Customer Reviews for

The Ultimate Weight Solution Food Guide

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    More of the same old stuff!!!

    Another of those books that will probably be thrown away!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2007

    confused

    im confused, for the people on here that say its a fad diet, this isnt a diet its a lifestyle change. im a fan of body for life myself but dr phil has the same principles. if you want to lose 10-20 pounds for a vacation or reunion then go on a diet but if you want to get in shape and stay there you exercise and change your eating habits permantly. you cant give up fatty and sweet foods, lose the weight, than start eating them again and get mad cause it all came back. if you want to look and feel great it takes work all the time not for a month and then your done

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2005

    NOT the same ol' diet

    If you lose 20 lbs fast and then gain it back it's because you didn't change your LIFESTYLE. This is a book for a fast weight loss right now. After you have lost that first 20 lbs., then I would recommend reading his Ultimate Weight Solution book to keep you going slowly for the rest of your life. The reason people gain it back is because they lose 20 get excited and start thinking they can eat pizza again... You have to make a life change and his 2 books do it for sure!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2004

    Same ol' diet

    Although Dr. Phil says its not a fad diet, it is...you are cutting out certain things and once you eat them again the weight comes back on. I lost 20 lbs in a matter of a month and gained it all back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2004

    Nice Reference Book and Plan Summary

    This is a useful reference book for the diet because it has a great summary of the plan and because it is filled with a lot of nutritional information about different foods. Definite recommendation for people on the diet plan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2004

    Information-packed and worthwhile

    I have struggled with being overweight for the last 20 years. I got a few pointers here that have more than paid for my investment in this weight loss guide. Dr. Phil dispenses great advice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2004

    Lovin' It!!!!

    I have a 10 month old son, and I have lost all of the 50 pounds I gained.I didn't buy the book to learn how to lose weight. I bought it so I could learn how to eat healthy and maintain a healthy lifestyle.I loved it and I would recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2004

    EXCEPTIONAL Food Guide w/Great Info and Plan!!

    This is an exceptional diet guide in general and especially in addition to Dr. Phil's book. He briefly but clearly reviews his excellent 7 keys to losing weight, includes a 3 stage plan, has lists of foods to eat, menus, and then a big list of nutritional information for lots of items (cal, prot, carbs, fats/sat.fats, fiber, sugar, sodium). There is a lot of great information in this guide! Overall, Dr. Phil's plan is different because he offers pointers and psychological helpers to the reader. His diet is also a more well-rounded program of good quality foods (lower sugar, lower sat fats, better carbs...) and does, especially at first, have tight calorie control. The latter stages of his diet and maintenance parts allow more quantity of good foods, but sensibility is always key. GREAT! Also, to help with any diet, I strongly recommend 'Effortless Wellbeing' by Evan Finer, because it helps to make me feel better all of the time, makes me more focused and strong. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! EXCELLENT!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2003

    Great companion to book

    Great companion to a great diet book. This book not only provides great diet information, but also provides practical steps to make sticking to the diet more realistic. This book compliments the seven keys to healthy eating by serving as a quick, easy reference guide, providing information on counting calories for high- and low-response cost foods, controlling portion sizes, identifying high-response cost and high-yield foods, and specific menu planning for meals and snacks. Dr. Phil says we all have a decision to make when it comes to our diets. He's right, but knowing we have a choice doesn't make it any easier to choose wisely. As I mentioned, one aspect of this book that I really like is that it not only provides a diet, but information on what's required to stick to it. Having said that, I still would like more information on how to apply what's learned and make it last. I'm convinced that the only way to stick to any diet is to make healthy eating part of your lifestyle by making it a habit This book is a wealth of great information, but it could use more practical advice on sticking to these principles of healthy eating. My fitness trainer gave me a book entitled 'The Power of Habit.' It provides an easy-to-implement, step-by-step process for making healthy eating a permanent, automatic habit. It teaches you how to take these principles for healthy eating and make them part of your lifestyle. 'The Ultimate Weight Solution' and 'The Ultimate Weight Solution Food Guide' provide 'what to do' and 'why', 'The Power of Habit' gives you a way to 'stick to it'. I agree with one of the reviews for 'The Ultimate Weight Solution: 'Dr. Phil's plan requires discipline and hard work.' Any healthy diet does. What the book and the food guide could use more of is advice on how to stick to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2003

    Food Guide of All Food Guides!!

    This makes Dr. Phil's Ultimate Weight Solution a no-fail solution. Even though UWS gives guidelines, this book gives everything you could ever want to know about what to eat and not to eat. It even includes a jump-start program to let you see results early so you will stick with it! This is no-nonsense information in a diet that you could live with forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2003

    Great book!

    This book gave me a lot of insight into the behaviors that cause me to overeat. Unlike other weight loss books, it does not push a particular diet. This book was about behavior modification, and it really made a difference in my life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1