken by surprise or gasp in horror as I flipped the pages. Now, before you say it's because I remembered the book, I didn't. Heck, I didn't remember anything about this book but that I blew through 3 copies when I was younger.

    Not much else to say ... the ending was a bit ... anticlimactic for me. It felt like things were just coming to a head and then fizzled out for me. Probably would be a good read for the young kids - around 11 or 12 ... they probably wouldn't be able to predict what was going to happen next and get a little more out of the book than I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2013

    There┬┐s a trend in YA fiction about unhealthy relationships and

    There’s a trend in YA fiction about unhealthy relationships and the characters are blind to how abnormal the attraction is between a girl and a boy.  When we’re first introduce to Tracy and the guy watching her, THE TWISTED WINDOW seems to follow that trend.  Then the book switches to his point of view and he exhibits all signs of a sociopath.

    Run.  Tracy.  Run.

    Tracy doesn’t run, but she does have some hesitation about getting to know him.  He seems to know too much about her. He shows up at her house unannounced, follows her in the street, and obsesses over getting her to do what he wants.  He convinces her and us in his POV that he’s not a completely bad guy.

    But soon enough, I wanted to scream at her and tell her over and over again to get away from him.  There are clues everywhere, minuet yet chilling, that what Tracy thinks is happening is something entirely different.

    The book twists, turns, and drives the plot into places so cleverly hidden that you don’t know what’s going on until it happens.  With unreliable narration, complex characters that have their own lives off-screen, and parents that actively influence the plot and both Tracy and Brad’s decisions, this is one mystery both you and Tracy will figure out too late.  I’m not a fan of mysteries, but I am a fan of Lois Duncan now. (4 1/2 stars)
     
    (I received a copy of this book from the publisher/Netgalley in exchange for my honest review.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Intense!

    Lois Duncan delivers a great Young Adult thriller with just the right amount of creepy-woo-woo factor, from the very start when a new boy at school “chooses” a special girl for reasons unknown. So far, I’m there in the story, ready to go! But from that point, as Brad reveals his “mission” to Tracy Lloyd, a teen dissatisfied with her current life, the two of them jump headfirst into danger and intrigue as Tracy decided to help Brad get his baby sister back from the man who took her. But what has Tracy really gotten herself into? Are things as they seem? <b>The Twisted Window</b> is a raw picture of how distorted lives can become in the blink of an eye.
    Sometimes, a thriller written for a younger audience fails to dig deep enough into the story to really give the reader a satisfying feel at the end of the book. I loved the idea and the main thrust, but the delivery was just shy of keeping me in a vise grip until the end. The action seemed to skip a little in the fleshing out department with too many gaps and too much rushing blinding into the jaws of danger by Tracy.

    A review copy was provided by NetGalley and Open Road Media in exchange for my honest review of this re-released YA Thriller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    The twisted window by Lois Duncan Faced with a challenge┬┐. This

    The twisted window by Lois Duncan
    Faced with a challenge…. This is an interesting book you are left with more questions than answers as you see the lives of these two young teenage children. Brad is lost in a new town, looking for help with his plan. He has lost his kid sister, in his grief he believes that she has been kidnapped by her father, his stepfather. He does not know how to solve the problem on his own. He found her in a local high school, with his good looks, and charm. He was able to approach her, and ask her for help. But will she be willing to help him, or is there something she does not know of the story. Tracy is lost, abandoned and alone she has been shipped off to her aunt’s house after her mother’s murder. Her father is far away and seems to have little interest. She wants to rebel against the world, and change her life. Jamie is Brad’s best friend. She knows everything about him, does she have the ability to learn what he is thinking and save him from himself. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    :) Lois Duncan!! :)

    I loved this book!!! Amazing plot and awesome twist ending. I love Lois Duncan her books are amazing and she always has amazing plots and endings :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Overall I give it a 3.4 out of 5 Plot (3/5): When I first read

    Overall I give it a 3.4 out of 5

    Plot (3/5):

    When I first read the summary, as I was browsing NetGalley, it seemed pretty interesting. I mean obviously right? I did request it. And it wasn't horrible. I made it through and it kept my attention enough. But it wasn't exactly great either. I think the idea behind the story was pretty good, it just could have been executed much better. It wasn't until after I had finished and was pulling stuff up to get ready to post this review, did I see on Goodreads that this was originally published back in 1987...it explains a lot.

    Characters (2/5):

    Though there were some likable aspects to them, in a lot of ways these characters were so unrealistic. Even if we consider them from a point of it being 15 years ago.

    First of all Brad is just a nut job. I won't get into it because you really can't without revealing plot twists and such. Just trust me...the boy needs an extended vacation in a room with padded walls. I mean, yeah, he's got things that have happened in his life to lead him to the point of coo-coo, but seriously someone should have intervened a while ago. And Tracy? She's not exactly a golden girl either. The whole &quot;then one day&quot; that Brad confides in Tracy is like hardly 24 hours after semi-stalking her. And the girl just agrees to go along with helping him?? Really??? But that's not the worst thing. She runs off with him, knowing he has a gun and only knowing him for like a week tops and even then they'd talked 3 times during that period. I swear I felt like I was reading a manual on how to get yourself chopped up into a million pieces instead of a YA suspense novel. Sheesh!

    Originality (5/5):

    I will give it respect for being original. Like I said the idea is good, just poorly executed.

    Ending (4/5):

    There's a pretty good twisting &quot;whoa, no way!&quot; type of moment at the end so I can't get into much detail. It did end, somewhat, leaving things a bit unanswered. It could have gone on at least one more chapter maybe to let you know what happened to everyone. Or even an epilogue maybe. But in the grand scheme of things it wasn't really that vital to the book I suppose. It's just one of those &quot;it would've been nice&quot; things.

    Overall Satisfaction (3/5):

    There was a lot of awkward dialogue and at times it was really stiff and formal. Teenagers, at least American teenagers don't normally go around saying &quot;mustn't&quot; and it was used at one point. Along with the fact that these days contractions are used a lot more often; won't, didn't, can't etc. Knowing now though that this book is really 15 years old, I guess maybe that could explain a some of the stiffness and formality. Maybe, maybe not. But that wasn't the only thing that lessened my enjoyment, I just really had a hard time believing things would have happened the way they did. Am I sorry I read it? No, not really. It had its moments and it was an okay read. However it didn't wow me by far and I wouldn't sit through it again. I guess I'll leave you with take your chances.
    (less)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Anon.

    It was very predictable, but overall good...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    A Five Star Read!!

    You will like this book if you love suspense and unexpected endings! I have to say this is my favorite out of all Lois Duncan's books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    Awesome!!

    Awesome!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Wonderful Read

    Duncan is an absolutely amazing writer, and that is proven with the Twisted Window. This book is brilliant, a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    5

    love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    BRAD SCARES ME!!!!

    BRAD IS A FRICKIN PHYSCO!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    pretty good!!!!!!

    Its pretty good, I found it intresting and partially thrilling. Everybody who reads this should take my advice and read it, I mean you might like itn and if you don't so what its a win-win situation I mean your not losing something your gaining something. There were times when I got lost or confused but I still liked it. I mean once I started reading I couldn't stop!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2008

    An Awesome Book Twisted With Mystery

    This book is about a girl named Tracy Lloyd who meets a boy named Brad who says his sister was kidnapped by his stepfather. Then after they actaully snatch away the little girl Tracy finds out the whole truth. This book was great with a really good ending. You should defintelly read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2008

    An Outstanding, Crazy, Twisted Book

    This book was wonderful, it was unlike anything I had read before. It was defianately a twisted book but I totally reccomend reading it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2008

    Good

    This was a good book. It really proves to always expect the unexpecting. When I read some of the reviews that it was just ok I got worried. Thought'Should I not read this?' Then I decided I should give it a chance. And I liked it. Remember everyone has different opinons(sp?) so don't rely on us reviewers-but we are usful. I enjoyed this, others don't. I say just give it a chance. Sort of like that one weird thing your mom cooks and you never try it. Taste it! You may LOVE it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2007

    book lover

    I am a huge fan of her books, but was really disappointed with this on. It just didn't seem like it could live up to her other works. It was okay, but not something I would recommend others to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2007

    It was Okay

    The book was a good read but not really and someone said they didnt know Brad had curly hair. It was in the first sentence of the whole book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2007

    Great Book!

    I love all of Lois Duncan's books! This one was really good. I liked the twists and turns in the book. It keeps yyou guessing! However, it got a little slow in some parts, but it was still great. i wouldn't classify it as a thriller, but I would DEFINITELY say it was a good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3