Customer Reviews for

The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry

Average Rating 4.5
( 186 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(100)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

46 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

Love, Loss, Triumph

I absolutely loved this novel - it is so emotional, poignant and deeply touching. Harold Fry is truly a lovable character that you continue to learn more about and become closer to as the story unfolds. The beautiful language used by the author is so easy to read and I ...
I absolutely loved this novel - it is so emotional, poignant and deeply touching. Harold Fry is truly a lovable character that you continue to learn more about and become closer to as the story unfolds. The beautiful language used by the author is so easy to read and I found myself going back and re-reading passages that I had to let sink in again. Joyce is truly profound in so much of this book.

I cannot recommend this novel enough - it is a story of love, loss, triumph, perseverance and so much more. It is hard for me to believe that this is a debut novel and I wish Rachel Joyce much success and hope that many readers have the privilege of enjoying this novel as much as I did.

posted by sherriey on July 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

While the story was interesting, there are sections with much pr

While the story was interesting, there are sections with much profanity. Please be aware of this before you buy as BN will not refund nook books.

posted by annonymous on August 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 186 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    Love, Loss, Triumph

    I absolutely loved this novel - it is so emotional, poignant and deeply touching. Harold Fry is truly a lovable character that you continue to learn more about and become closer to as the story unfolds. The beautiful language used by the author is so easy to read and I found myself going back and re-reading passages that I had to let sink in again. Joyce is truly profound in so much of this book.

    I cannot recommend this novel enough - it is a story of love, loss, triumph, perseverance and so much more. It is hard for me to believe that this is a debut novel and I wish Rachel Joyce much success and hope that many readers have the privilege of enjoying this novel as much as I did.

    46 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry

    The best book I've read in a long time. I hoped I knew what
    the ending would be, but I was still surprised and in tears.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    While the story was interesting, there are sections with much pr

    While the story was interesting, there are sections with much profanity.
    Please be aware of this before you buy as BN will not refund nook books.

    9 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Excellent!

    I could not put it down and the ending had me moved to tears.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Who would think that taking a 500-mile walk would bring all one'

    Who would think that taking a 500-mile walk would bring all one's emotions to a head and invite self-reflection as well as regret?

    Harold Fry never knew that a letter from an old friend would elicit so many emotions, and he never would have thought he would do what he was doing or how he was doing the 500-mile walk to his friend Queenie who was dying of cancer.

    As you are reading about Harold's walking and his promise, you are probably asking yourself this question as I did: Why in the world is he continuing on this journey when it is becoming impossible to walk and to fulfill his promise. I would have accepted any ride that was offered. :) Harold did meet a number of interesting people, though, and his wife who was left at home was making friendships and regretting that she and Harold had never had a deep relationship.

    The adjective, MARVELOUS, on the ARC's book cover undeniably describes this book. Additional adjectives such as SPECTACULAR and SPLENDID would also be revealing terms. The author made this mundane topic of a 500-mile walk to see a friend not mundane at all. Ms. Joyce had beautiful descriptions of landscapes, feelings, conversations, and thoughts about friendship and family. She drew you right into the book from page one.

    You will find that this read is very profound and thought-provoking. Nothing but praise for this remarkable book....the characters and the storyline are exceptional.

    The book is also a tribute to the decency of the human race for their concern and their support of a cause a fellow human being believed in. This book is also an inspiring emotional ride...have tissues handy and be prepared to be thinking about your own life....the regrets as well as the pleasures. 5/5

    I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Thoroughly enjoyable!

    Don't miss this book...it is a treasure. Quirky and heartfelt. I only wish it wasn't her debut as I am ready for more.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The simplest thing I can say about this book is that it is outst

    The simplest thing I can say about this book is that it is outstanding. I could tell you about how heartbreaking and adorable Harold is. I could go on about the sad state of his marriage to his wife Maureen. Then I could babble about how the character development is sublime and natural. I could tell you about the times that I couldn't stop the tears from falling as I read beautiful passages, about how at times I would suck in my breath at the loveliness of some of the quotes. Perhaps I should tell you that you'll know nothing at the beginning but by the end will feel that you know everything worth knowing?

    What I will say is this: This novel is a must read.

    Jennifer @ The Relentless Reader

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    This was the best read of the summer for me. I actually started

    This was the best read of the summer for me. I actually started
    re-reading it right after I finished it. The second time around is even
    better. There are many lessons wrapped up in this book. Perhaps my
    favorite is that if you take the time to slow down and look and listen
    you will understand and appreciate your world and the people that are in
    it. Rachel Joyce is an outstanding writer. I can't wait for her next
    novel.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Without revealing some of the best twists and turns of a fiction

    Without revealing some of the best twists and turns of a fictional character, this is a life lesson given without judgment, without preaching and with quiet dignity. Four of my favorite characters ever reside within the pages of this book. Most of us have regrets; beautifully crafted and integrated long arcs which would make a fabulous movie. One can only hope!

    This will be a gift to many... there is something here for everyone.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Touching,Wonderful story

    I just finished reading this book and loved it so much, I almost want to immeditaly re read it. The last pages were read thru tears that ended with laughter and smiles. I couldn't put this book down.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    This is truly an incredible book. I don't usually have time to r

    This is truly an incredible book. I don't usually have time to reread books( just too many great books to read) but this is one that I will definitely read again. Harold Fry is one of the most endearing characters I've ever encountered.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    Very good read.

    Using simple language, the book still had me stop often to ponder the various elements of the pilgrimage. A loving portrayal of mostly English countryside provides the foundation for Harold's extraordinary walk, transforming him and his wife, and illuminating the reader in the process.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    I truly enjoyed each moment of this book, but especially the sta

    I truly enjoyed each moment of this book, but especially the start. It all begins when Harold Fry learns that a former co-worker is dying in a town far to the north of him in England. He sets out to post a letter to her-- and what happens instead id an unlikely pilgrimage indeed. Each time I feared that Rachel Joyce would make a wrong turn as author, she steered the boat back around and kept it going in newly beautiful and unexpected directions. 

    I have seldom read more beautiful descriptions of the English countryside. The book is almost worth reading for these passages alone, but in truth each character becomes deeper and more complicated as the book goes on. His unlikable tight-lipped wife for example became in the end my favorite character. A neighbor who seems merely a side-bar takes on a central role. This is the kind of novel I love best, with its mixing of wisdom, humor, sadness, surprises and beautiful prose. I am quite surprised it did not win more prizes when it first appeared, but maybe it's just too darn accessible for the people who give out literary awards. No matter, I have a feeling Harold is doing just fine on his own. 

    Hope this review is helpful. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Beautifully written despite a slow start

    Beautifully written despite a slow start with an 'unlikely' and silly metaphoric quest. The characters, particularly the son's life and family shattered by pertinacious unemployment, elicit retrospection, introspection, and human reconnection. A good read for baby boomers, empty-nesters, and any one interested in lifelong growth.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    It Makes One Think of Walking in a Whole New Light!

    Harold Fry sets out to save his friend, Queenie, but ends up saving himself and his marriage. His odyssey teaches him to accept the strangeness of others and, in so doing, he learns to accept and forgive himself.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Strange, but lovely. Sad, but uplifting. This is a book I will r

    Strange, but lovely. Sad, but uplifting. This is a book I will read
    again to sop up any lovely bits that I may have missed the first time
    around.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This was an outstanding read. It is the story of marriage, paren

    This was an outstanding read. It is the story of marriage, parenthood,
    friendship, love, loss, sacrifice, redemtion AND an unlikely pilgrimage.
    Harold is a noble man. I recently read Cheryl Strayed's non-fiction
    book "Wild" about a walk. Both books had similar themes with
    so much of the journey an internal one. Her book is on the non-fiction
    best seller list and I hope this book will be on the fiction best seller.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I absolutely love this book. It was so deep. Harold was someone

    I absolutely love this book. It was so deep. Harold was someone I would have loved to know. It also shows what a three ring circus things become once something becomes public and how many people love to take the spotlight away from who deserves it. How many people are like the Fry's, stuffing things. It applies in real life that if you slow down and learn to think without distractions you get to know who you are and where you have been.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2012

    Poignant and Hopeful

    The tone of this book is very melancholic, but the imagery and language is so poetic and personal that I couldn't stop reading! The story draws you in, even though it seems to be premised on something sad. I found the ending somewhat unexpected and remarkably hopeful. The language is easy but poetic - definitely one of my favorites in a long time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    Really good book.

    Really good book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 186 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10