Customer Reviews for

The Voice Bible: Step Into the Story of Scripture

Average Rating 4
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

recommended - for the right reasons...

The Voice is definitely a unique translation. In some ways I found it to be really interesting and in others I was confused by it. Here’s the breakdown…
I really like how it gives you some additional scriptural context and historical background. The additional insights...
The Voice is definitely a unique translation. In some ways I found it to be really interesting and in others I was confused by it. Here’s the breakdown…
I really like how it gives you some additional scriptural context and historical background. The additional insights can really deepen your understanding of certain passages. That said, there is a bit of a “key” you need to become familiar with in order for everything to make sense and sink in. I haven’t quite gotten there yet.
The translation of the actual scripture is certainly easier to read than potentially more “traditional” translations like NIV and King James. On the flip side, if you are used to those translations this may seem a bit confusing as well. Then when you add in the supplemental history/background… well, you’re either going to love it or scratch your head and shrug in frustration.
The main thing that I think will keep me reading this version is the additional information, history, and cultural context provided in this translation. It truly does deepen the scriptures and learning experience.
This may seem like a confusing review. I think it all comes down to this: If you are looking for simply a different translation to read, this may or may not be for you. If, on the other hand, you are in search of a different translation that will also provide some additional context for scripture and historical background…well then, scoop this up and enjoy!

posted by kd11 on May 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Review for Hardback

This is from the Hear the Voice website; “The Voice is a dynamic equivalent translation that reads like a story with all of the truth and wisdom of God’s Word. Through compelling narratives, poetry, and teaching it invites readers to enter into the whole story of God wi...
This is from the Hear the Voice website; “The Voice is a dynamic equivalent translation that reads like a story with all of the truth and wisdom of God’s Word. Through compelling narratives, poetry, and teaching it invites readers to enter into the whole story of God with their heart, soul, and mind. This bold new translation engages readers like no other Bible.”

But I think what accurately describes this translation best is the tiny little shield on the Voice’s spine, “The Voice is a trustworthy Bible translation that reads like a novel.”

The Voice is a bible unlike any other, so to describe what it is “like” I would have to use examples outside of the field. The Voice bible is like reading a screen play. The Voice bible is like reading an annotated novel.

Yes, it is a bible and yes it is a bible translation, however I would not use it in a setting where I would need to “follow along” with a reader or a sermon; in that regard it’s like other dynamic equivalent translations.

In my opinion the Voice bible is great for those who have difficulty reading standard translations and want something more familiar to pull them in to the text. It’s also great for people who are extremely familiar with the text and want to read the bible again with new eyes. I think it would also be great as a reading bible or for teachers who want to be able to examine a text in a different light.

Some of the translation points I liked were instead of calling Jesus the “Christ” they call him the “anointed one,” which is more accurate to the text and the Hebrew understanding. The Angels are called messengers, which I like. I think sometimes we picture “angels” as winged beings with halos and we really have no idea what these messengers looked like. The disciples are called emissaries, which is a very modern usage and works well I think.

Unlike most bibles the Voice places the notes directly in the bible text, but to avoid confusion the notes are in a different color to differentiate scripture from editor.

This review is for the hardback edition of the bible. The bible is bound well and on good paper stock. This is a quality

posted by mojo_turbo on May 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    A daily reading bible that takes your hand and leads you into th

    A daily reading bible that takes your hand and leads you into the story of scripture from the very first page. Having read the Voice New Testament, I was super excited to get my hands on this Bible. The lyrical, narrated way that both the New Testament and full Bible version bring to the reader. The Voice has the Biblical text formatted as a play, the drama unfolds in the story of Scripture, and we are engaged, wanting to know more, not merely reading a single verse, chapter or book of the Bible but enjoying this as the read of ages.

    My ebook version of this Bible is well set out, includes hyperlinked Table of Contents and Topical guides which are also hyperlinked to the Commentary notes in this bible. There are also textual footnotes that hyperlink to provide more information.
    Any serious reader of God’s word will have discovered the awesome way that scripture opens up a person’s soul in discovering the Father’s heart for us. This version of the bible, truly reads as a story that provides you with interest in each and every Bible character. For anybody interested in knowing what God wants you to know through the story of scripture, this Bible is highly recommended.

    Four reading plans are included in the Voice which are designed to keep you close – I plan to begin the 40 day Retreat with Jesus in the next few days – watch my blog for updates.

    Practical aids help to explore the Bible and use this version of the Bible in so many ways that keep the Word of God fresh and playing out in your thoughts all day long.

    I simply love the Voice Bible and recommend it for anybody who loves Scripture.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    The Voice Translation Bible for EBook The Voice translation is

    The Voice Translation Bible for EBook

    The Voice translation is a wonderful translation that kept me wanting to continue on. The Voice translation gives a fresh look at the Old and New Testament text and thus gives life to places in text that may have seemed stale once before. I also enjoyed the play script like writing style of the text that makes you feel like you are really there and seeing everything happen right before you. As a Biblical Scholar, I really liked the historical context references that occur throughout this translation and helps keep the message of the text within the context it was written and the people it was written for. As a believer, I feel that this text is a valuable asset to conversion of those who have either fallen away from the church or those who have had no experience with church whatsoever.

    I am so excited that I now have this translation in an ebook! Its easy to read on my Nextbook 7 and an awesome way to use technology to honor God!

    I received this book for review free from Booksneeze and was not paid for my review.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    If you enjoy reading the Bible, you'll enjoy The Voice.

    I love reading the Bible. I currently have the NLT, the NIV version. I purchased the Voice just to compare the translations and I love it. I love how its set up in dialogue form. I was never a fan of KJV, always felt I didn't quite grasp the meaning of the scriptures. The Voice is another wonderful alternative. The word of God is POWERFUL!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Simply the best Bible I have ever used. Perfect for the Nook Si

    Simply the best Bible I have ever used. Perfect for the Nook Simple Ereader I had used another and I spent more time trying to find what I wanted to read. This one is very simple to find what your looking for.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    Wonderful

    I have tried and failed many times during my life to read the Bible. I really wanted to read the entire Bible from first to last page. I purchased many different versions and never got there. With the Voice Bible on my tablet, I now feel that I will succeed. I read some each day and often find that I keep reading more than I inteded to when I started reading.

    The Voice tells the story in a very meaningful way. If you have had the same problem of getting through the Bible, I strongly suggest that you try The Voice Bible. Several of my friends are now reading it on my reccommendation.

    Enjoy and learn!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    I own several translations of the bible (kjv,amp,niv,nasb,messag

    I own several translations of the bible (kjv,amp,niv,nasb,message,nlt,rsv just to name a few!)--all have their strengths--but this is the best bible for reading and devotional time. If you're like me and own a ton of bibles I can imagine that you may be wondering about having yet another one but this bible is really worth it. Truly great to read. Own the leather cover (cover is great and made by artisans in Buenos Aires,) buying the nook version today. Love it that much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Highly recommend

    It is well written and very easy to keep your interest. However, with that said it is not a substitute for a good version to study from. This is definitely a devotional reading only Bible. Well worth the investment. Much better, in my opinion then The Message.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Love this Bible--Recommend for those wanting more background

    Very good historical background included. Use in conjunction with New International Version.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Excellent!

    "The Voice" is the answer to "I cannot understand the Bible". Reads like a novel, yet conveys the message intended. Hard to put down once you begin reading. Yes, I recommend "The Voice"! It is a "must-read".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Recommend!

    Great, easy to read version of the bible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Great!

    I really am glad I purchased this Bibe. Have many translations but this is so much nicer with having who is talking instead of verses running together. Lots of helpful information also

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    A story of Scripture that makes it real!

    This is an exciting "dialogue" based Bible, that makes the story come alive! Especially the Old Testament passages are vivid and tangible.
    Everyone should spend some time in the passages to get a clearer idea of what really happened. Highly recommend for serious students of the Bible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2013

    Worthy for all

    Very clear and precise. It makes reading so much easier because the narrative is defined, the added clarification establishes the events and circumstances. It puts the enjoyment into the reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Just start reading.... so nice

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    Jesus Christ!

    To whoever said all those bad things about Jesus- you can have your own religion, but dont't go saying all those things about someone who many of us believe in and worship. I believe in and follow Jesus Christ and whoever wrote all those things two results down needs to think about what other people believe, even though they may think otherwise.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    LEA TO CRISSIE!

    Move matt and beth and lantern to fun times result two

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2