Customer Reviews for

The Viscount's Midsummer Mistress

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic!

Grace and Gideon's love story is wonderful and a must read! 500+pages, no grammatical errors, and well edited. I will definitely read more from this author.

posted by my1perch on December 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

Rather than weaving a story which draws the reader in, this author seems to be reciting events. Everything is presented in a simplistic manner that fails to engage. Ok for a quick, free read, but glad I did not pay for it.

posted by 10948666 on January 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Character driven story. Loved it.

    Not like my typical Regency romance reads. This had no coming out balls , conniving and scheming women and cliffhangers. But I loved this book because it concentrated on the love story of Grace and Gideon. Going back and forth between their pasts and then back to the present really helped flesh out the characters. I usually don't like alot of descriptive "padding" but I could actually picture the house and other things because of the desriptions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Agree Boring

    Agree with other reviews. This is a boring recantation of two lives. On page 158 - and have skimmed thrterough most of those - can't see i t getting much better.m

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Painful to get through

    This reads more like a historial article or recounting not a novel. Really drawn out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Great love story

    Really enjoyed this book. So different back then when they married for life regardless if they were happy or not. How distressing to be married and your wife does not care for you and then you find the love of your dreams. Great story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Thomas Hardy meets Romance Novel

    This book has a lot of surprising charm and reads faster than expected in spite of the length. The writing reminds me of 19th century although there is more sex than would be included in a real Victorian novel. The romance seems very realistic but not graphic, and of course there is a nice resolution at the end. No evil protaganist who kidnaps the heroine or other forced plot advancement. Just a story about two people who love each other, and manage an arrangement that society would see as wrong. You care about the characters and want to see how it comes out for them. I would read more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Love English books!

    Enjoyed learning about British history. Surprised Gieodon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Enjoyed

    Too much details at times

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Its free

    Story was ok, although I ended up skimming through the last few chapters. Started off interesting but ended uo mediocre. Don't expect too much and you might enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3