Customer Reviews for

The Vampire's Warden, A Paranormal Romance

Average Rating 4
( 380 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(135)

4 Star

(118)

3 Star

(82)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Awesome read

I couldn't put this book down. It kept me up all night finishing it. S.J. Wright is an outstanding author. I highly recomend The Vampire's Warden.

posted by mfergie28 on April 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I can't believe I wasted 99 cents on this...

I did enjoy the idea of the story. It was definately different. BUT, I constantly felt like I was missing paragraphs or whole pages. I found myself re-reading to make sure I didn't miss something. It seemed the author had a hard time remembering the time line and the de...
I did enjoy the idea of the story. It was definately different. BUT, I constantly felt like I was missing paragraphs or whole pages. I found myself re-reading to make sure I didn't miss something. It seemed the author had a hard time remembering the time line and the descriptions of the characters. It was months since she had seen her sister, yet her father had just passed 3 week prior. One character had green eyes then they were blue then they were green again. I can't believe so many people gave this 4 stars or better. It was AWFUL!

posted by tlb77 on April 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    Great new indie author!

    This was a really good story! Sarah, who has no idea that vampires even exist, has the job of Vampire Warden fall into her lap after her father dies from cancer. Ok, so you would think that since this job falls to the next person in line in the family, the fact that vampire exist wouldn't have been kept from Sarah. Not only does Sarah have to deal with this whole new world she's been pushed into, she also has to deal with the recent death of her father, the fact that her mother isn't really dead - she just left, her sister being in danger, the regular family business to run, etc... She has a lot on her plate right now and you can't help but feel for her. A mysterious guy named Alex shows up at the Inn that Sarah now runs, saying that her mother sent him there to help her. She also is dealing with this attraction she is starting to feel toward Michael - the vampire she is supposed to guard who is equally as mysterious as Alex. There wasn't any romance in this book, which I was a little disappointed about, but I predict that will be coming in the next novella. I am sort of seeing a love triangle coming, but I guess I will just have to wait and see. There are also a lot of unanswered questions hanging, so I am definitely looking forward to finding out what happens next! I recommend this book to teen OR adult readers of the paranormal genre.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    Hard to put down

    Ms. Wright gives an old favorite a refreshing new voice. A debut author that will be a delight to watch. Looking forward to the next book in the series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Start to the Series

    Sarah Brightman has the unique task of being a Vampire's Warden. Only, according to Sarah, vampires don't exist.

    Sarah's life as an innkeeper is flipped upside down by the journal of her grandfather and the arrival of the Counsel of Vampires. As she learns more and more about Vampires she finds herself drawn to the very Vampire she is to keep imprisoned.

    When her sister is kidnapped by Vampires, Sarah has to make the ultimate choice: save her sister or keep the dangerous Vampire locked up.

    Lets Talk About It:

    The Vampire's Warden is a really good story that I gobbled up in one sitting. It pulls you in pretty quickly and before you know it you've read the whole dang thing.

    I enjoyed the story and the characters very much. I was a bit dissapointed with the ending, however. I felt it left the story open too much, almost as if this book, this story didn't have a conclusion. It was much like watching your favorite TV show only to have it end with a 'to be continued' flashing across the bottom.

    Now I have to anxiously wait for the next in the series to find out what happens, and the why's behind all that happened in the orginal book.

    If you enjoy cliffhangers.. pick this up now!

    Melissa
    Reviwer for 1000 + Books to Read

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    Very Good!!! Couldn't get enough!

    I loved it! I couldn't put it down!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Couldn't put it down

    There are a lot of vampire books out right now. This one was different and interesting. It really pulled me into the story. Well done.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    Cleverly different expecially considering the genre

    I loved this book. Well worth the cost. I am hoping the next book is just as good or better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    Totally Vampy!!

    I truly enjoyed this book. It was fresh and unique when it comes to vampires. I loved the premise of a "Vampire Warden", so cool. The characters were all likeable and Sarah was a good, strong female lead. I can't wait for the next book. S.J. Wright is an awesome up and coming author. She's certainly caught my attention and I'm impatiently awaiting her future adventures. Good job!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    Deserves a Longer Book

    I really, really enjoyed reading this. Its not because of some Vampire love triangle or anything like that. The potential is there but the storyline is much more.

    Sarah and Katie have just lost their father. They don't know too much about their mother, only believing that she's been dead for years. The family doctor breaks the news that their mother is not dead after all. A mysterious stranger by the name of Alex suddenly makes an appearance. His reasons for being there are eventually revealed, throwing another wrench into the emotional upheaval that Sarah is experiencing.

    While reeling from this unexpected news, Sarah is given a mysterious journal that unlocks even more family secrets. Sarah finds herself the new, albeit unwilling, Warden over the Vampire "jail" and not a moment too soon. Unfortunately for her, its a position that's passed down through the generations. Should she refuse, it falls to Katie. To Sarah, this is unthinkable. Katie is in college, setting up her future. Sarah, as the eldest, shoulders this new responsibility.

    Just when she thinks she has it under control, Michael enters the scene bringing a whole lot of trouble. That's when it starts to get really interesting.

    Sarah is not an angst-filled young woman, but someone who cares deeply and is faced with unbelievable danger. She carries a heavy burden and is trying to work her way through it. Alex and Michael have a very deep history that I hope the author goes into more detail with in the next book. There are a lot of unanswered questions about Nelly, Dr. Fleming and the others but I guess it comes with the territory of writing a series. You are intrigued enough to get the next installment to find out what happens next.

    Ms. Wright has definitely achieved that.

    The writing is dark, delicious and fast-paced. I do hope that the next installment is longer than this one. I like novellas, don't get me wrong but this deserves a more thorough write. There are so many different ways the Vampire Warden could go and should be told in a longer book. Either way, I am definitely getting the next one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    Incredible!

    The Vampire's Warden" is an incredibly different take on the vampire myth. Vampires still need to be invited in and they still only come out at night. However, a family originating from Pawnee roots have the ability to contain vampires on their property from generation to generation.

    Three months after the death of her father, Sarah a 23 year old woman discovers that the mother she believed to be dead for fourteen years is alive. He is livid, disappointed, betrayed and devastated. She is given a journal that her father left instruction to be given to her outlining the family legacy: They are vampire wardens. While Sarah attempts to come to grips with all of this, she also must find a way to run the family inn and find a way to tell her younger sister, Katie of the betrayal.

    A stranger comes to the inn, Alex who is sent by her mother to help her with the farm and her new duties. At first, she tries to send him away until she realizes she truly needs him. Then, she meets Michael, one of the vampires whose incarceration she is responsible for. He is dark, mysterious and sexy. Sarah is both attracted and fearful.

    I do not want to reveal any other details of the storyline because I do not want to spoil the read of this wonderful story. E. J. Wright creates a wonderful powerful read and I read it with zealous enthusiasm. My only complaint is that the story seemed rushed at time and the ending was just too abrupt. However, the author makes up for it by including more details into the first chapter of the next novel entitled, "The Vampire's Curse." I was able to pick up this e-book for 99 cents. Although I will tell you it is worth far more. Do not hesitant, beg, borrow, or steal (No, not really) this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    Was great!! Cant wait for the new one!!

    This book was great. I like how she managed to break the vampire facade with the Vampires Warden. The characters are great and Sarah is a great character. However, I think the name changed I dont know if that was a typo or maybe I read it wrong. In the first book her name was Sarah Wood and in the excerpt from the new one her name is Sarah Brightman. Just might want to correct that. It could confuse some readers expecially when the new book comes out. Other than this mishap the book was a great read. I am looking foward to seeing what happens with Sarah and Alex and especially Michael.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    Need Another!!!! NOW!

    The story is quite simple. Nothing too strange, but I am hooked. I can't wait for the next one to come out. I think she needs to end up with Michael.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2011

    Good read

    I am very much looking forward to the next book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    Like it a lot!

    Great story, can't wait for more books in the series. Hope the others will be longer, too short to answer all the questions.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read, Leaves you wanting more

    I thoroughly enjoyed this novella after a rocky start. I was disappointed that this is as far as the story goes for now...I'm ready for the next installation to see how this story evolves!! Worth the dollar I paid for it, that's for sure!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great start to the series!

    I loved this short story. The plot was interesting and the characters were very likeable. Cant wait to read the second in the series, "The Vampire's Curse." Thank you S.J Wright for a great read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great sample of what is yet to come

    Many of the reviews say that the book is too short, however, it is priced appropriately for that one shortcoming. This is well worth the price for a short but thoroughly enjoyable read. The characters are well developed and engaging and the story quickly engages the reader. You will be unhappy that it ends so soon, but the author promises that the next book is on the way.
    Spend the time to read this book. You will enjoy it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    Highly recommended!

    I really enjoyed this fiction story... Though I feel I need to know what happens next. Ms. Wright, get that serie #2 out quick!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    Great read!

    I really liked this book. With it's story line and large cast she could have taken it deeper but a fun quick read nonetheless. Hopefully the next book will have more detail and more background. I would highly recommend this to those readers that love the sci fi fantasy, paranormal romance genre! Can't wait to see more of her work.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    Recommend Highly!!!

    This book really moves along, and has interesting spin on the vampire thing!! It appears to be written in an old fashion serial. When is the next episode or book coming out!!!! Don't leave me hangin'!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    Gets better as you keep reading.

    The book is a bit short @ 74 pages on my nook, and there are quite a few grammatical errors as well as story line and character detail mix-ups; however, if you move past those things, you will find that it is a unique read that draws you in the further along you get in the book. In fact, by the end I was on my toes anxiously wanting more only to be left hanging. I was disappointed in the way the author left it, but I'm one that likes for each book in a series to have a decent conclusion just in case. This one didn't. Left me with more questions than answers, but, on the flip side, it definitely hooked me for the next installment, which will hopefully be longer than the first.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6