Customer Reviews for

The Vincent Boys

Average Rating 4.5
( 287 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(184)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

This is absolutely one of my most favorite books. I am a huge f


This is absolutely one of my most favorite books. I am a huge fan of Abbi Glines and I love all her books, and The Vincent Boys is one of those books that just consumes you. I love the story, the characters, everything about it. That being said I am going to have to go...

This is absolutely one of my most favorite books. I am a huge fan of Abbi Glines and I love all her books, and The Vincent Boys is one of those books that just consumes you. I love the story, the characters, everything about it. That being said I am going to have to go all fan-girl here and tell you that Beau Vincent is absolutely to die for. He is the epitome of hottness, complete sex on a stick, and totally redefines the term yummy. He is my ultimate book boyfriend, and it is a good thing that he is fictional, otherwise I would probably embarrass myself or possibly get arrested. That being said, the description of Beau Vincent alone should make you want to rush out and get this book.

The whole book is filled with heartfelt passion and emotion. It is packed with romantic chemistry from the first chapter until the end of the book. Though Beau is a "bad boy," he is the best kind - the kind you love to love. I love all the southern charm in the book, and if you’re from the south, you know all about pickup trucks, bench seats, and straddling the gearshift to sit next to your guy. The Vincent Boys, Beau and Sawyer, are cousins, and Ashton is the girl they both love. The three of them grew up together and were inseparable until Ashton and Sawyer started dating. A turn in events brings Ashton and Beau together, and she realizes that she has chosen the wrong Vincent boy. The fire and love between Ashton and Beau is undeniable, yet Ashton doesn't want to hurt Sawyer, and neither does Beau. Sawyer has been there for him his whole life, when no one else has. Now Beau is faced with choosing between family and love. Ash loves Sawyer, but she is in love with Beau. She can't bear the thought of tearing the two of them apart, and She is willing to sacrifice her desires to keep that from happening. They all learn that the things they thought they had known all of their lives regarding love, family, and each other are not what they seem, and they all have really hard choices to face in light of this.

Abbi does an outstanding job bringing everything together in this book. The drama, and the romance and the chemistry between the characters (and oh does Abbi Glines know how to deliver in this area), all leave you feeling like you have not only just read a great book, but like you have experienced it.

posted by AlwaysYAatHeart1 on April 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

I feel dirty.

First of all, the characters in this book are 17 YEARS OLD. They are seniors in high school, yet the author writes the "love" scenes like this is an adult romance novel. I find that disturbing. The plot is 100% Young Adult, but the dialogue is completely unrealistic. Te...
First of all, the characters in this book are 17 YEARS OLD. They are seniors in high school, yet the author writes the "love" scenes like this is an adult romance novel. I find that disturbing. The plot is 100% Young Adult, but the dialogue is completely unrealistic. Teenagers do not talk about their emotions in such an honest and forthright way. This book was terrible.

posted by Awesome514 on June 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    This book was soooo different than the other books that I've rea

    This book was soooo different than the other books that I've read by Ms. Glines that I had absolutely no idea what I was getting into! I had heard so much about it and FINALLY bought it! I'm pretty sure that I devoured it in about a day. Yup.

    Ashton is one of those characters that, I think, if she were real, every guy would love her and every girl would want to be her friend (unless they wanted her boyfriend, that is). She's smart, sweet, fun, and a whole lot of feisty! And even though, in the beginning, she tries to squelch the feistiness, I'm pretty sure if someone's looking, you can still see it.

    So, who is she perfect for? Nice, calm, good-boy, Sawyer? Or, wild, dangerous, and dreamy, Beau? She's been friends with both of them since they were eight. And they all have a close relationship until Ashton started dating Sawyer, that is.

    Really, from the beginning, I think it's awfully apparent who Ashton is meant to be with. No question. But, being a part of the journey that takes HER to the conclusion, is an absolutely amazing experience.
    This book has heartbreak, loss, secrets, and some, SERIOUSLY, swoony-worthy moments. And while I wouldn't suggest this book for some of the YOUNGER readers, there are a few scenes that, while they don't get TOO explicit, I think may be more geared for older teens. But, if you're going to read this, make sure you set a day aside. Because, you will not be able to put it down!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2011

    Good recommendation!

    Ashton has the perfect boyfriend, he is everything that a girl could want. But there is one slight problem. His cousin, Beau. Beau puts the spark back in Ashton and reminds her of her playful and slightly rebellious personality. She must now choose, the upstanding member of the community or the outcast? This book has material that is sensitive for younger readers. I would only recommend to mature YA readers.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    great story

    I really love this story. As soon as I finished this one I had to start Vincent Brothers. Loved them both

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    121 pages

    !

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    This is the second book of Abbi Glines that I read (Existence be

    This is the second book of Abbi Glines that I read (Existence being the first) and I have now read ALL of her books. She is a great writer. I am a huge fan of YA and have read a lot of YA books, but I haven't finished many as quickly as I finished this book. It was excellent. All of her books are. The story was light and fun, but towards the end the reader learns that everyone has skeletons in their closet. I loved that you got a deeper connection to the characters as the book went on. This is one of the more mature YA books out there, but definitely a good one. The characters deal with (SPOILER) death, divorce, sex, bullying, and a big secret is revealed. If you are wanting a fun beach read then take a ride with the Vincent boys because they are a truckload of fun.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    I really liked it!

    I really liked it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Cute.

    I like this book alot. Its about 120 nook pages. I loved the characters. There was sometjing missing but im not sure what really. But i know that i would have liked to see like a year later chapter or something. And i wish the romance was there more..but you could tell that there was a romanxe between ash and beau. I loved it wish it wasnt a 5 hour read but it was cute. And worth the $3.00.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Worth the price, worth the read!

    This was a good book, keep in mind they are teens still in school. Because of that it was hard for me to fully invest in the charaters. Also the author would start a love scene and not finish it, probably due to the fact that they werent adults. But if your already giving descriptions of the couple “warming up” so to speak, or plenty of sexual innuendos... then whats the point of being so tongue and cheek?
    I didnt understand that at all lol :) Maybe that is just the authors style, this is my first time reading her so I cant be sure. To be honest I was hoping for an epilogue, seeing them in a relationship as adults probably would have made this a 5* book for me! Would have loved to see Beau as a man, and Ashton as a woman... It really left something to be desired! This was written in first person, I never ever read books like that but I really did enjoy this book despite that.
    Basically this was out of the norm for me, but im glad I didnt pass it up!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2012

    The Vincent Boys wasn't the romantic love story I was looking fo

    The Vincent Boys wasn't the romantic love story I was looking for but a realistic take about best friends and that special zing of good chemistry. I usually hate books where cheating is a theme. But I really identified with Ashton and how she felt she had to act a certain way so that she could live up to the expectations of her parents and the whole town. When they were little, Ashton, Beau, and Sawyer were best friends. Ashton and Beau loved to get into trouble while Sawyer would help talk the out of punishment. Then Ashton grew up and became Sawyer's long time steady girfriend. Just like that, Ashton and Beau weren't friends anymore except for the occaisional sarcasm. Sawyer was the QB and All American Boy who was perfect for Ashton the popular preacher's daughter. Beau grew into the town bad boy hanging out in the bar where his Mom works, drinking, and raising hell.

    Then Sawyer goes on a summer long camping trip with his family and leaves Ashton alone in town for the first time. Ashton isn't quite sure where she fits in if she isn't someone's daughter or Sawyer's girlfriend. She drives Beau and his on/off drunk tramp home after finding them drunk on the side of the road. Beau and Ashton begin to talk and initiate their friendship. Beau appeals to the fun loving Ashton that she is afraid to show the world because of other's expectations. Soon, the friendship ignites the passion that has slowly been simmering under the surface all these years. Neither would do anything to hurt Sawyer but in a small town with buried secrets, their relationship is a catalyst for the three friends that will forever change them.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Small town love

    Gotta love Ashton and Beau! Ashton is so worried about what people will think about her since they live in such a small town. Because of her fear she shies away from Beau Vincent (the town Bad Seed) in favor of Sawyer Vincent- Beau's cousin. On the surface they are the perfect couple, but Ashton is hiding too much of herself from everyone except Beau.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Amazing

    Amazing but gosh I just want to smach her and hug her at the same time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Highly recommend

    What a great read! I laughed and cried and loved every word! You'll love these boys and want more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    PRETTY GOOD! :)

    i enjoyed this story very much. beau was such a misunderstood character and i loved how he and ashton just simply "got each other" i also loved the little childhood flashbacks. great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2013

    This story follows three childhood friends Ash, Beau & Sawye

    This story follows three childhood friends Ash, Beau & Sawyer. The story is told through dual POV's between Ash & Beau. When Ash & Sawyer begin to date, her relationship with Beau becomes non existent. Ash is trying so hard to be the perfect daughter to her parents and even though she loves both Vincent Boys she knows that Sawyer is the choice that her parents would want her to make. While Sawyer is out of town, Ash drives Beau & his girlfriend home one night after they've been drinking. They begin to hang out and try to build on the relationship that they once had. Beau knows her best and she can just be herself. They love each other so much but she refuses to come between the cousins. When Sawyer comes home early, she breaks things off with Beau. But will family secrets ultimately tear the boys apart? This was my first Abbi Glines book and immediately purchased the next book in the series and look forward to reading more of her work. It's one of the most beautiful love stories I've ever read. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2013

    Loved this book!! Great read!

    Loved this book!! Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Very steamy!!!

    Not great how the two of them finally came together but they sure are a steamy couple!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    It¿s been a while since I¿ve read a YA book that didn¿t involve

    It’s been a while since I’ve read a YA book that didn’t involve vampires/shadowhunters/casters/unholy-being-of-your-choice…

    The last was before Christmas when I read The Boy Who Sneaks in My Bedroom Window by Kirsty Moseley…yeah the less said about that book the better. It made me crrriiiinnnggggeeee and I ran screaming into the arms of Cassandra Clare and happily wiled away hours dreaming about Jace and being able to rock Isabelle’s awesome boots.

    However despite all the lovely Paranormal/Dystopian/Magic themed books waiting to be read, I noticed that there was a worryingly high pile of “normal” YA books that needed some attention so I decided to dive in with one that came highly recommened, The Vincent Boys by Abbi Glines. I’ve already been warned away from the sequel but I may read it someday…soon.

    Ashton is getting tired of being good, of impressing her parents and playing ideal girlfriend to Sawyer Vincent. Sawyer is perfect, a regular Prince Charming, but when he leaves town for the summer, it’s his cousin Beau who catches Ashton’s eye. Beau is the sexiest guy she’s ever seen, and even though he’s dangerous, Ashton is drawn to him.Beau loves his cousin like a brother, so the last thing he wants to do is make a move on Sawyer’s girl. Ashton is off-limits, absolutely. That’s why he does his best to keep his distance, even though he’s been in love with her forever. When Ashton wants to rekindle their childhood friendship in Sawyer’s absence, Beau knows he should say no.Ashton and Beau don’t want to hurt Sawyer. But the more they try to stay away from each other, the more intense their urges become. It’s getting way too hard to resist….


    First off let me say as a rule I’m uncomfortable with books that deal with adultery (personal issues) and even more uncomfortable when I find myself rooting for the guilty parties but I give that as a compliment to the author for writing such a fun story that I “get over” my thing. Emily Giffin deserves a shout out here for her awesome book “Something Borrowed” which made me equally uncomfortable. But that’s the wonder of books, it takes you outside your comfort zone and allows you to paddle safely in unknown waters.

    Abbi Glines introduced me to two characters I couldn’t help but root for. “Good-Girl” Ashton and “Bad-Boy” Beau were best friends and thick as thieves as kids as they ran amok and terrorised the neighbourhood with their hijinks while the third member of their pack Sawyer cleaned up their messes and kept them out of trouble. Cut to 10 years later and Sawyer is the star of the Football Team, Honours Student and all-around golden boy and Ashton is his picture perfect girlfriend, daughter of the town pastor, she is careful to mind her P’s and Q’s and not disappoint her boyfriend. Beau is on the sidelines, great football player with a rep for mischief, dating girls who don’t mind being pulled behind the bleachers and drinking at the local field parties.

    When Sawyer takes a family vacation, a chance encounter with Beau stirs up old memories and makes Ashton question whether she really wants to be Sawyer’s good girl or be Beau’s Ash…

    Ashton’s main dilemma in this book is one many young girls will identify with. The pressure to surpress who you are to be who you think society wants you to be. Ashton isn’t a bad person, she doesn’t kick puppies or do drugs or steal cars. She just wants to laugh, be kissed until she’s breathless and have some fun however in a small town where reputation is everything she feels suffocated and unable to let go. The pressure she feels is so great that when she sees the chance to escape and be the person she feels only Beau will let her be. Glines handles this situation really well. As Ashton finds herself drawn to Beau more and more, we see her carefully examine her behaviour at all times, she may act impulsively on occasion but Ashton recognises her behaviour and when the time comes to come clean and own up, she takes her lumps and then some.

    Despite the somewhat sketchy subject matter, the heart of the book is recognising your true self and realising that it is okay to be YOU. This is a lesson not just vital for teenagers to learn but people at any age as the pressure to fit into society’s box is prevalent at all stages of life. The love story is real, sweet, seriously hot at times! and enjoyable. This was my first Abbi Glines book but it won’t be my last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Good but wish i had bougjt the ori

    For $10 i thought the uncut xtnded version would have been longer and a lil fuller. Now i do love the story. It was good. But for half the amount i can thnk of many books as long and as great if no better. I guess i really had highr xpctations for this version. Will buy brothers reg version

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Great book ! AAAAA+++++

    Great book ! AAAAA+++++

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Great Book

    Caint wait to read the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4