Customer Reviews for

The Ultimate Collection

Average Rating 4.5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    TRULY IS THE ULTIMATE COLLECTION

    This is definitely the ultimate collection of MJ!! It has all of his greatest hits including new ones like "We've Had Enough" and "Scared of the Moon". Scared of the Moon is a really good song. It was slow but beautiful. He even put in demo versions of P.Y.T. and Sunset Driver plus more! It even has a DVD of MJ in concert in Romania. I recommened everyone to buy this collection. Trust me....IT IS AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    a must have (especially for michael jackson fans)

    once i received Michael Jackson Ultimate Collection i couldnt wait to play it. now i have trouble stopping. i know every song that is enclosed in this collection. everything from "I Want You Back" (1969) when he was with his brothers as The Jackson 5 to the last song "We've Had Enough". along with the DVD its a total 4 hrs 22 mns of music from the King Of Pop. enclosed are over 50 songs & 8 unreleased demos which later end up being known (the demos sound totally different from those that ones more familiar with). when my brother saw my collection he began askin me info as to where did i get it from & the price. i had trouble getting the booklet that comes with this outta his hands. the 5th disc (dvd) is 16 songs of his live concert in buchacrest while on his dangerous tour. this is defintely 1 set that is truly a collection & worth adding to those of michael u may already have.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Take a breath taking journey through some of the best music ever made!

    There is not much to say that hasn't been said here and throughout other reviews... Michael Jackson is the most phenominal entertainer of our time! His songs will always be with us because they are timeless classics! Michael Jackson's real gift is that he can appeal to almost everyone! This five cd set is a real find, whether you are young or just young at heart, you will find something for yourself here. Although I must agree that if you are a fan already you will have most of these songs, but there are added pieces here that shouldn't be missed! I myself am a big fan of demos... because I like to see how an artist develops their work. Moreover, you have all the hits here in one collection! When going through a collection as accomplished as this one, it is hard to have one favorite song, but I have to say "Scared of the Moon" is my new favorite! A truly beautiful song! I encourage everyone to purchase this collection of songs, because it absolutely is the Ultimate Collection!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AMAZING!! INCREDIBLE!! BUY IT!!

    This is by far Michael's best (and only) CD + DVD package. With 4 CD's and 1 DVD, it's a huge package. But don't worry, you'll get more than your money's worth! There's a bunch of new unreleased songs, plus 1 really great new song called "We've Had Enough". Then you get an amazing new DVD of Michael performing live in concert at the 1992 "Dangerous" Tour in Bucharest, Romania. It's so amazing! He performs all his best songs at the time:"Thriller", "Black Or White", "Beat It", "Rock With You", "Don't Stop 'Til You Get Enough", "Bad", "The Way You Make Me Feel", "Man In The Mirror", and more! This would be a really great present for any family members who are Michael Jackson fans **hint hint** ""wink wink"".

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BUY! ALL! OF! MICHAEL! JACKSON'S! ALBUMS!

    Hey everbody, you've got to buy this box set. Not only does it have previously unreleased material, but it has 3 new songs Michael recorded just this year 2004, one of them being a duet with Janet Jackson called "We've Had Enough". Plus it has a live DVD from the "Dangerous" Tour and a 64-page booklet including an essay from Nelson George and tons of pictures of Michael Jackson and stuff from his archives. You've got to buy this-it's got everything!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    MUST HAVE FOR ANY/ALL MJ FANS! YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED - I PROMISE!

    I am a 46 year old female who has loved Michael Jackson all of my life!
    The word "ICON" does not do Michael Jackson justice! MJ is and will always be remembered and loved for his compassion, love of life, love of the earth and nature, and his INNOCENT love of children and human kind!!!
    The UNIVERSE has lost a GREAT soul and TRUE ONE OF A KIND HUMAN BEING!!!

    When I first saw this ULTIMATE COLLECTION (and believe me it is!) I just had to have it! If you buy no other boxed collection - THIS IS THE ONE TO HAVE! There are 4 cd's, & 1 DVD of Michael's DANGEROUS TOUR! - that alone is worth it to have a keepsake and to see Michael in concert is unbelieveable!!!! First of all, when you get this - once you open it (it's a tri-fold heavy duty binding (like a photo album), you see 2 cd's - then you open up the other section & you see the booklet in the center with MJ's Moonwalk pose - with his glove, black sequin jacket & fedora - behind the booklet is cd 3 - to the right is the cd4 & 1 DVD)! I am pleasantly pleased! I tell you, I would've EXPECTED to pay MORE money for such an awesome collection!

    The cd's have most of MJ's greatest hits, plus some Jackson 5 hits, never before heard demos of songs....I got chills just hearing Michael sing all of the fans favorites! This would be a wonderful Christmas present for anyone! That's why I bought this, as a present to myself! I bought this about mid-September after Michael's untimely passing....this even has a 50 page booklet with a timeline of Michael's life, music accomplishments with dates and pictures! I smiled, cried, and was in awe as I watched him onstage (in the DVD)!

    I hope that my review has helped you to decide TO BUY THIS NOW!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    MOVING!!

    I loved Michael Jackson; I mean who doesn't, but this Ultimate Collection was what I expected and more. I got demo songs that I'd never even heard; my kids loved watching him on stage. His performance was moving and awe inspiring. If you love his music and loved to warch him perform then this collection is for you. Can't wait to see the "This Is It" movie and I know everyone will be preordering their copies once it's released!! EXCELLENT!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful

    I enjoyed the collection, especially bonus tracks and concert. For seasoned MJ fans it may not fill the void but it is a great introduction for new fans.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    THE GREATEST

    This is the best CD set I have ever purchased. You will truely get the best of Michael Jackson with his music and long time career. The concert shown on the DVD is amazing. I just wish I was in that crowd of thousands of people to see him perform. AMAZING man and performer. After watching the DVD I felt I was actually at the concert watching Michael Perform. This is a must cd/dvd set for anyone! I enjoyed it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    If you own anything Michael Jackson.... YOU NEED TO ADD THIS TO YOUR COLLECTION!!!

    This CD/DVD collection being called the "Ultimate Collection" is perfect. This 4 CD and 1 DVD package is something that everyone should own that likes any Michael Jackson songs. The fact that there are some songs on here that have never been released and you have the performance from Bucharest. This is just a really good collection to have.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Always the best

    I really liked 3 of the 4 CDs included in this set and the 5th is an actual DVD of a Michael Jackson concert that is two hours long which is great. With this box set, you the best of both worlds, him in music and in concert. One of the 4 CDs had songs that I had never heard before so I could not identify with them as much as the MJ hits that I knew growing up with him. This was well worth the money to have a collection of so many MJ hits. I listen to this almost every day on my way to work. and it gets my day off to a great start.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    B & N, wake up!

    It's great to have the first four discs but the DVD is of the Bucharest Concert which I already bought separately. B & N, you need to say that in your notes, especially since my reason for buying this particular item was for the live concert DVD. You neglected to say WHICH live concert it was. So, if anyone else wants to buy this for the concert, don't. Look up the Bucharest Concert and you can buy that DVD alone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Quite simply stunning!

    Although I have most of the tracks aready on various MJ original albums and complilations, this is by far the most useful and comprehensive compilation and as such is a 'must have' for fans. The Jackson 5/Jacksons tracks, the extensive bonus tracks and the exceptional 'Live in Bucharest' video, make this the best value MJ product I own. I loved every minute of it - you follow the progression from child star to 70s disco kings to 100% musical icon, with nothing missing (in my opinion) - except the sad knowledge that there will be no more new music.... Love you, MJ - RIP!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    This is very good. I love the concert

    Michael Jackson is and will always be my favorite artist.
    He is the King of Pop and the greatest entertainer that has ever lived.
    You will enjoy every bit of this. I suggest that you buy it and enjoy.
    His music and dance style is timelist.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    If you love Michael, you will love this!!

    Even if you are not a Michael Jackson die hard fan, this collection is great. If you can appreciate good music, I recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the best Collections I ever brought!

    The Ultimate Collection is a great thing to buy, especially if you're a MJ fan. Great songs, excellent demos. Michael Jackson never lets you down when he makes his creations. I listen to the collection 24/7 non-stop on my phone. Love it so much. R.I.P. MJ thank you for all the music and perfomance you have brought to the world. Always Channell

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome

    This is really a must for any MJ fan. I'm always searching for rare and unheard music and items of MJ. There is so much this has to offer. The best is the rare music that can be found in no other album. It's packaged well and the quality is great. You won't be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    emotionally releasing

    I was so sad about michael's passing,but I felt so much better hearing and seeing him on this cd/dvd set.It had enough of his music on it to fulfill me in mourning of him. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A good addition to your collection

    If you are a fan this is a great collection to remember his music and his life. I remember the oldies from my childhood.
    If you are not a fan this is still a great historical record of a music icon. He was a person of great musical ability who over came tremendous challenges in his life to become note worthy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Michael Jackson Collection

    This collection is great!!! My favorite disc is #2, with all my favorites, "Thriller" included. Great Buy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3