Customer Reviews for

The Vow: The True Events that Inspired the Movie

Average Rating 4
( 897 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(460)

4 Star

(182)

3 Star

(120)

2 Star

(59)

1 Star

(76)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

86 out of 99 people found this review helpful.

Quick inspirational read

This book is very inspiring. It is written from Kim's perspective and his emotions are relayed very well which helps you develop a connection with him. There is alot of talk about faith and God throughout the whole book but I never felt as though I was being preached at...
This book is very inspiring. It is written from Kim's perspective and his emotions are relayed very well which helps you develop a connection with him. There is alot of talk about faith and God throughout the whole book but I never felt as though I was being preached at. I do wish it included more of how Kricket came to love Kim again, this part seemed rushed and not touched on; it is only 107 pages though. Overall, it was a good read. Looking forward to seeing the movie this Valentine's Day.

posted by 7641848 on February 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 101 people found this review helpful.

I can wait lol

How could you rate it, if it never came out yet -_-

posted by 11037857 on February 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 898 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 45
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Quick inspirational read

    This book is very inspiring. It is written from Kim's perspective and his emotions are relayed very well which helps you develop a connection with him. There is alot of talk about faith and God throughout the whole book but I never felt as though I was being preached at. I do wish it included more of how Kricket came to love Kim again, this part seemed rushed and not touched on; it is only 107 pages though. Overall, it was a good read. Looking forward to seeing the movie this Valentine's Day.

    86 out of 99 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Wonderful Book I enjoyed reading. kept me entertained all the way through.

    54 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Amazing..

    i wanted to read the book before going to see the movie, and the book its self was amazing! the story is the most unbelievable and inspiring story i have ever heard.. im excited to see the movie and to know either way this story def makes me look at life completely different..

    44 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Highly Recommended!

    Thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. I couldn't wait to see the movie. The movie is nothing like the book. I was very disappointed! The book was so inspiring to me and the faith that these two people have in God was very profound. My advice to anyone that wants to see the movie, don't read the book. God was the center of the book but in the movie he was only mentioned once and not in a good way.

    39 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Don't Buy This Book

    This book was a waste of money; a very poorly-written short story of a couples faith-based journey in recovery. Completely lacking the love story the movie promises, this book is more a guide on how to live a faith-based life. I wish someone had written this review before i ordered the book and wasted $9.00

    26 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Touching read

    Didn't take long to read, short. Very good. To have a husband love you like that is overwhelming. I know my husband loves me but could he through something like that and after only being married a few months?? I really liked this and liked it even more knowing it was a true story! Divorce is so common now, its nice to know that couples do work hard to save their marriages!

    22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    This was a Wonderful Movie! I enjoyed it so much that now I plan to read the book to make sure that no part was left out during movie production. I don't want to spoil it so I will not give any movie details and instead will just say that I found it intriguing as it left me pondering as to whether a person's life destiny always finds a way to stay on track despite the various bumps in the road.

    I highly recommend it!

    19 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Amazing

    This book taught me to respect everything God has to give you and never take life for granted because at any moment, He might just take it away from you.

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Not what i expected

    I thought this book would be more like a Nicholas Sparks love story• Instead I read a dry pamphlet for focus on the family

    12 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Book size

    A lot of people have complained about the size of the book. 107 pages on the nook. It is 180 pages in book form. The book is such an inspiring story! I really reccomend it. Beautiful story!

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    The Vow

    Such a wonderful story of love and comment to the Lord.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    A

    Very disappointed, wasted $10!

    9 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Great Read, but nothing like the movie.

    I absolutely enjoyed both the book and the movie; but they barely resemble one another. The book is so faith based. I love that it is totally God centered. The movie...not at all. I appreciate the autenticity the book has to offer based on the insight as to what actually occured. The movie was good though.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Too short

    Wonderful love story!

    9 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2012

    DISAPPOINTED

    I had really high hopes for this book. I planned on reading the book before watching the movie but since they both were released at the same time I just could not wait to watch the movie. HOWEVER in most cases where the book is great and the movie is the one dissapointing this was not the case. This book started off slow and never really got any better. Of course it was nothing like the movie which would have been fine if it was even remotely down the same story line... EVERYTHING in this book was different and so slow. I would not recommend this book. The movie on the other hand is a must see. It was amazing!!

    8 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Not worth the money....

    Not much more than a husband's journal. Disappointed and wasted my ten bucks. Hope the movie is less disappointing.

    8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    A true gift

    What a great story of faith and commitment! I will be excited to see the movie

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Very Disappointed...

    The movie and this couple's story has gotten so much hype, I expected the book to at least be an interesting read. It reminds me of an inept, disjointed story written for a junior high school English class. Very sorry I wasted my money on this book.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Decent but forced

    Slow and unengaging.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Not worth it

    If you really want to read this I recommend borrowing it. Looking for a great romantic read? Stick to Sparks, he has never let me down as a writer.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 898 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 45