Customer Reviews for

The Unwritten, Volume 1: Tommy Taylor and the Bogus Identity

Average Rating 3.5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting Premise, but Confusing

    The premise of this graphic novel is pretty interesting. However the interest ends there and just turns to confusing. We don’t really get any type of character development. The characters are just there to push the story along. For the first volume I didn’t feel like there was strong enough of a conclusion or cliffhanger.

    The art wasn’t amazing, but it got the job done.

    For a really great myth comes alive story check out the Fables books.

    Reviewed by Chris for Book Sake.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    Fantastic concept, highly enjoyable.

    I loved the concept for this book, and it was executed very well. The art is classic to comic book style, with some new touches similar to the walking dead. The entire book is in color, and with very good color concept.
    A little short, but it makes you want the next volume right away. Barnes & Noble delivers once more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Fun book.

    Great graphic novel love the premise

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    A feast for literature geeks, but some parts might turn your stomache

    I love this series in spite of a few moments that I found a bit too gruesome and horrifying. It's worth getting through those for the literary allusions and insights that make my synapses sing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A terrifically offbeat and original idea!

    Mike Carey delves into a literary hodge podge of the past and combines it with a Harry Potter-esque hype to create an incredible mystery that seems to have more layers than even the readers know. The art is very simple but that's not a bad thing. Peter Gross makes all the normal human characters identifiable and that's not always easy. I can't wait to see what happens next to Tommy Taylor, er I mean Tom Taylor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    We'll have to see...

    Although I absolutely loved the mythology and storyline of Lucifer, I have yet to be wowed by unwritten. The Harry Potter catch is pretty weak. He could have given similar impulse to his story line without ripping off a pretty un-original background for it's first breath of life. The mood and setting are good otherwise though, so I guess we'll just have to see. Because I've loved Carey's other works, I hold hope....and hope that Harry Potter will not be all he has to offer over the life of this yarn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A good start, but left me wanting for something a little more.

    Imagine that you are Harry Potter. Not the character in the wildly popular book series, but actually a young man named Harry Potter who is the basis for the wildly popular, thirteen book series that your father wrote with the main character based on you. What do you think your life would be like?

    That's basically how The Unwritten opens. Tom Taylor's dad has written an enormously popular series of books, very similar to the Harry Potter books, and based the main character of the series on his son, even naming the series of the books after his son. Tom Taylor has grown up being "Tommy Taylor," the hero of his father's book series, and is becoming quite tired of that persona. He's tried several times to break out on his own, but nothing can change the public's perception that he is Tommy Taylor, boy wizard.

    Eventually, it comes to light that possibly Tom Taylor may not be the person that even he thinks he is, and he goes on his own quest to discover his past and who he really is, only to discover there are secrets about his life that may or may not parallel the events of the books that his father wrote and that there is a group that seems to be bent of destroying him and who also seem to have been involved with other authors over the years, influencing their work to their own, mysterious ends.

    Frankly, I had a hard time finishing this story. It was read for a graphic novel discussion group that I belong to, and found that I had lost interest about halfway through. I think the author is trying to drop too many mysteries all at one time into the story to make it intriguing, but I found it just made too many story threads to try to keep track of. One thing that I found particularly distracting was the final chapter of this collected edition, which tells who this mysterious group has been influencing authors for years. When I got to the last panel of the main story, and turned the page and discovered what seemed like an entirely disparate story going on, I actually thought there had been a mistake at the printer and that another entirely different graphic novel had been bound into the volume that I was reading. Once I figured out that this was telling a little back story, it made it a little more clear, but to finish out the novel in such a drastically different way really pulled me entirely out of a story that was already just barely keeping my interest. However, on the flip side of that, I'm interested to see how the map that is discovered that seems to link Tom Taylor to numerous physical landmarks that have some sort of tie to literary events (such as the house that all the main characters end up at the end of the book is the same house where Milton wrote Paradise Lost, Mary Shelley wrote Frankenstein and finally, supposedly Tom Taylor's father wrote the Tommy Taylor books here, too). This is the one aspect of the story that will bring me to getting the second volume, because I'd like to see how Carey works in other literary works into this story and how they will help Tom Taylor get out of his predicament.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1