Customer Reviews for

The View From Here

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

The View From Here by Cindy Myers Maggie is relocating after she

The View From Here by Cindy Myers
Maggie is relocating after she found her husband had cheated on her. Her father who she had never known left her a cabin in the Colorado mining town and she was heading to check it out.
Her best friend Barbara is a true friend as she's ...
The View From Here by Cindy Myers
Maggie is relocating after she found her husband had cheated on her. Her father who she had never known left her a cabin in the Colorado mining town and she was heading to check it out.
Her best friend Barbara is a true friend as she's helped her and been there for her the whole time. What she discovers in the town is a small community where everybody knows everybody and their business, but a caring one.
The book also follows the antique shop/mayor when her daughter and son return to live with her. There is much about the town history and how it's preserved.
The mines fascinate me and I loved learning about it all and things discovered. Although there were a lot of people it was easy to keep track of them and what they mean to the story being told.
Everything is going along fine as she discovers a new love and her and Barbara discover the mine that was locked up. It leads to other things that can harm some people.
Jamoso is a lifesaver as he tells her many stories of her father, piecing it all together as she never knew him at all.
Love and sex make this a really great story.

posted by jbarr5 on November 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I found it very interesting and recommend it.

I like the fact that it's a bit more modern than most books I read about the mountains and "mountain-folk". It was refreshing to find one set in present time and not the depression or earlier. I am also about to start the sequel (which I figured was coming after the en...
I like the fact that it's a bit more modern than most books I read about the mountains and "mountain-folk". It was refreshing to find one set in present time and not the depression or earlier. I am also about to start the sequel (which I figured was coming after the ending). I'll enjoy seeing how Maggie and Jameso's romance continues!

posted by 9682678 on November 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The View From Here by Cindy Myers Maggie is relocating after she

    The View From Here by Cindy Myers
    Maggie is relocating after she found her husband had cheated on her. Her father who she had never known left her a cabin in the Colorado mining town and she was heading to check it out.
    Her best friend Barbara is a true friend as she's helped her and been there for her the whole time. What she discovers in the town is a small community where everybody knows everybody and their business, but a caring one.
    The book also follows the antique shop/mayor when her daughter and son return to live with her. There is much about the town history and how it's preserved.
    The mines fascinate me and I loved learning about it all and things discovered. Although there were a lot of people it was easy to keep track of them and what they mean to the story being told.
    Everything is going along fine as she discovers a new love and her and Barbara discover the mine that was locked up. It leads to other things that can harm some people.
    Jamoso is a lifesaver as he tells her many stories of her father, piecing it all together as she never knew him at all.
    Love and sex make this a really great story.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Alice DiNizo for Readers' Favorite Maggie Stevens h

    Reviewed by Alice DiNizo for Readers' Favorite

    Maggie Stevens has been a faithful wife to her husband, Carter, for twenty years. But she finds he has cheated on her for five years and now has the audacity to divorce her, leaving Maggie for an older, wealthier woman. Poor Maggie! Carter has taken most of their furniture and paintings, leaving her with hardly anything beyond the Steuben glass they have collected over the years. Then Maggie finds that the father, Jacob Murphy, who abandoned her and her now dead mother when Maggie was only a newborn baby, has died. He has left her his cabin, a Jeep and a gold mine named the French Mistress. So, bidding farewell to Houston, Texas, and her dear friend Barbara Stanowski, Maggie heads to Eureka, Colorado, where her inheritance is located. Jacob, as he is known to everyone in the small town of Eureka, was a town eccentric. He fought in Vietnam and he carried awful memories of his time there. Jake found peace living with the residents of Eureka and even made a friendship with Winston, a mountain goat who loves being fed Lorna Doones. Can Maggie settle down here in Eureka and enjoy the view that is offered?

    "The View from Here" by Cindy Myers is a delightful and well-written story of a middle-aged woman, Maggie Stevens, who has to chart a new path in life. The residents of Eureka are three-dimensional to say the least. They come alive with the author's sense of humor which is apparent in "The View from Here". On page 137, the author reminds readers that the gate to Jake's French Mistress mine has a sign that reads "No trespassing. Violators will be shot. Survivors will be shot again." The plot flows smoothly to the story's conclusion and readers will love reading every word in "The View from Here". It is a story, a romance, and a tale that will bring smiles to faces everywhere.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Good book

    I liked the story and the characters but there if no way I would pay 11.50 for an authors second book, the sequal, especially since there are more established authors equally as talented whose books are under five dollars.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    I found it very interesting and recommend it.

    I like the fact that it's a bit more modern than most books I read about the mountains and "mountain-folk". It was refreshing to find one set in present time and not the depression or earlier. I am also about to start the sequel (which I figured was coming after the ending). I'll enjoy seeing how Maggie and Jameso's romance continues!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Sky

    Walks in "hey yall!"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    Pretty good little book

    I got right into this one as a sample so I ordered it. It read easily all the way through. The story was just a really nice story...I liked the people - even the ornery ones. The issue I had is that it just wrapped everything up too quickly. After I finished I kept thinking I needed to finish it off...nope...it was over. It was just cut off. I did enjoy reading it...just felt a little short-changed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Good story

    Enjoyed very much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    ModGod

    ANGIE VARONA, WHOOP.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Necromorph

    *he growls, followed by a series of faint clicks*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Merp

    Meep

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Andrew

    You agian

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Jack

    Pulled down his hood as he walks in. He climbed a tree and sat on a branch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Drew

    "Well i wish you good luck."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Nick

    Hello

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Katie

    (Sorry, most people ive seen with the name teegan are guys. Sorry.) She sits down by *her. "So this is just a regular hangout for people?" She asked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Emma

    Shrugs "I guess, I dont even know if the guy im supposed to prefurm with is going yet. And its alot of stress and pressure." She says, and anxiously tugs down her sleeve

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Alisha &hearts

    Her soft cry turns to a loud sob and she stops.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Teegan

    Saw that nick XD) *looks around bored and stands at the base of the tree with the tree house she looks up at it*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Ariadne

    "Death...."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    I don't even like this kind of story BUT...

    This one is worth a read. Nicely written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2