Customer Reviews for

The Untold History of the United States

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

I hope and wish all americans read this book and realize how ame

I hope and wish all americans read this book and realize how american politics effect and make it unsafe for millions of people around the world. facts are not what the goverment tells you (we are bringing democracy and helping its people) is the biggest lie. please ...
I hope and wish all americans read this book and realize how american politics effect and make it unsafe for millions of people around the world. facts are not what the goverment tells you (we are bringing democracy and helping its people) is the biggest lie. please open your eyes and see the devastation and kaos in every country invaded by our troops. live and let live, piece and love to all

posted by lale on November 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

The Untold History of the United States, obviously written by Ku

The Untold History of the United States, obviously written by Kuznick, although Stone’s name appears first—reveals them to offer not an untold story, but the all-too-familiar Communist and Soviet line on America’s past as it developed in the early years of the Cold War....
The Untold History of the United States, obviously written by Kuznick, although Stone’s name appears first—reveals them to offer not an untold story, but the all-too-familiar Communist and Soviet line on America’s past as it developed in the early years of the Cold War.
Stone asserts that Poland was meant to be in Stalin’s hands since Russia had been invaded twice by armies crossing the Polish border, and that after Yalta, Stalin never betrayed his agreement to allow free elections. This was the Kremlin line at the time to a tee. It is Truman who is portrayed as untrustworthy and feckless by resisting what was supposed to have been a done deal.
Stone allows no critical opinions by scholars who have studied the Soviet archives to disturb his rehash of Communist propaganda themes. His sainted Henry Wallace opposed the creation of NATO, advocated abandoning Berlin in response to the Soviet blockade, denounced the Marshall Plan for European reconstruction as “the martial plan,” and justified the 1948 Communist coup in Czechoslovakia as a measure to thwart a plot by fascist forces. Precisely the Kremlin line

posted by johnk on November 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 12, 2012

    The Untold History of the United States, obviously written by Ku

    The Untold History of the United States, obviously written by Kuznick, although Stone’s name appears first—reveals them to offer not an untold story, but the all-too-familiar Communist and Soviet line on America’s past as it developed in the early years of the Cold War.
    Stone asserts that Poland was meant to be in Stalin’s hands since Russia had been invaded twice by armies crossing the Polish border, and that after Yalta, Stalin never betrayed his agreement to allow free elections. This was the Kremlin line at the time to a tee. It is Truman who is portrayed as untrustworthy and feckless by resisting what was supposed to have been a done deal.
    Stone allows no critical opinions by scholars who have studied the Soviet archives to disturb his rehash of Communist propaganda themes. His sainted Henry Wallace opposed the creation of NATO, advocated abandoning Berlin in response to the Soviet blockade, denounced the Marshall Plan for European reconstruction as “the martial plan,” and justified the 1948 Communist coup in Czechoslovakia as a measure to thwart a plot by fascist forces. Precisely the Kremlin line

    14 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2012

    I hope and wish all americans read this book and realize how ame

    I hope and wish all americans read this book and realize how american politics effect and make it unsafe for millions of people around the world. facts are not what the goverment tells you (we are bringing democracy and helping its people) is the biggest lie. please open your eyes and see the devastation and kaos in every country invaded by our troops. live and let live, piece and love to all

    7 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    We know who is behind the official history. The massive injectio

    We know who is behind the official history. The massive injection of capital never underestimating
    the importance of historical narratives. This is historical take from public interest perspective. It goes
    against  the information monopolists.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    Very insightful look at the development of our nations history

    Very insightful look at the development of our nations history

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    Have not read the book yet, but if it is half as interesting as

    Have not read the book yet, but if it is half as interesting as the TV series, then it'll be a great read.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    GREAT WRITING

    VERY INFORMATIVE AND GREAT READING

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Highly Recommended for Those Seeking the Truth.

    The truth is explained here. It is not always pretty. But peal away the varnish of biased brushes and you're left with the cold explanations of what actually happened through American history. This book is an eye-opener for the non-historian; and validation for the learned. A must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Very good

    The best book that i read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    LOVED this book!

    If you don't think we are being told all by our government and media, and want to find out more, you need to read this book! He has facts to back up what he states in the book, it's not just thoughts of what he thinks happened. Very enlightening, and also scary to know what is going on behind closed doors.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    Why%3F

    Why%3F

    1 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    Recommended for reading (printed version)

    I am reading the printed version presently but have problems to load the e-book to my e-book device for reading. I would like to read the book on tour but until now (with my "kobo" reader) it is only black.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Enjoyed it

    Makes me want to watch the mini series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    An excellent companion to the miniseries. Stone and Kuznick coll

    An excellent companion to the miniseries. Stone and Kuznick collaborated on an amazingly informative and important documentary series and book that reveals many truths that have been swept under the rug, unless you were or are a history major or instructor in college or aficionado of history who spends a good deal of time reading and researching. This is one of the best sources for the public to gain an understanding of other truths and incidents that occurred that has been largely forgotten or purposely set aside by the mainstream media and public education.
    It is important for us all to understand all aspects of history; from the most positive deeds that the nation has done to those we may be shocked by. The greatest thing about this nation is that we have the right to dissent and speak out. Those rights can only be truly utilized when we also have as much of the information at our disposal as we can.
    Stone and Kuznick have provided a thorough investigation that indeed reveals many of the "untold" incidents that have taken place in our nation's history of the past 100 years or so. Both the series and the material tell it in an entertaining and comprehensive manner.
    I'd highly recommend this to readers of all levels of interest.
    It is our job as citizens to keep our government honest. The only way we can do so is by reading and learning from differing, credible, well-researched and fact-checked points of view as in this book and others, and then taking that knowledge and acting to keep our government true to the ideals that have long been applied to our nation since it's birth. The information and insights in this material is such a source.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Tedious reading

    This book starts out with interesting facts but dwells too much on
    the war and the history of the war. I hope Oliver Stone checked
    out all his facts.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2