Customer Reviews for

The Unspoken

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

a fun, suspenseful read

The Unspoken by Heather Graham is the seventh novel in the Krewe of Hunter series. All of these tales can be read as a standalone. Each case has paranormal elements, which require the skills of a special unit of the FBI, known as the Krewe of Hunters. Agents Katya Sokol...
The Unspoken by Heather Graham is the seventh novel in the Krewe of Hunter series. All of these tales can be read as a standalone. Each case has paranormal elements, which require the skills of a special unit of the FBI, known as the Krewe of Hunters. Agents Katya Sokolpv and Will Chan head up a case involving a sunken treasure, a curse and several unexplained deaths. This was a fun, suspenseful read as they worked to find a murderer and stop a mummies curse. In 1898 the freighter, Jerry McGuen, sank on Lake Michigan taking every man on board and untold treasures with it. The treasure contained the sarcophagus of an Egyptian sorcerer and some say his curse is what caused the McGuen to sink. For over 100 years men have searched for the ship and its treasures in vain; that is until now. When a diving expert and ghost ship expert dies while exploring the wreck people begin crying it’s the curse. Wanting to preserve the sight and protect his team the expedition leader calls in the special FBI team known as the Krewe of Hunters. Jackson Crow sends Katya Sokolpv to Chicago ahead of the team to investigate. She will meet up with Virginia Krewe of Hunter’s team member Will Chan. They meet at the morgue and the tale that unfolds is suspenseful and mysterious as more dead bodies appear and Katya begins dreaming of a watery death. I love the characters that Graham creates. I have met both Katya and Will in previous novels and was aware of their special skill sets. She is a forensic pathologist who can speak to the dead. He is an illusionist specialist who can work magic with cameras. I liked Katya she is smart, sassy and knows her job. Will can be headstrong, is downright smexy and driven when on a case. The attraction Katya feels to Will is immediate and it completely unnerves her because she cannot stand him. He immediately gets on the wrong side of the medical examiner and acts like he is in the lead. Watching the two of them work together and tiptoe around their attraction to each other was hilarious. I quickly became invested in them. We get to see the rest of Katya’s team when they show up to assist. Graham provides us with plenty of suspects from treasure experts to salvage hunters. Oh and did I mention ghosts and an Egyptian sorcerer? I really enjoyed the mystery Graham provided in this tale. I have always found Egyptian burial sites and the curses supposedly attached to them to be fascinating. She gives us a slew of suspects, several unexplained murders and clues that seem to indicate that the Egyptian sorcerer himself is involved in the murders. Filled with danger and suspense the mystery had me enthralled as I tried to piece the clues together. The romance between these headstrong agents was delightful, and I loved watching Will's feelings for Katya evolve. While there is sexual content, it is mostly implied and I found it to be both sweet and hot. I easily consumed this in an evening and deeply enjoyed it. I want to thank Harlequin/Mira and netGalley for providing this ARC in exchange for my unbiased review.

posted by kimba88 on July 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ah. It was ok. Slow moving and I suspected what was going on fro

Ah. It was ok. Slow moving and I suspected what was going on from the start. But an ok read.

posted by 3910654 on September 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    a fun, suspenseful read

    The Unspoken by Heather Graham is the seventh novel in the Krewe of Hunter series. All of these tales can be read as a standalone. Each case has paranormal elements, which require the skills of a special unit of the FBI, known as the Krewe of Hunters. Agents Katya Sokolpv and Will Chan head up a case involving a sunken treasure, a curse and several unexplained deaths. This was a fun, suspenseful read as they worked to find a murderer and stop a mummies curse. In 1898 the freighter, Jerry McGuen, sank on Lake Michigan taking every man on board and untold treasures with it. The treasure contained the sarcophagus of an Egyptian sorcerer and some say his curse is what caused the McGuen to sink. For over 100 years men have searched for the ship and its treasures in vain; that is until now. When a diving expert and ghost ship expert dies while exploring the wreck people begin crying it’s the curse. Wanting to preserve the sight and protect his team the expedition leader calls in the special FBI team known as the Krewe of Hunters. Jackson Crow sends Katya Sokolpv to Chicago ahead of the team to investigate. She will meet up with Virginia Krewe of Hunter’s team member Will Chan. They meet at the morgue and the tale that unfolds is suspenseful and mysterious as more dead bodies appear and Katya begins dreaming of a watery death. I love the characters that Graham creates. I have met both Katya and Will in previous novels and was aware of their special skill sets. She is a forensic pathologist who can speak to the dead. He is an illusionist specialist who can work magic with cameras. I liked Katya she is smart, sassy and knows her job. Will can be headstrong, is downright smexy and driven when on a case. The attraction Katya feels to Will is immediate and it completely unnerves her because she cannot stand him. He immediately gets on the wrong side of the medical examiner and acts like he is in the lead. Watching the two of them work together and tiptoe around their attraction to each other was hilarious. I quickly became invested in them. We get to see the rest of Katya’s team when they show up to assist. Graham provides us with plenty of suspects from treasure experts to salvage hunters. Oh and did I mention ghosts and an Egyptian sorcerer? I really enjoyed the mystery Graham provided in this tale. I have always found Egyptian burial sites and the curses supposedly attached to them to be fascinating. She gives us a slew of suspects, several unexplained murders and clues that seem to indicate that the Egyptian sorcerer himself is involved in the murders. Filled with danger and suspense the mystery had me enthralled as I tried to piece the clues together. The romance between these headstrong agents was delightful, and I loved watching Will's feelings for Katya evolve. While there is sexual content, it is mostly implied and I found it to be both sweet and hot. I easily consumed this in an evening and deeply enjoyed it. I want to thank Harlequin/Mira and netGalley for providing this ARC in exchange for my unbiased review.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Ah. It was ok. Slow moving and I suspected what was going on fro

    Ah. It was ok. Slow moving and I suspected what was going on from the start. But an ok read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Finally!

    Finally! I was beginning to think she had forgotten about Will, or just didn't view him as important. It was a great mystery, but the romance was kind of a dud. One minute they are fighting, and the next planning on forever with nothing inbetween. I would also have like a little more background on Katya and Will. As always, Heather Graham gives us an amazing historical mystery, with just a touch of paranormal. Absolutely one if my favorite authors.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2014

    Another great book

    Heather Graham has a way of never running out of ideas of these awesome stories. From the minute you pick up this books, and all of her other books, she has a way of keeping your interest from the 1st page to the last page

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2014

    3

    This book is quite good. Finally the characters are becoming developed and their personalities are better understood. The biggest downside is the incorrect use of saxitoxin. It is not from lobster and does not cause anaphylaxix as a cause of death. Saxitoxin poisioning was described but named anaphylaxis. This is very distracting while reading to see something so obviously incorrect.
    Besides the errors already mentioned this is a good story involving the Texas Krew

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Recommend

    Great Read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Love

    Heather Graham is just plain fun to read. Ill admit at times you are thinking this is impossible. I dont read romance novels but enjoy the personal when in conjunction with the paranormal. I have yet to read a Graham book where I have not been entertained. My husband wont even let me start a Graham book before bed because I cant stop once I start. Being a huge fan of the old mystery, thriller or horror I should not like any of Heather Graham's books. Yet I do. I have learned in my old age there is more out there. Im too darn old to try roller blading but not a new genre of book reading. Her books are paranormal romance I have been told. I think they are just a whole bunch of good writing and fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2012

    Great book!

    This was a great addition to the Krewe of Hunters series she's been working on. The story kept me interested and the characters seemed to come to life. I look forward to more books in this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Just a note

    I really love the books. But if someone did drown in lake michigan he would not have salt water in his lungs. Lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    Another hit!!

    Once again Heather Graham keeps you wanting more. Its one of those books you never want to put down. It keeps you guessing, is the evil being a person or a ghost?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Heather Graham has done it again.....i was hooked from the first moment i i started to read "The Unspoken"......she's my favorite author because of novels like this one....it's a must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Truly anything by Heather Graham is a great read. The characters she introduces are great you just want to keep reading about them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Good book

    This was good reading and kept you on your toes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2012

    In Graham’s paranormal mystery novel, a veteran diver and

    In Graham’s paranormal mystery novel, a veteran diver and “ghost ship” expert dies while exploring a legendary wreck for a documentary. Without explanation, another diver dies and panic begins to spread. Rumors about ancient demons begin to circulate, terrifying everyone in their wake.

    The expedition’s financier calls paranormal investigator Katya Sokolov to Chicago to investigate the situation. Teaming with media forensics guru Will Chan, Kat plumages the depths of an evil that may or may not date back to the time of the Pharaohs.

    An excellent addition to the Krewe of Hunters series. I couldn’t put it down until the last page!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Living room

    In order to acess it you must go to shae on the overview and click rate and review. The living room has a couch and coffee table. It ha a little bean bag chair next to the couch facing the flatscree tv.

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2