Customer Reviews for

The Unlikely Wife (Love Inspired Historical Series)

Average Rating 5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    One of the best books I have read in a long time. Could not hard

    One of the best books I have read in a long time. Could not hardly put it down!! Had me laughing and crying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Powerful story

    Combines the old south with the north in heartbreaking, funny and suspenseful reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    What a fresh, delightful story. Debra Ullrick showed her unique

    What a fresh, delightful story. Debra Ullrick showed her unique talent by taking on a difficult premise...a humble, financially poor woman with a big heart, little education, and a naieve innocence to the world around her. I thoroughly enjoyed Ullrick's delightful one-liners, such as, "Back up your horses, cowboy." Selina is such an honest and real heroine. In spite of her poverty, she's kind and selfless. She doesn't know better than to bring a wolf pup into the house. She just knows the animal needs help. And the hero soon learns not only to appreciate Selina's unique differences, but to actually cherish them. Very enjoyable. A break from the dusty old romances I've read lately. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Loved! Loved this story!!!

    I really enjoyed this story. I recommend this book wholeheartedly. While reading you will experience laughter and heart wrenching moments as the characters go through struggles. Take a chance on this book, you will not be disappointed!!! I guarantee it! I have already read it twice. That is how much I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Unlikely wife is a great surprise!

    Unlikely wife was an unlikely surprise. If you are looking for a sweet story about an unlikely pair...this is the one for you. I recommend this book and its author, debra ullrick, to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    True Beauty Runs Deep...

    The Unlikely Wife by Debra Ullrick I did not see this marked as a series but you will want to read The Unexpected Bride if you enjoy series type books. In the first book Michael Bowen is a teenager. Now he is twenty-seven and wants a wife, just like his brother's wife Rainee. To say he is shocked by the woman he meets at the train station is an understatement. Man’s trousers, cowboy boots, a cowboy hat and a rifle about as big as her. Sure she's got a pretty face and nice hair but this is not the woman in the letters or his dreams. He had married her by proxy sight unseen and will hold to his vows, even if it means not having a real marriage. Selina Farleigh Bowen fell in love with Michael through his letters. Being she cannot read or write she depended on her friend Aimee to write to Michael and read her his letters. What she did not find out until arriving was that Aimee forgot to mention a few things like most of who Selina is. She realizes her husband had fallen in love with Aimee not her. They butt heads as Michael tries to get her to change and she refuses to ever let a man tell her what to do. Can Michael ever learn to love this backwoods wonder? I found that Debra did a wonderful job of getting the emotions through in this book. I was teary eyed through much of it as they struggled. And she had plenty of humor as well. Her characters even struggled with the difference with words or phrases and different foods between Michael's Idaho and Selina's Kentucky.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    WOW! Read it. You'll love it!

    Ms. Ullrick has outdone herself with this book. She makes the heroine so loveable and realistic. I laughed, cried and related to some of the circumstances this character goes through. From start to finish this was a good book. I didn't skip ahead chapters or go to the end to see what happened next because the part I was reading was boring. Just the opposite. The lessons learned are very refreshing. Buy this book and support this author. It will be worth your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful!!

    Debra Ullrick has done it again! She is one of my favorite authors because she has the ability to weave a story together that makes you feel like you're right there with the characters. I fell in love with the Bowen family in, The Unexpected Bride and now here they are again in, The Unlikely Wife. Yay! One of my favorite scences is in the very beginning of the book, when Michael Bowen first set eyes on Selina, his mail-ordered bride. "This has to be a nightmare! Standing in front of Michael Bowen at the Paradise Haven's train station was the woman who claimed to be his wife. His eyes traveled up and down the length of her. Instead of a dress, she wore a red scarf draped around her neck, a black cowboy hat with a stampede string, black cowboys boots and brown loose-fitting trousers. In her hands she held a Long Tom black powder rifle. A rifle? The woman was holding a rifle. No matter how hard he tried he couldn't pull his gaze away from the weapon that was nearly as long as she was tall." After reading these first few sentences, I was hooked! And, once I picked this book up it was impossible to put it down.This is such a wonderful and tender love story. I absolutely loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Very good

    Really liked the strong female lead. She didn't let others opinions get her down. Nice how the male lead deals with the situation. Inspiring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Made me cry

    Such a touching and forthright story! I simply adored the heroine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Loved it

    It was a great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic historical romance. A favorite for 2012~

    Well, I've found my first "favorite" book for 2012! This story was fantastic! It warmed my heart and thrilled that emotional part of me that enjoys a smoking romance. I love mail-order-bride types of stories anyway, but this one was better than most. There were so many heart-warming moments that I lost count. There were also great references to the scriptures and to what marriage should be like. I felt inspiration for my own marriage, and that doesn't happen with Love Inspired novels (sorry, but it's true.) I tend to love historical fiction, but not LI fiction, yet this story made me want to read more in this genre. In fact, I think this is my favorite LI novel ever. The plot and pacing were excellent, the story was full of great tension and believable emotion, and the hero and heroine shared the yummiest kisses I've ever read in a LI book. My heart melted every time they kissed. I felt the love and was inspired by it. Seriously!

    Bottom line...Debra Ullrick outdid herself on this one. And I loved the fact that I also got to see Rainee and Haydon again from the first book, The Unexpected Bride. I enjoyed that story, too, but I absolutely adored this one. Selena was the most unique and lovable heroine that I've read in a long time. I fell in love with Michael as he fell in love with Selena. I really can't believe how good this book was... but then again, I can. Debra is a talented writer and this story should be on everyone's must-read list for 2012. If you love heart-warming historical romances that contain strong spiritual threads and great romantic tension (and if you don't mind shedding a tear or two, or three or four) then you'll love this book. I guarantee it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2