Customer Reviews for

The Vanishings: Four Kids Face Earth's Last Days Together (Left Behind: The Kids Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good book

I couldnt stop reading it. It is a good christian read. I totes recomend it. I first heard about the series from my sister who heard it from her friend. So i rushed to my school library and amazingly they had all 40 books.

posted by Anonymous on March 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

jESUS WILL BE HERE

This was an 'Ok' book because in the beginning it was boing. It told about all of their lives and stuff like that. In the middle and the end of the book it became a whole lot better. I reccomend this book and please keep reading the sequels (etc.).

posted by Anonymous on April 15, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Good book

    I couldnt stop reading it. It is a good christian read. I totes recomend it. I first heard about the series from my sister who heard it from her friend. So i rushed to my school library and amazingly they had all 40 books.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    WHOEVER LOVES THESE BOOKS, TAP YES OR WRIGHT A NOTE PROCLAIMING JUSTICE!!!!

    B&N HAS A LOT OF GREAT BOOKS, BUT I WANT LEFT BEHIND: THE KIDS, A LOT! PLZ BARNE AN NOBLE! ITLL GET YA MORE MONEY!!! :):):) Whos with me!!!!?????

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2014

    Left Behind is the bestselling series of 16 books by Jerry B. Je

    Left Behind is the bestselling series of 16 books by Jerry B. Jenkins and Tim LaHaye dealing with the end times, the Rapture, tribulation. What few do not know is there is also a series for teens and preteens, "The Kids" version. (I would not recommend this series for kids under 10, simply due to the intense nature of the series. There is nothing offensive, except obviously very-real violence.) This series of 40 books deal with exactly what the adult series did, except from the point of view of teenagers. Each book is about 150 pages, and each ending flows right into the next book with non-stop action.

    ---


    Judd Thompson Jr. - The Runaway. Typical 16 year-old Judd is sick and tired of everything his mom asks him to do. The simplest tasks will set off a debate. After a credit card company mistakenly puts Judd Jr's name on Judd Sr.'s (Judd's father) credit card, Judd realizes he can spend thousands of dollars on this little card. Angry at his parents for bossing him around and for making him go to church, Judd runs away - both from his family, and symbolically, Jesus. As a child, he had never actually accepted Christ into his heart, but he had memorized tons of verses and stories. By himself on a plane to London (with Hattie and Rayford Steele from the adult Left Behind series), he begins smirking about how grown up he is and how "this will show them."

    Vicki Byrne - The Rebel. 14 year old redhead Vicki was the rocker type - short clothes, leather, jewelry and heavy makeup, tough. Growing up in a trailer park, followed by the constant "trailer trash" stereotype - Vicki felt the need to be rough and tough. Two years ago, her party-parents had a drastic change in their lives - they accepted Christ - and she wanted nothing to do with it.

    Lionel Washington - The Liar. 13 year old African-American Lionel is growing up in a rich part of town, causing ridicule from his cousins who claim he's "rich" and "white" now. Lionel loves his parents, but he, and his uncle, have a secret; despite the family church history, he and his uncle are not Christians. Lionel is in no way proud of his secret, and unlike Judd, feels horribly guilty.

    Ryan Daley - The Skeptic. Best friend of Raymie Steele, 12 year old Ryan was my favorite character of Left Behind: The Kids series. (until Conrad came into view around book 12) He is the only one who had never grown up in a Christian household.


    ---

    Then the Rapture happens. Reading the Rapture, specifically from the view of Judd, gives me chills. I could not imagine something so horrific as realizing you've been left behind - especially if you grew up in a strong Christian household, and every single person close to you was raptured. Judd, Vicki, and Lionel's whole family (and most of their friends) were raptured. Ryan's parents both die in the midst of the chaos.
    There is really nothing more to the book than their pre-rapture lives, the Rapture, and the immediate aftermath, most of the action starts in future novels. Being a short book, I would HIGHLY recommend buying/loaning at least 5 books of the series at once. The writing is nothing really unique (throughout the whole series), even a little too bland and simple, but I didn't really mind this. Background plots (and characters) are from the adult Left Behind series, so it would be interesting for an adult and teen to read them simultaneously. 

    I read all the books up until about 35-ish. My library didn't have 2 of the books, and this isn't really a series where you want to skip a book, although each book does catch you up with what previously happened. When I finally figured out how to transfer books, months had passed and my memory was fuzzy exactly which book I last read. Now, rereading The Vanishings makes me want to reread the series again and see how it ends! But, I won't be able to reread the series without reading the whole series again...so...
    Warning: You will not be able to put them down. ALSO: A remake of the adult Left Behind movies is coming out this year!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Scary book

    If you are reading this and you are not a chritian the you should read

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Im with you too

    Put the whole series

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2004

    Fantastic!!!!!!

    Wow! This book is great! I have been looking for a Christan book series that my school has and I finally found one. This is written in 2004 which is past the publication date so I know how the series turns out. The coolest part of this series is the fact that if you comb through the Bible you can find all the things they talk about. Like the seven seals. Those explanations are in Revolation. So if you decide to read these books, stick with them!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2014

    Great book!  I've read the actual Left Behind series and wanted

    Great book!  I've read the actual Left Behind series and wanted to preview this series for my kids before having them read it.  The book recommendation is for ages 10-14, however, I really feel the recommendation should be for 13 and up.  Some more mature issues are dealt with in the book that my 10 year olds wouldn't be ready for--drugs, alcohol, running away, stealing, etc.  I really liked that four very different kids are featured in the book--3 boys and a girl (a liar, a skeptic, etc.)  The story flowed quickly, the plot was great, and the gospel message is clear.  Definitely recommend for the teenager in your life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2014

    Good Book! I read the adult Left Behind series a few years ago

    Good Book!

    I read the adult Left Behind series a few years ago and decided to read the kids series.  I recognized and remembered a lot of the same characters from the adult series but the authors were able to put a different spin on so that the main characters were the kids.  The story followed 4 different kids in the weeks/days/hours leading up to the Rapture and the chaos that happened immediately after.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2014

    Excellent, Exciting; and So Well Written! So well-written! This

    Excellent, Exciting; and So Well Written! So well-written! This is a compelling series; it is so realistic and chilling. It spurs us to make sure we are right with God. The book ties in with the original Left Behind series, but stands on its own. The descriptions of the characters and action pull me right into the story. This is a short, easy to read YA book. Even for me, not so young, it grabs the interest. Be aware, there are cliffhangers at the end of each book to get us to read the next one in the series. It works for me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2014

    This was a very interesting book. This book revolves around teen

    This was a very interesting book. This book revolves around teenagers Judd, Ryan, Vicki and Lionel. The end times are coming and these teenagers are warned but do they listen? They are trying to find answers to their questions. This book was written for older children/young adults but I believe this would be a great book for even adults especially those curious about the end times. I would recommend this book to everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    This book is so awsome!

    I think that everybody shouled read this book their is actuely a whole series of these books! Right now i'm on the #5th book there is like over #50 books in the series you should so read them! † Because Jesus loves you and if you want to learn more about him, then read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Best ever

    Cool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Good Eye Opener

    It is told through the eyes of childfen. Gave extra thought to things as they happenaround us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Help please..

    Whats the order of this series of books? I really want toread them but I am kind of confused. Thanks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Spoiler alert

    I am sorry if i spoil judd vicki get married lionel loses his arm chloe dies ben judah dies vicki gets stabbed andre is a christian mark dies there website gets invaded by the gc
    Just ask questions i will answer read series twice

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2010

    Great Series

    My family has enjoyed the Left Behind- The Kids Series. I have studied Biblical prophecy many years, but it was not until I read the adult Left Behind series that I fell I really got a grasp on the events of the last days. The books help you imagine the events of the tribulation and they added to my understanding in a entertaining way. The kids books are a little misnamed. They are a little violent and intense for kids to read, but are perfect for tweens and up. My mom even enjoyed the "Kids" series and she is 70! I am reading them allowed to my 8 and 10 year old boys with "mommy editing" of some of the more mature themes. (as in- we are skipping a few pages here and there!) The characters are funny and believable, the teaching Biblical, and the story is entertaining. There is violence, but there is also hope and redemption in this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Left behind

    Four teens that has a secret from their family was in shock when one day everything that they did not believe in came true. Lionel, Judd, Ryan and Vicki were teens that have always been against the belief of Christ. Their family believed in Jesus Christ but these kids decided not to. They hid their disbeliefs by ¿going to church¿ with their family. <BR/>They never knew that what they did not listen to was the key to survival until one day¿¿¿¿. These kids have always cost trouble and know punishment is ahead. An ordinary day for these kids turned out to be disaster when everyone except these four kids was left in the planet earth. They were terrified and puzzled when all they saw was nothing but bones and flesh from people that has disappeared. These four teens remembered what Pastor Billings had told them about rapture. So they all went to church and saw pastor billings in there. <BR/>They all met each other and were hoping to seek the truth. But time is running out¿¿¿¿..They must listen to Pastor Billings and make sure that they truly believe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2004

    A MUST READ

    First off let me say that anyone who doesnt like this book is out of there mind. I think that it takes u right into it. The book is about 4 teens who dont believe in god but when their world is turned upsidedown when their friends and family disappear they realize how terribly wrong they were and decide to fight together in the earth's last days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2004

    Awesome book!!:)

    This is a great book for kids age 9 and up. it explains the book of revolation to kids and explains what will happen during the Rapture, a must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2003

    Vanishings: Four Kids Face Earth's Last Days Together

    I just finished reading this book and I loved it. It was one of my favorite books because it is about the Rapture and God, and that stuff interests me. My favorite chracter is Ryan:The Skeptic. Tim Lahaye and Jerry B. Jenkins are great. It is hard to write the fist book of a long series and they did it great!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4