Customer Reviews for

The Vampire King

Average Rating 4
( 409 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(214)

4 Star

(105)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

64 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

WOW! Awesome Start To An Awesome New Series

One of my favorite things about the stories that Heather Killough-Walden writes is the way her characters come to life. Even though this is a spin-off of The Big Bad Wolf series the characters, previously introduced or brand new, are extremely all well developed. The V...
One of my favorite things about the stories that Heather Killough-Walden writes is the way her characters come to life. Even though this is a spin-off of The Big Bad Wolf series the characters, previously introduced or brand new, are extremely all well developed. The Vampire King stands on its own and, thanks to the incredible story telling gift of Heather Killough-Walden, you will soon come to love (and hate) the characters you meet in this series.

Roman DeAngelo is everything you would expect from a 3000 year old vampire king, and then some. Dark, to die for (he-he) gorgeous, unbelievably sexy and more than extremely powerful. He has only one weakness, Evie Farrow, a lovely human (or so she thinks) writer who can't quite connect to the human world. She is everything Roman dreams of, literally. His enemies would do anything to bring him down and Evie could be the way to do it.

Evie Farrow is the kind of female lead that we (okay, I) want to be. She is intelligent, strong and determined. She is touched with a hint of magic and has that extra something that can't quite be described or understood. Not only does she have Romans heart from the moment he meets her, she has attracted one of Romans most dangerous enemies, a very powerful warlock who is also a rogue vampire with a never ending hatred for Roman.

TVK is a wonderful romance with edge of your seat suspense in an adventure full of agonizing and wonderful twists and turns. It begins with the first chapter and it never lets up. Even the ending is a promise of things to come...

posted by PatEE on February 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Unfortunately I have to give a star... worst book I have EVER read

I'm not sure how this book got 4 stars unless the author did it herself. Too frustrating to read, not worth any amount of money. The story jumped around and new characters were introduced throughout. I kept thinking I had missed something and wasted time backtracking...
I'm not sure how this book got 4 stars unless the author did it herself. Too frustrating to read, not worth any amount of money. The story jumped around and new characters were introduced throughout. I kept thinking I had missed something and wasted time backtracking, only to discover that I hadn't missed anything--it wasn't there to begin with! UGH! It's self-published for obvious reasons. All in all, very disappointing.

posted by 7901605 on February 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Anonymous

    This book did not impress me at all. The writing was very amateur. The story line was typical and overdone. This book was just a spinoff of the Twilight books and an Anne Rice novel. I definitely won't be reading any more books in this series. The writing seemed forced and that the writer was trying to hard to relate to a more modern audience. Sorry, but I would not recommend this book to anyone looking for a good book to get lost in.

    7 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Oh gee, where to start? So many problems with this book... I wa

    Oh gee, where to start? So many problems with this book...

    I was happy when I opened this ebook to see that it was well over 600 pages long. Yay! A good length to last me a while. WRONG. The book is really barely 200 pages. It was a very short book and read very quickly. Normally I would not bash an author for this. Short and sweet is sometimes good. In this case, not so much. Since this is a start to a new series, she way kept trying to build up this overly complicated world in very little time. If you want to do that, fine, but actually devote the effort to doing it right! She kept mentioning all these different people and storylines and places that at the end of the book had absolutely no impact on the storyline whatsoever. The cave and the astral realm? Yeah, they added nothing to story and had no importance. The scene with the werewolves from her previous books (haven’t read them, but from that little snippet in here I can’t say I’m really eager to give it a try)? Nope, had nothing to do with anything either. And the bad guy Ramses and the hunters? Another background character with the potential to be interesting. But cut those scenes out and you’d never know the difference. There was just SO MUCH useless junk in this book. All it did was distract from the fact that main characters had no plot themselves. Take out all the useless background fluff and you a 30-page novel. Not joking.

    Which brings me to my next complaint. The story is incredibly repetitive. And I mean that literally. The author kept repeating scenes. The SAME EXACT scene just from another characters point of view. I kept flipping back thinking I must of had a glitch in the ebook (there were a lot of formatting errors in this book that would make you think so) because I would have sworn up and down that I was reading the same page I had just finished. Nope. She just rewrote the same page she already had. Okay, so that 30-page novel is actually more like 20 pages now.

    In the end, I can overlook formatting errors and misspelled words. It was obvious that this book hasn’t received a single moment of editing, and I’ll forgive it for a self-published author. But the one this that just completely destroyed this book for me is the fact that there was NO CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT AT ALL! She introduced the Vampire King. Told us he was 3,000 years old, gorgeous, and all-powerful. He meets Evie and proceeds to fall head over heels in love with her for no reason whatsoever. The only conversation they have between meeting and living happily ever after is the one where he tells her he’s a vampire. Her only part in the conversation is to stare at him like he’s a lunatic. Next thing you know she’s been kidnapped and the only way to save her is to turn her into a vampire. The end. Seriously? He has one conversation with her (if you can really call it that) and he’s professing his undying love for her and naming her his queen? Oh, please. He’s acting more like a naïve teenage girl than a 3000 year old vampire. That may be endearing to some, but I just wanted to smack him and tell him to grow a pair already. But in a nutshell, that’s the entire book – they meet, they talk once, she gets kidnapped, he saves her/turns her/screws her and TA-DA! The end. I just saved you $3.

    One more thing. I got so sick of the all the references to how Evie was a superior person because she was also an author. Felt more like the author praising herself than developing the character. Ugh. Don't bother.

    6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2012

    Ok

    Kind of dorky, predictable.typical vampire falls for mortal. Love of his life, blah blah blah!!!! Not impressed......And everyone was way too beautiful and sexy. Of course.......

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Too many side stories

    The author spent so much time setting up future books that there wasn't really much to the main story line. I was disappointed. There is barely any interaction between the 2 main characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Dull...probably wouldn't buy it again, even if it does only cost $3

    I got this because it was only $3 and had good reviews. The reviews told me that it was a new series within the same world as a previous series, but that one didn't need to have read the previous series to follow this. I got along ok, but it definately would have been much easier had I read the other series. There was not enough focus on the main plot, instead jumping around to other characters who seem completely unrelated to the plot. There are also formating issues galore throughout. Words and punctuation don't fit on this line? No problem, just start the next line with that punctuation or the other half of that word. But worst, in my opinion, was the lack of development in the relationship. The vampire king falls madly in love with the girl at first sight, which is explainable with magic, but the girl spends ninety percent of the book freaking out, not getting to know him, then is instantly in love with him. It took about 300 of the 660 some pages for the two to actually meet after all the other side characters droned on. And whenever they start to bond or anything, some violent thing happens to interrupt them. There was a little bit of enjoyable plot near the end, but I was too annoyed by the girl's sudden undying love to really get into it. The author tries to suck you into the next book by having a mysterious "little do they know" moment at the end, but then I remember slogging through over 600 pages and figure it isn't worth it to figure out what happens next.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    OK story but please....

    The storyline was decent, but these romance novels are a bit much. The men are always "huge" (really??) and the women just love it (again, really??) and it's all they need for mind blowing sex (REALLY?????).

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    Missing

    Good but felt like it was missing part of the story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Ok

    Violence and erotica ifyou like that sort of thing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Disappionted

    I found myself skipping through pages, hoping the story would grab my interest. Sadly it did not. I purchased the second book and have no desire to read it. Very disappointed. I loved her wolf series. Going to archive both books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    If you are looking for a Paranormal romance this book is not for

    If you are looking for a Paranormal romance this book is not for you. If you are looking for a paranormal thriller then this is up your alley. You can tell what I was looking for in my rating. Not sayig this was a bad book, it just wasn't what I looking for. I never read the BBW series and after reading this book I don't plan on it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Its okay

    Its okay

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    So-So

    This was a nice little read one cold, rainy day. Not particularly good, but not the worst thing I've read. Just So-So. I don't regret purchasing it, but wouldn't rush out to buy any of the sequels either.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Not great

    Not great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2