Customer Reviews for

The Unwinding: An Inner History of the New America

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Very insightful book about the modern economy.  Packer deftly sh

Very insightful book about the modern economy.  Packer deftly shows how our institutions are failing us and how some people how found new ways to sustain themselves.

posted by Anonymous on May 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 119 people found this review helpful.

The satisfaction with which the "unwinding" of America

The satisfaction with which the "unwinding" of America is described only underlines Parker's agenda: The "radical transformation" of the country promised by Our Dear Leader. The faux sad tone with which Parker describes the condition of the economy o...
The satisfaction with which the "unwinding" of America is described only underlines Parker's agenda: The "radical transformation" of the country promised by Our Dear Leader. The faux sad tone with which Parker describes the condition of the economy only thinly veils his satisfaction that the Obama Recession (five years and counting) is the driving force behind the drive towards a state-controlled economy. Get a job, Parker.

posted by Slothmorse on May 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Very insightful book about the modern economy.  Packer deftly sh

    Very insightful book about the modern economy.  Packer deftly shows how our institutions are failing us and how some people how found new ways to sustain themselves.

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Based on the excerpt provided that I just read, I think the book

    Based on the excerpt provided that I just read, I think the book will be interesting and insightful. A detailed look at where we once were as a Country and the devastating decline we now find ourselves and our Nation.

    I look forward to reading the full work as soon as possible.

    SW

    12 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    Please do not dimsiss this book as a simple polemic; it is anyth

    Please do not dimsiss this book as a simple polemic; it is anything but. Packer weaves together a narrative that examines the individual lives and choices of ordinary Americans, but it places their experiences squarely within the larger context of the political and business climate of the past four decades. The result is something akin to great tragic fiction, in that the charaters often are battling unseen or not understood forces that hold powerful sway over their lives. If you were born (as I was) between 1960-1970, this book is not just a history, it's our cultural biography. Highly recommended!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2013

    The satisfaction with which the "unwinding" of America

    The satisfaction with which the "unwinding" of America is described only underlines Parker's agenda: The "radical transformation" of the country promised by Our Dear Leader. The faux sad tone with which Parker describes the condition of the economy only thinly veils his satisfaction that the Obama Recession (five years and counting) is the driving force behind the drive towards a state-controlled economy. Get a job, Parker.

    9 out of 119 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a great book about the modern economy. The author puts t

    This is a great book about the modern economy. The author puts things in a way we can all understand.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    A fascinating look at American society over the last 40 years.

    A fascinating look at American society over the last 40 years. I believed I was well informed about the evaporating middle class (of which I am a part) in America until I read this book. A must read!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Frightening

    Packer's narrative humanizes what's happening in America today. And, it's not a pretty picture. We all read about some of the issues he covers, but his telling of a handful of people who are being affected by big government and its cronies big money could easily be any of us who are what used to be called "solid middle class." And, it's hitting professionals too - like doctors who have (or had) solo practices and have now been bought out by big medicine because they can't afford to run their practices and pay their staff - or even provide medical benefits for them. Ironic, isn't it? I hate to think of what things will be like for my grandchildren.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    I recommend this.

    Mr. Packer has, instead of being "preachy", utilized a novel way of detailing the dramatic changes in our society through the voices of some people who have lived though this period. It makes it easy to see how many of our politicians are apparently isolated from the real world inhabited by the rest of us. Mr Packer makes no projections for the future but, how can one these days?

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Compelling recent history

    By (brilliantly) using the structure of "U.S.A." (the classic Dos Pasos novel), Packer managers to achieve the most humane and compelling book about the Great Recession. Don't react in a knee-jerk partisan way - read and understand how the economic crisis has affected real people.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    A concise, human explanation of the economic and political decli

    A concise, human explanation of the economic and political decline of America since the oil crisis of 1973. As a Piedmont North Carolinian who graduated college in 1973 , I cannot imagine a better accounting of the changes in the lives of Americans. A great read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Do not review a book until you have read it douche

    It is misleading

    4 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    What's the Fuss

    Some interesting case studies--- some famous folk, some not--- of individuals affected by the social forces of the past decade or so. But to make any grand conclusions on the basis of these few cases is perilous thus, I think, it's a less major book than some would have it. I don't think it has been a great year for non-fiction (or fiction either). Alan Taylor's NBA nominee a more durable book on a big subject, but only of great interest to scholars.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    A Little Slow

    I am somewhat sad that it does not provide more real information. A handful of stories from a few Americans does not a country make.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2014

    Very informative and highly recommended

    Author does a good job explaining what has been going on during our
    lifetime in this country.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    A fantastic book.

    An easy read. Very interesting and touching. As good as Assains Gate.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    A haunting look at the real american dream

    This book keeps sticking with me. The author has a very unique way of showing how our profound sense of american exceptionalism and unquestioned belief in the rightness of capitalism has destroyed the very thing our founding fathers sought to create. Although all is not lost! Packard weaves in characters who refuse to give up, highlights the amazing technological advances american minds create, and shows that common sense (ex. Biodiesel) is usually the best idea. A must read for anyone interested in the REAL political, social, and economic factors that have created the america of today.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    I'm on the B&N website, searching for new reading material.

    I'm on the B&N website, searching for new reading material.

    I was considering this book until I saw this:  "There’s a pervasive sense that “nothing was locked down,”
    thanks to the erosion of bank regulations that for 50 years averted the panics, and meltdowns that now
    push the middle class to the brink."

    OK, so it was only "bank regulations" that kept the country sound for several centuries.  If I want to read about how MORE government is needed (they already tell me how to flush my toilet and light my home), I'll subscribe to the NYT.  In the meantime, I'll pass on this book. 

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2013

    Not to be missed

    George Packer is an excellent writter and tells of America's decline in a fascinating manner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2013




    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2015

    Excellent reading

    Thoughtful and well documented review concerning changes taking place in American society today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2