BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 190 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(102)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

46 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

Love, Loss, Triumph

I absolutely loved this novel - it is so emotional, poignant and deeply touching. Harold Fry is truly a lovable character that you continue to learn more about and become closer to as the story unfolds. The beautiful language used by the author is so easy to read and I ...
I absolutely loved this novel - it is so emotional, poignant and deeply touching. Harold Fry is truly a lovable character that you continue to learn more about and become closer to as the story unfolds. The beautiful language used by the author is so easy to read and I found myself going back and re-reading passages that I had to let sink in again. Joyce is truly profound in so much of this book.

I cannot recommend this novel enough - it is a story of love, loss, triumph, perseverance and so much more. It is hard for me to believe that this is a debut novel and I wish Rachel Joyce much success and hope that many readers have the privilege of enjoying this novel as much as I did.

posted by sherriey on July 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

While the story was interesting, there are sections with much pr

While the story was interesting, there are sections with much profanity. Please be aware of this before you buy as BN will not refund nook books.

posted by annonymous on August 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Beautifully written despite a slow start

    Beautifully written despite a slow start with an 'unlikely' and silly metaphoric quest. The characters, particularly the son's life and family shattered by pertinacious unemployment, elicit retrospection, introspection, and human reconnection. A good read for baby boomers, empty-nesters, and any one interested in lifelong growth.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    It Makes One Think of Walking in a Whole New Light!

    Harold Fry sets out to save his friend, Queenie, but ends up saving himself and his marriage. His odyssey teaches him to accept the strangeness of others and, in so doing, he learns to accept and forgive himself.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Strange, but lovely. Sad, but uplifting. This is a book I will r

    Strange, but lovely. Sad, but uplifting. This is a book I will read
    again to sop up any lovely bits that I may have missed the first time
    around.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2013

    Interesting

    A bit slow but still worth reading. I got the audio book to listen to on my long commute. Enjoyable. Older people will be able to appreciate this more than those under forty five.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Original and unepected

    Harold makes an unexpected journey where he makes sense, as best he can, of the major events that happened in his life. Interesting, original, and unexpected.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Oddly touching

    This was a book club choice and not something I chose. I ended the novel deciding that I was glad that I read it. I prefer knowing little about the plot of a story and this plot is such a big part of the novel's appeal, that I would not ruin your engaging with the characters by revealing their journey.

    The writing is literary and simple at the same time. The characters are appealing and end up surprising the reader. I think it is a very good read and I recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Beautiful

    A beautfiful story that takes you not just on Harold's journey but takes you tripping through memories of your own past and revisiting memories of relationships both lost and intact. Touching & powerful. I feel blessed to have read this novel and am thankful for my new friend who recommended this treasure to me. Harold Fry I pray will stay with me for a very long time.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND !!!

    INTERESTING ON MANY LEVELS WITH A SURPRISE ENDING FOR ME.
    REALISTIC STUDY ON DEALING WITH TRADGEDY,EMOTION,AND EVENTS OF LIFE.
    WELL WRITTEN. GOOD READE.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Strange but worth the read

    Even secondary characters well developed, thought provoking and a surprise at the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Recommend

    Delightful narrative about life, loss and becoming self-aware later in life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    Plain Requires Examination

    Joyce has a delightful way of telling plain descriptions that demand attention. The simple becomes extraordinary. The plot grows with intensity and human relationships are lifted. Very introspective examining the heart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2014

    Very slow read. Barely got through it. Ending was sweet but not

    Very slow read. Barely got through it. Ending was sweet but not enough for me to recommend. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    very good

    keeps you interested

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2013

    Unusual story about an extraordinary friendship

    I pulled for Harold Fry through every page! We should all have such resolve in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Good Story

    I enjoyed reading this book. I found the story a bit anti-climactic, but I would read it just the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Surprise Read

    Chosen for book group - would not have just picked it up myself but was pleasantly surprised! What a wonderful story about what is really important in life. Enjoyed character interaction

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    Amazing

    It's been a long time since I've read such a touching love story. It was a little hard to get into at first but well worth the wait. I found myself routing Harold on, willing him not to give up as if he were real. Give this book a chance; you'll be so glad you did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    I read this book because reader reviews were mostly so enthusias

    I read this book because reader reviews were mostly so enthusiastic. I agree that it poignant, thoughtful, deep, sad, and introspective. Others have told the story, so I'll say that it is strange that Harold took this out-of-the-blue journey, completely unprepared, with no idea how he would do it or finish it. But I enjoyed the journey, the people he met along the way, the realizations to which he came about his life, the way others reacted to him, how he kept going against all odds. Obviously, there is much in the book that is metaphorical. We should all take a meaningful journey at middle age to understand the whole of of our lives. It made me think and wonder. It's also very well written and is just a good and important read. It is a bit sad in a way at the end. But it's also hopeful. We need that. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    The ending took my breath away. Loved It!

    The ending took my breath away. Loved It!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2012

    Easy, breezy then, as gradual as the walking, Rachel Joyce draws

    Easy, breezy then, as gradual as the walking, Rachel Joyce draws you in. Just when I thought she couldn't sustain a tale so simple, we're either figuratively or literally down a hill and climbing another. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3