Customer Reviews for

The Untamed Mackenzie

Average Rating 4.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 9, 2013

    Jennifer Ashley takes us back Victorian England and to the irres

    Jennifer Ashley takes us back Victorian England and to the irresistible Mackenzie family in her novella, The Untamed Mackenzie. Detective Inspector Lloyd Fellows has gone from foe (in The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie) to family, as we've learned through the course of the series. We've been teased with glimpses of attraction between Fellows and Lady Isabella Mackenzie's younger sister, Louisa Scranton, for some time and now...finally...we get their story.

    Ashley does an incredible job of packing a full story (complete with investigation and burgeoning romance) into a shorter novella without making it feel rushed. The world building of the series is so well written that it feels as if you were transported back in time. While most of the series has been set in high society (no matter how down to earth the Mackenzie's may be, they are a part of the aristocracy), it was a pleasure to see London and events through the eyes Lloyd Fellows, the Mackenzie's illegitimate brother and Scotland Yard detective.

    It's always a pleasure catching up with the ever expanding Mackenzie family and we get a chance to catch up with the entire family. Ashley doesn't believe in having shrinking violet female main characters and Lady Louisa is no exception. Suspected of murder and continuously cut by her peers, she's determined to clear her name (often with the assistance of the incorrigible Daniel Mackenzie) and rise above her families scandalous past to make a good match. Meanwhile, Fellows must do everything in his power to protect Louisa from the hangman's noose and fight his growing attraction.

    If you haven't met the Mackenzies yet, you're missing out, so hurry! Get the series now!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    not bad

    I liked this one, wasn't great, but worth reading

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    The Untamed MacKenzie is Lloyd Fellows and Louisa Scranton¿s sto

    The Untamed MacKenzie is Lloyd Fellows and Louisa Scranton’s story. This is a MacKenzie novella and while I wish that Fellows and Louisa had a full length book, it was not to be. I have read Jennifer Ashley’s paranormal series and though that discovered the MacKenzies. I really love this series and the characters. Lloyd Fellows is a police inspector for Scotland Yard. He has been a recurring character in the other MacKenzie books. (You come to find out that Fellows is the illegitimate son of the Duke of Kilmorgan and the half-brother of the MacKenzies) Through his interactions with the MacKenzies he meets Louisa Scranton. In past books they have shared a steamy kiss or two. Louisa is the daughter of a disgraced Earl and as such is looking to make a suitable marriage match to restore the family name and place in society, although she secretly yearns for Fellows. At a garden party, Louisa is the last person to see the Bishop of Hargrave alive. It is deduced that he was poisoned and although this did not occur in London, Inspector Fellows is telegraphed to investigate due to the people involved. This is where it gets murky. Fellows knows in his heart that Louisa is innocent but someone is doing their best to frame her. A heretofore above reproach investigator is now willing to falsify evidence and make things up to help Louisa. The Bishop turns out to be a very bad man with lots of enemies. The murdered was someone unexpected with his/her own dirty little secret. I liked being able to re-visit the other MacKenzies in this book especially Ian (one of my favorites) and that Danny played such a big part. I can’t wait for his book. You could read this novella without reading the other books in this series but I think you would get more out of it if you knew the Mackenzies.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2014

    Love those Mackenzie's! This is a short novella, which packs a

    Love those Mackenzie's! This is a short novella, which packs a lot into a short story. I loved Lloyd Fellows in all of the books, and Louisa was a nice match for him. The one sex scene is very fast, and not descriptive as some romance books are, so I rate it very mild. This is about how when tragedy strikes, you find out who your real friends are. Most of Louisa
    s friends leave her, there is a twist I didn't see coming with one friend. I thought I knew who the murderer was at the very beginning, but oh so wrong. I agree with other reviewer's, it is such a nice feeling to get to touch base with all the Mackenzie's and their extended families. I would highly recommend you reading these in order to fully appreciate all the family members and how they react to each other and the reason behind it all. (ljb)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I have been waiting for this book since "Lady Isabella's Sc

    I have been waiting for this book since "Lady Isabella's Scandalous Marriage" when Louisa and Fellows kissed on the ladder and I was not disappointed. I love this series and I highly recommend it to everyone who love historical romance. We met Fellows in the first book and we find out that he's the illegitimate brother of the MacKenzie's. Louisa is Isabella's younger sister who lived in Isabella's shadow until she ran off with Mac and the had to live through the fall out and disgrace of their father. Fellows loves Louisa from a far until Louisa is accused of murder.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    MY THOUGHTS: THE UNTAMED MACKENZIE by Jennifer Ashley is an exci

    MY THOUGHTS:
    THE UNTAMED MACKENZIE by Jennifer Ashley is an exciting Historical Romance. #5.5 of the "Highland Pleasures" series, but can be read as a stand alone. Fast paced and filled with mystery, murder, mayhem, passion and suspense. This is Lady Louisa Scranton and Detective Inspector Lloyd Fellows,who just happens to be a Scottish Mackenzie laird's by-blow and an inspector for Scotland Yard. When Louisa is accused of murder, Lloyd is determined to clear her name, although, she does fire his blood as well. Louisa is intrigue by Lloyd as well as intrigues her. Passion ignites and the rest they say is history.....
    For a fast paced romp through the English parish. A man of little standing meets a woman accused of murder,sparks ignite and they are in for a fight of their lives to save Lousia and find a killer. A great read! Received for an honest review from the publisher and Net Galley.
    RATING: 4
    HEAT RATING: MILD
    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2013

    I Loved this book. It was worth every second reading it. I was d

    I Loved this book. It was worth every second reading it. I was drawn into the situation trying to figure the who, what and why. It is worth every penny spent to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    A must read.

    The Mackenzie family series has been a fun and well written series and this e-book will not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2013

    Loved this Hero in earlier books and was waiting for his story.

    Loved this Hero in earlier books and was waiting for his story. I only wish the book might have been longer to delve deeper into the psyche of this wonderfully-tortured man! A very enjoyable novella, just like her Christmas book. J. Ashley handles the shorter lengths very well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1