Customer Reviews for

Villa Triste

Average Rating 4.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

This is a wonderful novel! In Modern Italy a great Italian poli

This is a wonderful novel! In Modern Italy a great Italian police chief investigates puzzling murders of 3 old decorated Italian WWII partisans. Through his investigation we go back in time to Nazi-occupied Italy and meet courageous young partisan sisters and agonize ...
This is a wonderful novel! In Modern Italy a great Italian police chief investigates puzzling murders of 3 old decorated Italian WWII partisans. Through his investigation we go back in time to Nazi-occupied Italy and meet courageous young partisan sisters and agonize and admire as they and their families face torture and death and loss. I will read this novel again. I highly recommend it!!

posted by 1609651 on February 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I wanted to like this book so much, but for me it fell flat. I l

I wanted to like this book so much, but for me it fell flat. I loved the historical sections of the book but the modern day setting became very confusing and disjointed. I felt like there was plot lines added just because and too many similar/ varaitions of names. Overa...
I wanted to like this book so much, but for me it fell flat. I loved the historical sections of the book but the modern day setting became very confusing and disjointed. I felt like there was plot lines added just because and too many similar/ varaitions of names. Overall it was an decent read but could have been better

posted by HonestAnnie on May 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 21, 2013

    A wonderfully written story. Check this author out!

    This story left me in tears for the families who went through this time in our history. I wanted to read more by this author and was sad when the book ended. Told in a different way and including so many characters, it is pure poetic prose (is that a redundancy?) and I thoroughly recommend Villa Triste.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    This is a wonderful novel! In Modern Italy a great Italian poli

    This is a wonderful novel! In Modern Italy a great Italian police chief investigates puzzling murders of 3 old decorated Italian WWII partisans. Through his investigation we go back in time to Nazi-occupied Italy and meet courageous young partisan sisters and agonize and admire as they and their families face torture and death and loss. I will read this novel again. I highly recommend it!!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    Really enjoyed this book. The characters were well developed, an

    Really enjoyed this book. The characters were well developed, and the interaction between past and present was also well done. Would have enjoyed more. Have recommended this book to several others already.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Once again I wasn't disappointed when I chose this novel based o

    Once again I wasn't disappointed when I chose this novel based on customer recommendations.  Set in Florence 
    during WWII it weaves a tale of bravery and sacrifice that the average American could only hope they were capable of.
    Two sisters and their family members become involved in the Italian Resistance .  Risking and loosing all that was
    their existence before the Nazi invasion.  It also contained a modern day detective's search for the truth.  This novel 
    reminded me of yet another great one written in that time period called "A Thread of Grace."

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2013

    I loved this book. The modern day mystery blended with the WWII

    I loved this book. The modern day mystery blended with the WWII history made for a wonderful read. I highly recommend this book

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Good WWII historical fiction with modern murder connection

    Really enjoyed. Will be recommending to others!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Great read. Really gets you thinking about what it would have b

    Great read. Really gets you thinking about what it would have been like to live there during World War II.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Great story and characters

    The combination of the WWII Italian partisan efforts and the complex characters involved tied to a current day mystery and the great writing style make this one of my few 5 star reads in last few years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    WONDERFUL STORY WRITTEN LIKE ONE OF THE GREAT CLASSICS

    Read this book! The characters are wonderful, and the plot full of twists and turns. Very poignant, and deep emotionally.

    DO NOT PASS UP THIS READ !!!!!


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Great book

    I could not stop reaading this. It was fascinating. I am old enough to remember WWll but did not know much about Italys role in war other than about Mussolini. Now I know a lot more. The book also was somewhat of a mystery story. Best book I've read in awhile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Great read!

    This is a real sleeper, and a great read! Well-written, with two converging stories, it's a thriller as well as an intriguing historical novel. MUCH better than 'Sarah's Key'!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    Great book

    I bought this on a daily find special. The book captured me right away and I couldn't guess the ending until the very end. I would recommend this book and can't wait to ready another from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Best mystery and written so that you can't put it down

    There are mysteries from the past as well as now. The heart breaking love and the will of survival. This novel has become my favorite. You will not want to miss it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    highly recommended

    an excellent novel with a view of WWII. I truly enjoyed it and highly reccomend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    The best book I've read in 3 years.

    A great mystery, combined with great history. I am not usually a fan of the technique of switching back and forth between two storylines, even knowing that at some point they will merge into a whole. This book is so well written, however, that I loved it, even with that technique in use. A story that is intricate enough to keep you reading and reading, but not so convoluted that you need a guide to keep track of characters or events. Perfectly balanced. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    Loved this story!  I especially enjoyed how the story line weave

    Loved this story!  I especially enjoyed how the story line weaved past and present. It was story I could not put down!  I do not generally read novels set in WWII but this was one I could not resist.  I'm so glad I didn't pass it by!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Loved this book!!

    I had just finished another book that had a part focused on the partisan perspective of WWII, and this was exactly what I was interested in reading. Really enjoyed the parallel storyline, descriptions of characters and places took me there. Read it twice, and I know I'll go back to it. Looked into author's other works, but didn't seem like the same type of subject.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Highly recommend this book.

    Book is well written. Plot was very interesting, unlike anything else I have read that was written about the war.I would definitely read another book she has written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    Great Read!

    This is one of the best books I have read in a while. Ms. Grindle does an excellent job of blending history and mystery, and the story is riveting. If you enjoy historical novels grounded in real history, then this is for you. I learned so much about the Italian resistance to the Nazis in WWII, and enjoyed doing it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Great read

    This story is a great read. I have always been fascinated by this time period in history and a look at the events from the point of view of "ordinary" citizens behind the scenes. I have been totally engrossed throughout and have just reached the climactic ending. I am setting aside a time when I can savor it uninterrupted. I highly recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2