Customer Reviews for

The Vanishings

Average Rating 4.5
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good book

I couldnt stop reading it. It is a good christian read. I totes recomend it. I first heard about the series from my sister who heard it from her friend. So i rushed to my school library and amazingly they had all 40 books.

posted by Anonymous on March 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

jESUS WILL BE HERE

This was an 'Ok' book because in the beginning it was boing. It told about all of their lives and stuff like that. In the middle and the end of the book it became a whole lot better. I reccomend this book and please keep reading the sequels (etc.).

posted by Anonymous on April 15, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Good book

    I couldnt stop reading it. It is a good christian read. I totes recomend it. I first heard about the series from my sister who heard it from her friend. So i rushed to my school library and amazingly they had all 40 books.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    WHOEVER LOVES THESE BOOKS, TAP YES OR WRIGHT A NOTE PROCLAIMING JUSTICE!!!!

    B&N HAS A LOT OF GREAT BOOKS, BUT I WANT LEFT BEHIND: THE KIDS, A LOT! PLZ BARNE AN NOBLE! ITLL GET YA MORE MONEY!!! :):):) Whos with me!!!!?????

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2001

    jESUS WILL BE HERE

    This was an 'Ok' book because in the beginning it was boing. It told about all of their lives and stuff like that. In the middle and the end of the book it became a whole lot better. I reccomend this book and please keep reading the sequels (etc.).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2014

    Cool!

    I want to read it and watch the new movie too but my mom says im to young for petes sake!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2014

    Left Behind is the bestselling series of 16 books by Jerry B. Je

    Left Behind is the bestselling series of 16 books by Jerry B. Jenkins and Tim LaHaye dealing with the end times, the Rapture, tribulation. What few do not know is there is also a series for teens and preteens, "The Kids" version. (I would not recommend this series for kids under 10, simply due to the intense nature of the series. There is nothing offensive, except obviously very-real violence.) This series of 40 books deal with exactly what the adult series did, except from the point of view of teenagers. Each book is about 150 pages, and each ending flows right into the next book with non-stop action.

    ---


    Judd Thompson Jr. - The Runaway. Typical 16 year-old Judd is sick and tired of everything his mom asks him to do. The simplest tasks will set off a debate. After a credit card company mistakenly puts Judd Jr's name on Judd Sr.'s (Judd's father) credit card, Judd realizes he can spend thousands of dollars on this little card. Angry at his parents for bossing him around and for making him go to church, Judd runs away - both from his family, and symbolically, Jesus. As a child, he had never actually accepted Christ into his heart, but he had memorized tons of verses and stories. By himself on a plane to London (with Hattie and Rayford Steele from the adult Left Behind series), he begins smirking about how grown up he is and how "this will show them."

    Vicki Byrne - The Rebel. 14 year old redhead Vicki was the rocker type - short clothes, leather, jewelry and heavy makeup, tough. Growing up in a trailer park, followed by the constant "trailer trash" stereotype - Vicki felt the need to be rough and tough. Two years ago, her party-parents had a drastic change in their lives - they accepted Christ - and she wanted nothing to do with it.

    Lionel Washington - The Liar. 13 year old African-American Lionel is growing up in a rich part of town, causing ridicule from his cousins who claim he's "rich" and "white" now. Lionel loves his parents, but he, and his uncle, have a secret; despite the family church history, he and his uncle are not Christians. Lionel is in no way proud of his secret, and unlike Judd, feels horribly guilty.

    Ryan Daley - The Skeptic. Best friend of Raymie Steele, 12 year old Ryan was my favorite character of Left Behind: The Kids series. (until Conrad came into view around book 12) He is the only one who had never grown up in a Christian household.


    ---

    Then the Rapture happens. Reading the Rapture, specifically from the view of Judd, gives me chills. I could not imagine something so horrific as realizing you've been left behind - especially if you grew up in a strong Christian household, and every single person close to you was raptured. Judd, Vicki, and Lionel's whole family (and most of their friends) were raptured. Ryan's parents both die in the midst of the chaos.
    There is really nothing more to the book than their pre-rapture lives, the Rapture, and the immediate aftermath, most of the action starts in future novels. Being a short book, I would HIGHLY recommend buying/loaning at least 5 books of the series at once. The writing is nothing really unique (throughout the whole series), even a little too bland and simple, but I didn't really mind this. Background plots (and characters) are from the adult Left Behind series, so it would be interesting for an adult and teen to read them simultaneously. 

    I read all the books up until about 35-ish. My library didn't have 2 of the books, and this isn't really a series where you want to skip a book, although each book does catch you up with what previously happened. When I finally figured out how to transfer books, months had passed and my memory was fuzzy exactly which book I last read. Now, rereading The Vanishings makes me want to reread the series again and see how it ends! But, I won't be able to reread the series without reading the whole series again...so...
    Warning: You will not be able to put them down. ALSO: A remake of the adult Left Behind movies is coming out this year!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Awesome book!!!

    I toads love this book. It is soooo good! It is about 4 kids who are "left behind". Jesus comes down and judges the living and dead. All the good people go with Him. These 4 kids are left behind without parents. Some parents of theirs are in Hevan while others......um...sorry......NO SPOILS!!! It is a great book! Espically for Christians, but anybody can read it. I highly encourage you to read it! Enjoy!!! :-)
    ~ B

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Scary book

    If you are reading this and you are not a chritian the you should read

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Im with you too

    Put the whole series

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2004

    Fantastic!!!!!!

    Wow! This book is great! I have been looking for a Christan book series that my school has and I finally found one. This is written in 2004 which is past the publication date so I know how the series turns out. The coolest part of this series is the fact that if you comb through the Bible you can find all the things they talk about. Like the seven seals. Those explanations are in Revolation. So if you decide to read these books, stick with them!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2014

    Lzkd jty

    Cfte

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2014

    What a riveting novel for young people (teens and late elementar

    What a riveting novel for young people (teens and late elementary). It is the story of four teens – Judd, the runaway who has hopped on a plane for London; Vicki, the rebel, whose entire family has become changed and become Christians but she refuses; Lionel, the liar, who has told his family he is a Christian when he is not; and Ryan, the skeptic, whose parents both die in crashes or events after the disappearance of so many people. All 4 young people have heard the good news of Christ – and have refused it. Now, their world has changed. What will happen to them? Do they realize they all have a connection of sorts? Most of the book deals with who they are and what happened to them when they realized their families were missing, leading up for the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    GREAT for all ages!

    :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2014

    Based on the best-selling Left Behind series for adults, this yo

    Based on the best-selling Left Behind series for adults, this youth fiction book tells the story of four teens (Judd, Vicki, Lionel, & Ryan) in the suburb of Mount Prospect, Illinois. They are connected in ways they won't begin to understand until later in the series, but for this book they are all greatly impacted by the disappearances of millions around the globe. They soon find out their loved ones have been "raptured" - as believers in Jesus, they were taken to heaven in a flash. Judd, Vicki, and Lionel's families are all gone, as they were the only ones who chose a different path; Ryan's parents die as a result of the disappearances, and he is actually orphaned.


    This is a strong beginning to the "Young Trib Force" books and I can easily recommend it for your pre-teens and teens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2014

    The Vanishings is the introduction to the kids Left Behind Serie

    The Vanishings is the introduction to the kids Left Behind Series by Lahaye and Jenkins. This book introduces four teens—Judd, Viki, Lionel, and Ryan—and gives a brief background of each. Then it throws them, family-less, into the aftermath of the rapture.

    The short book progresses as may be expected with few surprises, following along with the adult series and sometimes interacting with those adults. It is an interesting introduction to the series, promising much in the following dozens of books.

    The first chapter is a little slow and has more a feel of narration than of being part of the character, but it gets better as the book progresses.

    The book was written for kids and teens and is definitely appropriate for them. Drugs, disobedience, lies, and other sins are mentioned several times and even done by the main characters, but not described in detail. However, the authors only made the characters do these sins to prove the teens are sinful.

    Also, the authors go to great lengths to show that none of the kids, despite two of the them growing up in Christian homes, never actually accepted Christ as their Savior—they did not lose their salvation by rebelling or any other means.

    Overall, The Vanishings was an interesting book, appropriate for kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2014

    In this book four kids: Judd (the runaway), Vicki (the rebel), L

    In this book four kids: Judd (the runaway), Vicki (the rebel), Lionel (the liar), and Ryan (the skeptic), who had heard about Jesus through their parents, siblings, and church found themselves left behind when believers were suddenly taken to heaven. Judd was actually running away from home on a plane to Europe when this event took place. Fortunately for him, the pilot was still in the plane after the “rapture” so the plane could safely return. Vicki lived in a trailer park and was considered trash by other kids. Although her parents and little sister became Christians when they heard an evangelist speak about Jesus with confidence and authority, Vicki thought it was all superstitious mumbo jumbo. Lionel's parents thought he was a Christian, but neither his uncle nor Lionel believed. That night Lionel fell asleep in the basement with his uncle. When the phone rang and rang in the morning, Lionel figured he’d be a hero who would wake up his family. But surprise! No one was there! Ryan figured anything was OK as long as you didn’t get caught. Someday he’d go to church to see what it was about. But meanwhile he just slept as usual and ignored the sound of sirens. Ultimately the four would meet at church and figure out what to do. It’s an interesting and exciting story for kids to read and figure out which person most resembles them. Is it one of the four or one of the missing siblings?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2014

    Great book!  I've read the actual Left Behind series and wanted

    Great book!  I've read the actual Left Behind series and wanted to preview this series for my kids before having them read it.  The book recommendation is for ages 10-14, however, I really feel the recommendation should be for 13 and up.  Some more mature issues are dealt with in the book that my 10 year olds wouldn't be ready for--drugs, alcohol, running away, stealing, etc.  I really liked that four very different kids are featured in the book--3 boys and a girl (a liar, a skeptic, etc.)  The story flowed quickly, the plot was great, and the gospel message is clear.  Definitely recommend for the teenager in your life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2014

    This is the first book in a series that is based on the best-sel

    This is the first book in a series that is based on the best-selling adult Left Behind series. The difference is that readers will see the Rapture and Tribulation through the eyes of four kids who have been left behind.

    I'm a big fan of the Left Behind series and was interested to read this one geared for kids. I thought it was really, really good. I was impressed with how Jenkins and LaHaye were able to take the ideas from Left Behind and change their writing style to make it interesting and engaging for teen readers. I think they also did a great job with capturing teen characters that readers can see themselves in.

    I continually struggle with finding books for teens that are engaging and will make them want to read for recreation in the midst of all the required reading they do for school. This book is a very quick read that would fit easily in a weekend afternoon, or perhaps over several nights during the school week. I think it is interesting enough to hold the attention of even the most resistant reader.

    If you are looking for a great end times book for teens, this one fits the bill!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2014

    The Vanishings grabs the reader's attention right off. I thought

    The Vanishings grabs the reader's attention right off. I thought it was a good book that could relate with teenagers. A good way to show them how they should live and become close to God before the end begins. 4 1/2 stars. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2014

    Good Book! I read the adult Left Behind series a few years ago

    Good Book!

    I read the adult Left Behind series a few years ago and decided to read the kids series.  I recognized and remembered a lot of the same characters from the adult series but the authors were able to put a different spin on so that the main characters were the kids.  The story followed 4 different kids in the weeks/days/hours leading up to the Rapture and the chaos that happened immediately after.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2014

    Excellent, Exciting; and So Well Written! So well-written! This

    Excellent, Exciting; and So Well Written! So well-written! This is a compelling series; it is so realistic and chilling. It spurs us to make sure we are right with God. The book ties in with the original Left Behind series, but stands on its own. The descriptions of the characters and action pull me right into the story. This is a short, easy to read YA book. Even for me, not so young, it grabs the interest. Be aware, there are cliffhangers at the end of each book to get us to read the next one in the series. It works for me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5