Customer Reviews for

The Uncommon Appeal of Clouds (Isabel Dalhousie Series #9)

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

One more success!

I LOVE this series by McCall-Smith. He has a knack of developing a very believable main character with great insight and plenty of wisdom to impart. I love the situation of Isabel who has to shuffle a career, marriage to a younger man and motherhood. Throw in a crazy ni...
I LOVE this series by McCall-Smith. He has a knack of developing a very believable main character with great insight and plenty of wisdom to impart. I love the situation of Isabel who has to shuffle a career, marriage to a younger man and motherhood. Throw in a crazy niece and an eccentric housekeeper with a lot of really bizarre situations in the mix, and McCall -Smith captivates us with a novel of intrigue and common sense. Since I have now visited Edinburgh, I feel like I can relate to Isabel and her world. The author's word pictures are true to life when it comes to Scotland.

posted by SnowyOwl09 on March 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

New Book Will Please Isabel Dalhousie Fans

Isabel Dalhousie is my least favorite Alexander McCall Smith heroes--she is a bit too aware of her own intellectual and ethical superiority, and is annoyingly self-contained--but this latest book meets all the criteria for her fans. There is a vague mystery, wonderfull...
Isabel Dalhousie is my least favorite Alexander McCall Smith heroes--she is a bit too aware of her own intellectual and ethical superiority, and is annoyingly self-contained--but this latest book meets all the criteria for her fans. There is a vague mystery, wonderfully descriptive scenes of Edinburgh and Scotland, an interesting depiction of the Scottish gentry, and lots of philosophical pondering.

posted by ESSAnglophile on January 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 11, 2013

    One more success!

    I LOVE this series by McCall-Smith. He has a knack of developing a very believable main character with great insight and plenty of wisdom to impart. I love the situation of Isabel who has to shuffle a career, marriage to a younger man and motherhood. Throw in a crazy niece and an eccentric housekeeper with a lot of really bizarre situations in the mix, and McCall -Smith captivates us with a novel of intrigue and common sense. Since I have now visited Edinburgh, I feel like I can relate to Isabel and her world. The author's word pictures are true to life when it comes to Scotland.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    New Book Will Please Isabel Dalhousie Fans

    Isabel Dalhousie is my least favorite Alexander McCall Smith heroes--she is a bit too aware of her own intellectual and ethical superiority, and is annoyingly self-contained--but this latest book meets all the criteria for her fans. There is a vague mystery, wonderfully descriptive scenes of Edinburgh and Scotland, an interesting depiction of the Scottish gentry, and lots of philosophical pondering.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2014

    Delightful, easy read.

    I do recommend that if you have not read this series, you start with the first one., "The Sunday Philosophy Club." These are just really interesting character studies and a joy to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Skycloud

    Yep. Cam is at tiger res2 and im skycloud the mom.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A "Must Read."

    If you are a fan of the Isabel Dalhousie series, you will enjoy #9. I am a big fan of Alexander McCall Smith so I love everything he writes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    The warriors den.

    This is the warriors den. It's warm in leaf-bare and cool in late new-leaf. There are plenty of nests.





    ~•|Swiftstar|•~

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    thoughtful, comfy read.

    Pull up a chair, sip hot chocolate, read and smile. I love this whole series and this is the perfect addition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Mystery solved by Dalhousie

    Enjoyed another love-mystery by classy Isabel. McCall Smith's stories are such a delight!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Willowsong

    Poor cloudkit:(

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    L&K

    Poor Cloudkit. :(

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    The Story of CloudClan- Prologue Part 3 (Chapter 1 in Next result)

    Stormstar's tears erupted from his fire-colored eyes, staining his mate's white fur to a gray wherever the salted water touched."W-why me?!" He wailed. "Why me? Why not anyone else? I-I loved her so much." Memories flashed in front of his eyes: he and Snowgaze wrestling together as kits, training together as young, eager apprentices, fighting the enemy Clans as young warriors, chuckling as they showed each other their first battle scars, him tenderly licking her growing stomach…
    Finally, Stormstar stood up, his eyes still clouded with pain. His mate, his family he had so eagerly wanted to start, his longing to help his Clan in anyway possible, his reason to live… gone. All gone. Sniffing, he got a hold of himself and looked down at the kit still trying to suckle, even though her attempts were quickly becoming futile.
    Suddenly, the love he felt for it suddenly became a burning hatred. Snarling, he unsheathed his claws. This stupid, disgusting runt! /She/ was the one who had wrecked this family. /She/ was the one who killed her mother. /She/ was the one that had ruined his life! All of his accusications, all of his hate, all of his contempt, was going toward /her/.
    With an insane screech, he lashed out at the tiny she kit who was trying to suckle. He did not want her to touch his beloved mate. The kit started to cry silently, blood leaking from the wound he had inflicted. He did not care about it. He didn't even care about Snowgaze's hope that he would care for it. "Why don't you heal it yourself?" He mocked. He felt a feeling he had never felt before, a feeling he had not wanted to feel before, but a feeling he loved now, a feeling that he wanted to pump through his powerful, hard muscles, to make him stronger.
    Bloodlust.
    Yowling with pleasure, Stormstar nipped at the she-kit's tail, savoring her screams. He lashed out at her stomach. She screamed, and he chuckled, knowing if he went any deeper, she would've died. But he didn't want her to die. He wanted her to live as long as he lived, which were six more, good long lives, to get all his anger out on.
    He was ready to give her another blow, when the medicine cat, Nightfang, ran in. "I heard mews of pain," he mewed. "Is everything all right?"
    Stormstar sat up, and sheathed his claws, hoping the dark cat hadn't seen the silver points of death. "She crawled out of the nursery into the thornbushes," he lied. He smiled inwardly at how sorrowful he could make his voice sound. "I had to pull her out, which may have inflicted more wounds. See to her, will you please?"
    Nightfang nodded, not a trace of suspicion in his eyes, and started to lick the kit's scratches. Stormstar looked on, angry at how soothing the medicine cat's licks were. He did not want this kit to survive without a single open wound on her. Oh no. This kit had wrecked his life, so she had to pay.
    Cloudkit would pay.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2012

    Why is this not available in an audio version? I have a Nook bu

    Why is this not available in an audio version? I have a Nook but
    you can't read it while driving.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1