BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Ultimate Soup Bible

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2008

    A year's worth of soups!!

    I picked up the gem for EIGHT dollars and change from the bargain book bin and I LOVE it! I'm a big time soup lover and can't get over how many delicious recipes contained in the tome. I'm planning on going back to the book store to buy another one as a gift or my mother!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2008

    Every soup you can think of, plus more!

    I received this book as a gift and so far am loving it. Not only are the recipes well explained and delicious to boot, but they're also illustrated in full color. For such a low price I'd recommend you buy one for yourself and for a friend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    The Soup Bible

    I spotted it one day while at Barnes & Noble and whispered my desire to get it to my Husband. He later surprised me with the book. It is fantastic! I am a soup lover and regularly make the usual home-made chicken soup, Emeril's meat ball soup, chili, beef with vegetable. This book, however, had my full attention from the get go. It has introduced me to new forms of making soups, enabled me to discover new ways to use everyday fruits and vegetables and motivated me to try new vegetables like parsnips, butternut squash, turnips, etc. in soups. So far I have sampled 3 new recipes and they were all delightful! Talk about "playing with my food". Thank you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    The title says it all: Soup Bible

    Great book, would buy it again anytime for me or any friend of mine

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    "Ultimate" is no joke

    I love to make soup and this is my go-to recipe book. The recipes are easy, there are "millions" of them, and best of all every single one comes with a photo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Soup Bible is an excellent collection for your kitchen library.

    The recipes are really easy to read and understand. The photos are mouth watering! Purchase a copy for yourself and you will see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Wonderful for Real Cooks

    I adore making soups even in the summer; this book is fabulous. A must have for a real cook. I adore it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    The Ultimate Soup Bible

    A colorful, beautifully-pictured Soup recipe book--great for gift giving or your own recipe library. Most soups have practical, easily sought out ingredients.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    Best Soup Cookbook Ever!

    Through the generosity of a chef at Santropol Restaurant in Montreal, I obtained the name of this cookbook after asking for a delicious soup recipe I had enjoyed at their restaurant in The Plateau near McGill University. It has great photos of each soup, clear directions, healthy and delicious easy-to-follow recipes. I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2007

    Best Soup Book Ever!!

    The 'Soup Nazi' has nothing on this book! This is, by far, one of my most cherished cookbooks. An amazing array of recipes broken down into easy to navigate categories, like, 'Pasta Soups', 'Fish Soups' Hot & Spicy Soups', etc. Pictures are plentiful and very attractive. I have given it as a gift to several friends and always get asked for the recipes for the soups I serve when entertaining. You won't be disappointed....buy two, I promise you'll have an occasion to give one away!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2007

    Outstanding!

    The Ultimate Soup Bible, is an outstanding cookbook that is both easy to follow and the recipes are fantastic! Get your copy today!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2007

    My favorite cookbook

    I received this book as a gift. It is by far my favorite cookbook. I use it almost weekly and have also given it as gifts to friends and family. The book is full of colorful pictures and easy to follow recipes that taste delicious. You won't be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2007

    Great Bargain - Great Book

    I believe I have given away around 10 copies of this book. I will make a soup from the book, I will get complements, and then I will go to my stockpile and give a few more copies away. (Full disclosure - it often makes it into the store bargain bin where I will buy all copies at $6 each). It is a definitive soup cookbook with a wealth of pictures and great flavors. I never made soup from scratch until I got this book - now I feel like an expert. Buy this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2006

    Fabulous variety

    I love soup all year 'round. And here's the perfect launching pad. This huge volume has hundreds of soup receipes with yummy pictures, and covers everything from cold soups to veggies to meats to one pot meals to fancy soups for entertaining. I'm an intuitive cook and I don't follow directions well, but I do find that these recipes are great for guidance. Some of the instructions are a bit hard to follow (especially when there are 2 components to the dish), but one can figure it all out. Right now, the Roasted Garlic and Butternut Squash soup is simmering on the stove. The salsa is chilling in the fridge and dinner is just about ready! A great bargain!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2