Customer Reviews for

The Unofficial Heroes of Olympus Companion: Gods, Monsters, Myths and What's in Store for Jason, Piper and Leo

Average Rating 3.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

A Must Have!

The Unofficial Heroes of Olympus Companion is a must have for not only readers of the Percy jackson series, but also for those who just plain love mythology! The three talented authors of The Companion have done a superb job of compiling a concise, well-organized, inter...
The Unofficial Heroes of Olympus Companion is a must have for not only readers of the Percy jackson series, but also for those who just plain love mythology! The three talented authors of The Companion have done a superb job of compiling a concise, well-organized, interesting collection of mythological stories. Though The Companion was written as a companion to the Percy Jackson series, parents should be cautious when allowing their children to read about the gods and goddesses of old. Marcus, Buczynsky, and Shelnutt do a first rate job of keeping the stories child appropriate, but mythology is littered with stories of violence and sexuality, so although the three authors are delicate in their handling of the stories, one cannot avoid the actual content completely. This reviewer suggests this book for children twelve and up. All in all, The Companion is a wonderful addition to the library of any fan of mythology, a reader of Percy Jackson or not.

posted by L-C-Morris on December 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Hated it

Didnt make sense and just rambled on about useless stuff

posted by 5301379 on September 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 15, 2011

    A Must Have!

    The Unofficial Heroes of Olympus Companion is a must have for not only readers of the Percy jackson series, but also for those who just plain love mythology! The three talented authors of The Companion have done a superb job of compiling a concise, well-organized, interesting collection of mythological stories. Though The Companion was written as a companion to the Percy Jackson series, parents should be cautious when allowing their children to read about the gods and goddesses of old. Marcus, Buczynsky, and Shelnutt do a first rate job of keeping the stories child appropriate, but mythology is littered with stories of violence and sexuality, so although the three authors are delicate in their handling of the stories, one cannot avoid the actual content completely. This reviewer suggests this book for children twelve and up. All in all, The Companion is a wonderful addition to the library of any fan of mythology, a reader of Percy Jackson or not.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    Great source of mythology!

    This book is a wonderful source of the gods and monsters in Greek mythology, as well as some of the origins of the myths. There is not an abundance of information concerning The Heroes of Olympus series in the book, but there are many references as to where the monsters were seen throughout both of the bookseries'. The Unofficial Heroes of Olympus Companion is an excellent read, especially if you don't know much about mythology, and I would recommend it to any Percy Jackson fan. :)

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    How is this

    4 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Hey, No. 10!

    Hey, No. 10! You better know that I'm 8 and I've read all the Rick Riordan books and that I'm ready to read this! YOU HEAR THAT?! I am totally ready to read this book! Besides, how old are you

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    Good overcast

    Awaiting its release, it proves a good resource to Riordan fans.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Pricey

    $10?

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Hated it

    Didnt make sense and just rambled on about useless stuff

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    HURRY UP

    I read all the books just need this hurry up

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Gerf

    Cock suck 69

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Flameboy

    Wuz hre

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Leo is my bf

    From Atlanta queen of jello pranks

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    No way over priced for someone making money off of riardans work

    Dont but it

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Ananomous

    An olympian ultamate

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    Very Nice

    This is a great book for those who have read the Percy Jackson series, and want to know some background to the monsters, or some more information about the characters. I would highly recommend this to anyone who has read the Percy Jackson series, the Kane chronicles, or has started the Heros of Olympus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Hi Crystal!

    You are like the equivilent of me!:) my names ariana btw, but because my moms last name is light people call me crystal light, i absolutely LOVE horses, and I love talking to people:) so, what else do you like? Dark chocolate or milk? Favorite color? - Ari:) &#9832 &#9824

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Sucks

    So boring not worty 10 bucks!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Hi

    I am crystal! I am 13. I am homeschooled how about you guy wanna chat? I love horses.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    I love rick riordan!!!!!

    I own all of thebooks big fan

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Cbbjftb

    Boring

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Dis ok

    Red better stuff

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2