Customer Reviews for

The Unholy

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

In Graham’s paranormal suspense novel, movie mogul Eddie A

In Graham’s paranormal suspense novel, movie mogul Eddie Archer’s son is charge with murder. Eddie falls back on his friendship with agent Sean Cameron, who specializes in irregular investigations. Now a member of an FBI paranormal forensics team, Cameron ...
In Graham’s paranormal suspense novel, movie mogul Eddie Archer’s son is charge with murder. Eddie falls back on his friendship with agent Sean Cameron, who specializes in irregular investigations. Now a member of an FBI paranormal forensics team, Cameron knows that evil exists. Teaming with special-effects artist Madison Darvil, another gifted individual, they investigate the malevolent force hard at work at the Black Box Cinema.

A fast-paced and suspenseful story that will give readers chills as well as keeping them guessing until the very end. As always, Graham has outdone herself again.

posted by debbieaheaton on July 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Bad choice of characters for the store.

I love Heather Grahams book but even for her the Humprey Bogar ghost was a little bit to cheesey for me . I had a hard time getting into the story plot or even reading it for that matter the character was just to hard to over come and to distracting for me.

posted by ladydesfleur on November 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    In Graham’s paranormal suspense novel, movie mogul Eddie A

    In Graham’s paranormal suspense novel, movie mogul Eddie Archer’s son is charge with murder. Eddie falls back on his friendship with agent Sean Cameron, who specializes in irregular investigations. Now a member of an FBI paranormal forensics team, Cameron knows that evil exists. Teaming with special-effects artist Madison Darvil, another gifted individual, they investigate the malevolent force hard at work at the Black Box Cinema.

    A fast-paced and suspenseful story that will give readers chills as well as keeping them guessing until the very end. As always, Graham has outdone herself again.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    intriguing closed room murder

    The Unholy is the sixth novel in Heather Graham’s Krewe of Hunter series. Each of her novels follows a special unit of the FBI that solves difficult cases utilizing paranormal gifts. All of her novels can be read as a standalone. They each deal with one member of the team, their love interest and a new case. Unholy was a fun read involving a closed room murder, the ghost of Humphrey Bogart and an old Hollywood Cinema. I quickly became swept up in this tale, and was surprised when the murderer was revealed. The tale begins when a murder occurs at the Black Box Cinema and the owner’s son is arrested for the heinous crime. Owner, Eddie Archer pulls every favor he has in Los Angeles to help clear his son’s name. He contacts former special-effects employee and friend Sean Cameron. Sean is now a member of the FBI’s special unit; Krewe of Hunters. He and the rest of this unusual team have recently finished their FBI training. Sean arrives a day ahead of the team, and Archie introduces him to Madison Darvil. She is a trusted employee and special effects artist. He puts Madison in charge of showing Sean around the cinema. The tale that unfolds was both delightful and creepy as we searched for clues to solve this murder. Sean Cameron is a sweetheart. He is smexy, protective and sensitive. His back-story will delight you, and I found him to be completely swoon-worthy. He is a talented special-effects artist, and one heck of an FBI agent. His training and special abilities help him as he works to clear a man’s name, protect Madison and prevent another murder. Madison Darvil is talented, kind, head strong and lives with the ghost of Bogart. Yep, movie icon Humphrey Bogart watches television and chats with Madison in her bungalow! Their interaction was hilarious. At the age of six her best friend died and appeared as a ghost. She shared this experience with her mother. That experience taught her to never talk about her gift..to anyone, ever! While happy in her career she is lonely. Living with this secret and having Bogart around (who likes to sit in the living room when she entertains perceptive dates) doesn’t do much to help her non-existent love life. The rest of the Krewe team is there, but they work strictly on the case as the tale focuses on the murder, Sean and Madison. Graham gives us a great array of characters as suspects from an actor to a costume designer. She provides characters that scream guilty; like Archie newest wife. I wanted to slap this woman and then turn around and slap the loveable Archie for falling for a woman like this..eek gads! The case is a good one. It features a favorite mystery classic; a murder within a closed room. I loved the setting of the old movie theater and the back history to the old black and white movies. I found the whole thing intriguing. Grahams shows us the killer in costume and it is quite frightening. She reveals bits and pieces of the murderer’s psyche. As Cameron, the team and Madison piece together clues I became completely enthralled with the tale. I pieced together parts and totally failed on the masked killer. The romance is secondary to the mystery which is one aspect I appreciate in Graham’s tales. I get great suspense and a couple who I end up believing in and rooting for. There is some sexual content in this novel, but Graham has a talent for providing heated scenes that are all implied.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Bad choice of characters for the store.

    I love Heather Grahams book but even for her the Humprey Bogar ghost was a little bit to cheesey for me . I had a hard time getting into the story plot or even reading it for that matter the character was just to hard to over come and to distracting for me.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Awesome!

    You will never be disappointed when you pick up any of Heather Graham's novels. This was another great Krewe story. I cannot get enough of these books. Love, suspense and a supernatural twist will keep you enthralled with all of her stories.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Grest

    Great book

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    Highly Recommended - I LOVED IT!

    I read this book and loved every moment. The story line kept me guessing and at time put me on the edge of my seat waiting to see what whoud happen next. Also I enjoyed the romance in the book. The main characters were fasinating right from the beginning. Heather Graham is a terrific writer. Whatever she writes I will read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    unbroken

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Humphrey Bogart? Really?

    I LOVE Heather Graham, I really do. I would put her in my top 5 authors, no question, and I would rate her average novels 4 1/2 stars to 5 normally. But seriously, the ghost of Bogie. Ugh. A bit player, ok, a made up starlet, sure, but a real life actor and having him say "kid" after almost every sentence is about more then I can take. Sooooooo cheesy!

    What on earth happened that her, her editors, her book writers groups, whoever else that read this prior to publishing and NO ONE thought it a horrible idea?

    Condidering I am only on the 2nd book of the new krewe, I have my fingers crossed the other two books left redeem this one. I would have liked it if not for that awful part of the story line. Thank God this wasn't the first book I read of hers, because I would have never picked up another! It is that outlandish to me!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Recommended

    This is a great book from a great series. I am a Heather Graham fan. I enjoy getting to know her characters and in her series I enjoy the way she does a focus on 2 characters and still includes "old friends". Stories are well written and fun to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Good

    Liked this book... better than some others of hers.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2015

    Good writer. I like all of her books. In this one we get a visit

    Good writer. I like all of her books. In this one we get a visit from Humphry Bogart.
    If you have seen any of his movies you know this will be good. If you don't know who
     he is you should watch some old movies, and just know he fits rght in this story. 
    I hate figuring out who did it before story is finished and Heather Graham never disapoints. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2014

    This was a light read, and had a few surprising twists and turns

    This was a light read, and had a few surprising twists and turns. The characters could use some more development, but the plot was intriguing and original enough to hold my interest. The pacing falls apart at the end. The writing is okay, but not more than that. Setting and plot are great, but the rest feels uninspired. I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Just ok

    I have read all the "Krewe" books and practticaly all of Graham's other books. I was very disapointed with the ghost of Bogie, why? The same idea could have been conveyed with the ghost of a "made up" film noir actor, its called imagination. I felt the plot was canned. Maybe its time to move on to an entirely new series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    The Unholy

    What a great book. Heather Graham really does a great job with this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    ?m iy uujgbyuyuti .yyyutuyibmuy .gi t

    Jivnu .gjvngj . Tjtfjti .yiyuitt bmgit bniiy n b v mgjgjiubm.uogn . tiufu
    i i
    N,fj gh vmuybmgj

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Kitchen

    Stainles steel appliances.

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Great book

    Heather is one of my top five authors.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2