Customer Reviews for

The Unquiet

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I admit, I added this to my to read list with very little though

I admit, I added this to my to read list with very little thought. The cover seemed cool and the description was just enough to peek my interest. I was thrilled when I was approved for review through Netgalley.

I wish I had read this sooner! I was nothing like I exp...
I admit, I added this to my to read list with very little thought. The cover seemed cool and the description was just enough to peek my interest. I was thrilled when I was approved for review through Netgalley.

I wish I had read this sooner! I was nothing like I expected. Rinn is unlike any other lead character I've had the pleasure reading about. For lack of a polite term, she's crazy. As the book opens, we learn she's bipolar and currently heavily medicated. We know something really bad happened previously and she needs a fresh start (and maybe a little bit of space). I was completely engrossed in learning her story. From her hallucinations to the role she really played in her grandmother's death.


The psychology background in me honestly loved watching her as she went off her meds. Her bipolar cycle was spot on. Her lack of sleep, manic talking, and loss of time was just awesome. I loved when her mother came in and she has torn a giant hole in the wall and hadn't realized it. I think getting a first hand looks and what happened when she was off her medication showed how things spiraled out of control the first time. It did an excellent job of showing both the manic episode along with the depressive episode.

I like a good ghost story as well. This was one was crafted very nicely. A ghost who haunts a specific hallway and pool. I thought it was intriguing that those who had some sort of psychiatric medication could not see or hear the ghost. I also liked the connection between Rinn, her mother, and the ghost. It might have been convenient, but it worked with the story really well.


I was really impressed with this book. I will be looking for this author again!

posted by pagese on December 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Creepy

I havent finished the book yet, but so far it is really creepy and eerie.

posted by Anonymous on January 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 12 of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I admit, I added this to my to read list with very little though

    I admit, I added this to my to read list with very little thought. The cover seemed cool and the description was just enough to peek my interest. I was thrilled when I was approved for review through Netgalley.

    I wish I had read this sooner! I was nothing like I expected. Rinn is unlike any other lead character I've had the pleasure reading about. For lack of a polite term, she's crazy. As the book opens, we learn she's bipolar and currently heavily medicated. We know something really bad happened previously and she needs a fresh start (and maybe a little bit of space). I was completely engrossed in learning her story. From her hallucinations to the role she really played in her grandmother's death.


    The psychology background in me honestly loved watching her as she went off her meds. Her bipolar cycle was spot on. Her lack of sleep, manic talking, and loss of time was just awesome. I loved when her mother came in and she has torn a giant hole in the wall and hadn't realized it. I think getting a first hand looks and what happened when she was off her medication showed how things spiraled out of control the first time. It did an excellent job of showing both the manic episode along with the depressive episode.

    I like a good ghost story as well. This was one was crafted very nicely. A ghost who haunts a specific hallway and pool. I thought it was intriguing that those who had some sort of psychiatric medication could not see or hear the ghost. I also liked the connection between Rinn, her mother, and the ghost. It might have been convenient, but it worked with the story really well.


    I was really impressed with this book. I will be looking for this author again!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Creepy

    I havent finished the book yet, but so far it is really creepy and eerie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Loved..

    This book was great in my opinion.. I must admit I was a little crushed when a certain someone had a certain thing happen to him.. :( but the book picks up and moves on as did I.. throughly enjoyed the book..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Good

    I loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Best book ever!

    This one's a real page-turner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The book starts out rather slowly. It took a while to get the st

    The book starts out rather slowly. It took a while to get the story moving and the creepiness to set in. While some people (not me in this case) may decide the book isn't worth continuing, I say stick it out. After the first fourth or so of the book, things start moving along at a quick and steady pace.

    I admit that I figured out the big climax before Rinn did. It's always slightly disappointing to figure things out before it's revealed in a book, but I realize that's just the way things go sometimes. At the end of the book, I was just a little confused. I'm still not sure what I make of the ending and whether or not I liked it. After everything that happened in the book, I feel like the ending was a letdown.

    Overall, it was an interesting and slightly creepy book. The writing was solid and I'd likely read something written by Jeannine Garsee again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    Jeannine Garsee captures the essence of mental breakdowns and gh

    Jeannine Garsee captures the essence of mental breakdowns and ghostly encounters with grace. Rinn Jacobs is a 16 year old girl who is bi-polar. And because of this, she is to blame for the death of grandmother who died in a fire under mysterious circumstances. So mom and Rinn leave California and move across the country to her mom's hometown in podunk Ohio.

    Once she arrives in Ohio strange things begin to happen. She meets up with some friends who are really mean girls in disguise. But she does meet the kindly-hearted Nate who takes an instant liking to the feisty Corinne. However, once Rinn finds out about Annaliese, she becomes obsessed with finding out more about her and the circumstances of her death twenty years earlier.

    When strange things begin to happen to Rinn's friends, she believes that Annaliese is haunting them, but some people think that Rinn is imagining everything because she's not exactly the most mentally stable person in the world. Even Nate begins to question Rinn and her illness.

    I absolutely enjoyed this story and I read several versions of this, but the finished product was perfect. I read an advanced copy so not a completely clean copy, but the message and the hysteria of the novel was dead on. You never knew if Rinn was just going crazy or if she was really seeing things that Annaliese wanted her to see. Rinn is not a very reliable nor credible main character, you're constantly second guessing yourself especially with the way that Garsee writes. Being a nurse for a busy psychiatric ward in Downtown Cleveland probably gives you more than enough credibility to write with such aplomb. The ending of the book is by far once of the more scariest and unbelievable turn of events that I've ever read and it will remind you of that final secret in THE SIXTH SENSE. I remember finishing the book and just sitting there with mouth wide open wondering what the hell. Damn you, Jeannine!

    If you like a ghost story, a human interest story and one that has a slight love angle, then you'll really love this book. It's creepy, scary and downright bizarre in a good way. The twists and turns keep the reader on edge and you will find no cheese between those pages. You get pulled into the story and feel like you are Rinn and all her craziness.

    I highly recommend this one and with the Halloween season coming upon us, it'll be a great time to dive into THE UNQUIET. It just might scare the bejeezus out of you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    4.5 stars

    This usually isn't the types of books I go for, but this one had me sucked in from the beginning. I loved it! I read it within a day. I couldn't put it down. Hope you all enjoy it as much as I did. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I love a good, creepy ghost story and this one certainly deliver

    I love a good, creepy ghost story and this one certainly delivered.

    Corinne (Rinn) Jacobs has had quite the tumultuous life. Rinn is bipolar, and her manic mood swings have landed her in a ton of trouble including a psych ward and the death of her beloved Nana. When her mother and stepfather split, and her mother moves them back to her small, hometown in Ohio, Rinn is less than enthused. That all changes when she meets her cute neighbor, Nate, and after she meets a few girls at school who actually want to be her friend. It seems that maybe Rinn's life is finally starting to turn around, and Ohio won't be so bad, even if she is living in a house whose previous resident hung herself -- in Rinn's bedroom no less.

    When Rinn hears the stories of Annaleise, a girl who drowned in the school's pool twenty years ago and now supposedly haunts the school corridor, she figures it's nothing more than a local ghost story. But when her friends begin acting strange after spending time in the haunted room, Rinn begins hearing voices and people start to die. Rinn can't help but wonder if maybe the ghost of Annaleise is real. But who is going to believe a girl with a history of psychotic episodes? Is Annaleise real, or is it Rinn's bipolar disorder acting up?

    The Unquiet moved at a perfect pace. There is plenty of twists, creeps, romance and action. Ms. Garsee does a wonderful job of keeping the reader guessing -- is it really Annaleise or is it Rinn? While the resolve wasn't a total surprise, I did enjoy the story, and it ended just the way I like my ghost stories to end -- wondering "And then what happened?"

    Creepy, atmospheric and filled with plenty of teen angst, The Unquiet is perfect for any lover of ghost stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 12 of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1