Customer Reviews for

The Tycoon and the Texan

Average Rating 3
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Pure Enjoyment! Texas Sass and Class! I loved the premise of thi

Pure Enjoyment! Texas Sass and Class! I loved the premise of this story. A rich tycoon who gets taken down a notch by a savvy Texas secretary who appears to be nothing more than a girl working for a living. Their lively banter sparkles throughout the book and the sparks...
Pure Enjoyment! Texas Sass and Class! I loved the premise of this story. A rich tycoon who gets taken down a notch by a savvy Texas secretary who appears to be nothing more than a girl working for a living. Their lively banter sparkles throughout the book and the sparks ignite a sizzling romance.Ms. Miranda gets them together on the first page and lets the fun begin with a charity auction in which the tycoon wins the secretary. Turns out the tycoon has had a thing for her for a while but never acted on it. He's never thought they had much in common and they definitely didn't travel in the same circles. But when the rather "plain" woman turns into a ravishing beauty at the auction he sees her in a completely different light. This is a fun, entertaining read that is perfect for the beach or for moments when you simply want to unwind from a busy day. This first full length attempt by Ms. Miranda hits a home run. I look forward to other releases by her.

posted by LBroday on February 5, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Pass this book over

It's unfortunate that I spent money to read this. Writing, characters, and plot left much to be desired. At its best, the book was cringe-worthy and campy; at its worst, it was melodramatic and flat. If you're looking for a light, fun read, I'd highly suggest passing on...
It's unfortunate that I spent money to read this. Writing, characters, and plot left much to be desired. At its best, the book was cringe-worthy and campy; at its worst, it was melodramatic and flat. If you're looking for a light, fun read, I'd highly suggest passing on this book.

posted by Anonymous on November 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Pass this book over

    It's unfortunate that I spent money to read this. Writing, characters, and plot left much to be desired. At its best, the book was cringe-worthy and campy; at its worst, it was melodramatic and flat. If you're looking for a light, fun read, I'd highly suggest passing on this book.

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    please can we have a few free Friday books that have more histor

    please can we have a few free Friday books that have more history, non fiction, thrillers, it is getting very boring to get the romance or kids books.

    14 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    too many cliches

    the author's bio says she's a native Texan but I can't believe people talk the way she wrote her characters--it was one cliche after another. it sounded like a Yankee's bad idea of what they thought someone from the South would say. also, the plot was all over the place with no warning like when they were driving along and she supposedly sees a woman who turns out to be a ghost. several pages are devoted to this with no apparent purpose because it is dropped later. this one is being deleted from my library.

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    200 PAGES OF CRAP

    This book was very, very bad. 200 pages. So boring, I skipped ahead and read the ending, so I could tell myself, I finished it. Very poorly conceived. Same ole, same ole. Disagreeable characters. Adult themes. A truely, rotten romance.

    AD

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Ridiculously incoherent

    If you are going to pretend to attempt a plot, don't skip through every. single. scene. At least flesh out one full conversation without distrating the reader every two seconds with pointless babble. And I thought Gina Schowalter was the worst one out there...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Bad

    Terrible writing. Would have been a fairly good story if all the crapoy slang had been left out. Hard to read all the "derns" throughout. Plot not bad. All in all happy it was free

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Terrible

    Boring. Skipped a good deal because it was so dry. Usually like romances, but this one was just too stupid to be believed. Totally unbelivable plot line. Would not recommend this at all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Book

    Terrible!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Waste

    Like the last review, I skipped through just to say I finished. Horrible

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    Glad it was free

    Main character was annoying to say the least. I only finished the book becausei hav a compulsion that makes me finish the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Too much

    Didn't enjoy this one at all to much in bedroom not enough of story. was disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Don't waste your time

    This novel had a poor plot, poor character development, inconsistencies and many passages/events that made no sense at all. Many situations were too contrived to create that "romantic moment" and way too many silly misunderstandings. I probably won't read this author again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    Empty and Uninteresting

    The story is shallow and uninteresting. It seems the author wrote the story around the sex.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Two words

    Boring and drawn out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Don't bother

    This book is just trash. Not worth it even for free.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Ang ganda Sobra!!!!! ay sus!!!!

    Ang ganda Sobra!!!!! ay sus!!!!

    0 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1