Customer Reviews for

The Voice

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Nella Fantasia

    Amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THE THING NEVER HEARD BEFORE

    WOW WHAT A GREAT VOICE N WHAT A GREAT MUSIC.CLAP CLAP.BRILLIANT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    "The Voice" that touches me so deeply.

    I purchased "The Voice" CD after hearing just a few lines of "Nella fantasia" on TV. I had never listen to opera before, but there was something about this voice that captivated me. I have to admit the sound of opera was so foreign to me but listened through anyway. After listening to CD 3 times, I was in tears - this man's voice touched me so deeply. After getting totally hooked on Russell's voice I visiting his site and saw that there was a new CD called "Encore" soon to be released in the UK. This CD will be released here in the States on September 1, 2002. I very much enjoy every song on this new CD as well. His voice has become stronger, but delivers the same touching sound. I strongly recommend buying anything done by Russell Watson. Lisa

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Superb

    I love Russell Watsons' voice. He is truely amazing with such a range in singing styles. If you like Andrea Bocelli style get this CD, he is great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Don't Miss Out -- Experience 'The Voice' For Yourself!

    If you're thinking about purchasing Russell Watson's debut album, don't second guess yourself: buy it today! Russell Watson truly has an amazing voice and whether you like pop music or classical arias, you will not be disappointed with this disc. Even if you've never experienced classical music before, this CD is a great introduction to a gorgeous genre of music. If you love Russell's debut, make sure to check out his new CD, 'Encore', due out here in the US September 24th. I went ahead and imported a copy from England awhile ago & it was *defiantly* worth every penny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Voice is Outstanding and it stands alone

    It is rediculous and insulting to say this voice needs vocal training! Only one with no classical sense, an untrained ear or canal's filled with cotton would say such. I study voice and have a vocal coach now. The integrity of the Italian language in the arias, and classical songs Russell performs on this album are practicaly flawless recordings. They would probably be even better if you heard him live. He had a spellbound audience at the Taj Mahal. The little training Russell did have and all the karioki he sang at local pubs in England only enhanced and brought out ''The Voice'' that was already there. You have to no a good voice and be able to appreciate a great artist before you can be a critic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    awesome

    His remake of Simon and Garfunkel's "Bridge Over Troubled Water" (one of my all-time favorite songs) made me cry it was so beautiful. That song alone is worth five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sensational!

    The power of his voice! The quality!He is the brightest new rising star.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THE MOST BEAUTIFUL VOICE I'VE EVER HEARD!

    I heard Mr. Russell, just by chance (?) soon after 9/11. I've listened over and over again to both his albums, and they have been a beautiful place for me in the midst of all the terror we've seen. I'm hoping so much that I will see him and hear him in person. I would like to tell him what a wonderful place in my life he has become. I can hardly wait for another album!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This man is truly blessed with a magic voice

    I first saw Russel on TV a few weeks ago about 1pm. He was singing ''It's Now Or Never'' and I cried my eyes out. Just sensational.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Just awsome

    The voice is a perfect name for this gifted singer. I love the song Barcelona, Vienna , La Donna E Mobile, these I play real loud, just love them. I listen to him at work everyday and never tire of his beautiful voice. I wish him the best in his future career and hopefully he will have a concert in the U.S.A so I can go and listen to him in person. I am very moved by all of his songs, and I do not believe he is trying to copy anyone else, he is just a gifted and wonderful talent.I also listen to Bocelli but ''the voice'' is my favorite. gb.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Brilliant

    I have never been a big fan of operatic music, at least not until I heard ''The Voice''. Russell Watson definitely belongs up there. His mix of opera, classical and modern music brings a whole new era in the music world. Can't wait for his next project.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Spine Tingling

    I first heard Russell on Good Morning America one morning as I was walking out the door. Chills went up my spine and needless to say I was late for an appointment. ''The Voice'' is one spine tingling chill after another. I love his voice and the images his songs bring to mind. I can't wait until he releases another album. I'll line up days ahead just to get a copy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Beyond your wildest dreams!

    I have never been so taken with a musical gift such as Russell Watson's. There is something about his voice that that reaches into your soul. You can not and will not be able to forget the incredible talent he has of opening your heart to the world of Classical Music. What a gift he has! It will haunt you forever. I can't wait for Russell's next release.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    he's the best

    great voice... i watched a pbs special and fell in love with his voice..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Truly Enjoyable Music!!

    The perfect voice of Russell Watson backed by the incredibly beautiful orchestration of the Royal Philharmonic is the most uplifting, satisfying, and enjoyable music you will never tire of!!!! It just doesn't get any better than this!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A rising Star?

    Very few artists have the ability to perform on both the opera and pop fronts as well as Watson. While Boccelli and others struggle on one or the other, Watson shows fine, albeit developing, ability on both sides. It would be unfair to compare him to ''the greats'' just yet as his voice is still developing. But perhaps this speaks to the wonders of his ability...at such a young age, we are already projecting him into the same realm as ''the greats''...and let's be serious...how many of ''the greats'' can sing a pop/rock song like this guy? ''Where My Heart Will Take Me'' sounds like something out of the early nineties (where's my lighter?). And how many can match his ability on Miserere? (Yes, both of those voices are his)... I just hope he finds and maintains a sense of humility...as I look forward to his development...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What a voice!

    What a pleasant surprise. Russell Watson doesn't have A beautiful voice, he has TWO beautiful voices! It's amazing how his voice changes from pop to clasical music. A must for anyone who likes the human voice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    FANTASTIC!

    How beautiful this young man's voice is! A pleasant surprise awaits everyone on this cd. You don't have to be a classical buff to appreciate the opera, but you will surely enjoy his rendition of Barcelona with Shaun Ryder and his duet with Cleopatra Higgins, whom I have never heard of before. I thoroughly enjoyed this cd and look forward to his next release.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    See him live

    I bought this CD after seeing his performance in Atlantic City. He is truly in a class by himself as a live performer. His studio work is excellent - but to appreciate his talent you must see him perform live.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2