Customer Reviews for

The Umbrella Academy, Volume 2: Dallas

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Comic Book Must Have!!

    Okay well i am a big fan of Gerard Way. I love his music so when i found out he wrote a comic book i just had to get it. I got The Umbrella Academy volume one: Apocalypse Suite and absolutly loved it, so I decided to get Dallas. When i started reading Dallas i just couldn't stop. I'm thirteen and I don't know a whole lot about comic books but I know when I read a good one. I can't belive that The Umbrella Academy is going to be a movie soon and i can't wait to read Hotel Oblivian! If you're a comic book fan then you should totally get this because you know it's a great comic book when Grant Morrison likes it.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    loved it!

    the umbrella academy is a great comic series. its dark humor, witty lines and twisted plot captures your imagination and holds your attention all the way to the end. not to mention, the images are amazing. i highly recommend this series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Review for The Umbrella Academy: Dallas

    Loved the second installment in the Umbrella Academy series, the plotline is great, the characters are well...charasmatic, and the illustrations are exquisite!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Loved it! Amazing buy!

    I really loved this Umbrella Academy: Dallas. The artwork, once again, is stunning. I would even say it's better than the first. The plot is fun, like before, with all its twists and turns. and even when you think it's over, another thing just pops up. Overall it was a great read and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a new comic series that features a creative plot and a beautiful and fresh drawing style.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Umbrella Academy: Dallas  Story by Gerard Way  Art by Gabrie

    The Umbrella Academy: Dallas 
    Story by Gerard Way 
    Art by Gabriel Ba 
    Volume 02 Dallas 
    Cover Art by Tony Ong 
    Trade Paperback 
    192 pages 
    Publisher: Dark Horse Comics; First Edition 
    Publication Date: September 16, 2009 
    ISBN-13: 978-1595823458

         The Umbrella Academy: Dallas is a follow-up to Apocalypse Suite and is every bit as good as the introductory story. The compelling evil-doers in Dallas are Hazel and Cha-Cha two psychotic, time-travelling serial killers in oversized cartoon masks who capture The Séance and kill him in an attempt to convince Number Five to return to 1963 to finish The Kennedy Assassination. The young and old Number Five (paradox be damned) meet in the Dallas Book Depository where everything ends (although convoluted) as it should.

         Plot devices include Viet Cong Vampires, a time machine disguised as an ambulance, death and resurrection, a quick thinking waitress, dismemberment, and God as the Marlboro Man. Oh, and the world ends in nuclear detonation… But that’s another story.
         
         As I mentioned, the Umbrella Academy is a strange and beautiful graphic novel so entertaining you’ll beg for more.

    5 out of 5 stars

         File with: Graphic novels, unique powers and characters, My Chemical Romance, Grant Morrison, Doom Patrol, Pat McEwon, Zombieworld: Champion of the Worm, Edvin Biukovic, Grendel Tales, superheroes, aliens, science fiction, the apocalypse, time travel, and comics.

    The Alternative 
    Southeast Wisconsin

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    Amazing

    This comic completely blew me away. I fell in love with all the cuaracters and actually felt the emotions of each one. Darker than the previous UA comic, it takes you on many twists and turns and delves you deeper into the life of the children, especially #5. I personally love the comic, and when Gerard paired it with his interest in the Kennedy Assasination, I was completely hooked. Gerard and Gabriel do a brilliant job together, and whether you like MCR or Gerard or not, you need to check out this comic. It's very easily my favorite, and the story paired with the fantastic artwork is great. They even include notes and some of Gerard's planning and sketches at the end for those that are interested. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting But Not As Good As "Apocalypse Suite"

    I loved 'The Umbrella Academy: The Apocalypse Suite' but didn't think this one was as good. 'The Umbrella Academy: Dallas' is quirky with a lot of clever ideas and interesting characters but it sometimes feels a little unfocused and by the end, a little unsatisfying. That's not to say that I didn't enjoy it, but it wasn't as good as the first volume. Gabriel Ba's artwork is absolutely wonderful, though, and I still think the book is worth a look.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Loved them all!

    Great storyline with great artwork. Definitely worth the money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Highly recommended

    This comic is totally awesome if you like weird every page. If you haven't read the first volume you will be lost.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1