Customer Reviews for

The Volatile Amazon

Average Rating 4
( 7 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 7 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Heart pounding action, exciting twist and turns and an incredibl

    Heart pounding action, exciting twist and turns and an incredible love story, The Volatile Amazon is a must read. Sandy James out did herself with this new and exhilarating addition to the Alliance of the Amazon. 

    The Volatile Amazon brilliantly and surprisingly ties old storylines in to Sarita and Ian's story. Not only giving us a good dose of the characters we've come to love but astonishing us by pulling in the ghosts from the past.

    As you can tell, I loved this book. I reveled in the characters. I was enthralled by the passionate romance. I was shocked by unexpected revelations. Sandy James has a special gift in writing characters you want as your friends, including a few shifters... 

    Don't miss The Volatile Amazon.

    I received this ARC copy of The Volatile Amazon from Carina Press in exchange for a honest review. This book is set for publication September 30, 2013.

    Written by: Sandy James
    Print Length: 287 pages
    Publisher: Carina Press 
    Publication Date: September 30, 2013
    Rating: 5 Stars
    Genre: Paranormal, Contemporary, Romance
    Age Recommendation: Adult

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2014

    ?

    Can this be read as a stand alone?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is the the fourth and final book in the Alliance of the Ama

    This is the the fourth and final book in the Alliance of the Amazons series by Sandy James.  I was given an ARC of the book by the author for an honest review.  This is the story of the Water Amazon, Sarita and takes place about a year after the closing of The Brazen Amazon.  Sarita has been labeled as the weaker Amazon, mainly due to her small stature and forgiving nature.  Add in all the problems she had early on with killing zombies and it's easy to see why the other three do what they can to protect her.

    This story starts out a little different than the others.  The first person we meet is Ian, though we don't know that at the time.  He is stuck in Limbo, and though his heart burns with revenge, all he can do is put one foot in front of the other, walking back and forth, trapped forever in a bland monotony.  Until a woman comes and promises him his revenge if she will worship and follow her.

    Next we see all four of the Amazon patronesses consulting a seer. There they find out that the impending doom of mankind and the only person who may find a way to stop it is Sarita.  This task she must do alone, without the aid of her trainers, sisters, or even their patronesses.  Sarita must meet her destiny and find a way to save the world.

    I just need to say, AMAZING!!  I was hooked from the beginning and managed to devour this book in one sitting.  There were so many twists and turns and OMG! moments.  I went from laughing out loud to crying at emotional scenes in this book.  You absolutely have to read the other books in the series to really get the most emotional impact, because after 3 books you know and are invested in the characters.  This was a 5 star Goodreads rating for me and I can only hope that Ms. James will pick up the story with the Sons of Gaia.  This is a universe too rich and unique to end after only 4 books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    THE VOLATILE AMAZON is the fourth and final installment in Sandy

    THE VOLATILE AMAZON is the fourth and final installment in Sandy James’s Alliance of the Amazon series focusing on four ‘amazon sisters’ each with an elemental power-earth, fire, air and water-and the men they love. But as with many endings, there is also a beginning, and it appears there is a spin off series in the works for the Sons of Gaia.
    Sarita is the water Amazon.  Always considered the weakest of the four elemental Amazons due to her size and personality, Sarita endeavors to prove to the Alliance and the Sentinels that she is just as powerful and capable as the others. But her latest assignment will find Sarita falling for a man long thought dead, and a man who believes Sarita is someone else.
    Once again, Sandy James continues to weave a story of ancient goddesses, demi-gods and mythology into a contemporary storyline of betrayal, power and revenge.  Each Amazon has a goddess representative and with these comes the struggle for the ultimate control.  When an ancient goddess continues to battle for supremacy, everyone and everything in her way will become fodder in a war between the gods and goddesses.  And it will take one small water Amazon to prove that that the love of your sisters and one man, may be all you need to fight the evil that is hell on earth. 
    The relationship between Sarita and Ian begins as a case of mistaken identity.  Although Sarita will soon learn the exact nature of Ian’s errors, it will take a stronger Sarita to let go of the man who has stolen her heart.  The sex scenes are sensual and hot; and the tension builds because we know that at some point their true identities and purposes will be revealed. 
    The previous storyline characters are present as are the gods and goddesses who continue to make the Amazon’s lives miserable.  And the continued animosity between the four Amazon’s goddesses makes for some rather interesting insight into what feels like basic sibling rivalry –all in the name of power and control.
    This is a story of betrayal and trust; heartbreak and sorrow; family loss and reunion.
    Sandy James has written a wonderful conclusion to her Alliance of the Amazon series-a series with strong female leads who are empowered by the men and women in their lives.  I am looking forward to what (I hope) is a spin off series focusing on the Sons of Gaia.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Sarita Neeraj is the Water Amazon. She's viewed as the weakest o

    Sarita Neeraj is the Water Amazon. She's viewed as the weakest of the bunch since she's more of a lover than a fighter. Don't get me wrong though, she can kick some serious booty if necessary. Her main power that I've seen in the previous books in the series was her ability to heal her "sisters", the other Amazons. This time around, Sarita is feeling left out of her group, due to the fact that the other Amazons have found their mates and are all married.

    After Sarita completes a mission, she is abducted and whisked off to a castle. Her captor is a sexy Scottish man named Ian. I could tell from the first second Ian was introduced that he and Sarita would have a complicated relationship. There were quite a few things they had to work through before anything could really happen. Even though there was a lot going on in the book, the story flowed quite nicely. A few of the things that happened were Ian's kidnapping Sarita, a case of mistaken identity, a secret past and even an epic battle.

    The Volatile Amazon is the last book in the Alliance of the Amazons series. I didn't think it was possible, but I think this is my favorite book in this series. I loved each book, but this one wrapped up the story quite nicely without feeling rushed. I'm really sad that the series is over, I've enjoyed reading the Amazon's stories and will be checking out Sandy's other books in the very near future. If you're a fan of Urban Fantasy with a bit of romance, I strongly recommend you read this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2013

    Wasn't as good as the other books in the series

    I enjoyed the rest of the series, but the author didn't seem to have put much effort into this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Wow! What a fantastic ending to such an exciting series!!

    Wow! What a fantastic ending to such an exciting series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1