BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Vow: The True Events that Inspired the Movie

Average Rating 4
( 901 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(461)

4 Star

(184)

3 Star

(120)

2 Star

(60)

1 Star

(76)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

86 out of 99 people found this review helpful.

Quick inspirational read

This book is very inspiring. It is written from Kim's perspective and his emotions are relayed very well which helps you develop a connection with him. There is alot of talk about faith and God throughout the whole book but I never felt as though I was being preached at...
This book is very inspiring. It is written from Kim's perspective and his emotions are relayed very well which helps you develop a connection with him. There is alot of talk about faith and God throughout the whole book but I never felt as though I was being preached at. I do wish it included more of how Kricket came to love Kim again, this part seemed rushed and not touched on; it is only 107 pages though. Overall, it was a good read. Looking forward to seeing the movie this Valentine's Day.

posted by 7641848 on February 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 101 people found this review helpful.

I can wait lol

How could you rate it, if it never came out yet -_-

posted by 11037857 on February 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 184 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Quick inspirational read

    This book is very inspiring. It is written from Kim's perspective and his emotions are relayed very well which helps you develop a connection with him. There is alot of talk about faith and God throughout the whole book but I never felt as though I was being preached at. I do wish it included more of how Kricket came to love Kim again, this part seemed rushed and not touched on; it is only 107 pages though. Overall, it was a good read. Looking forward to seeing the movie this Valentine's Day.

    86 out of 99 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Highly Recommended!

    Thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. I couldn't wait to see the movie. The movie is nothing like the book. I was very disappointed! The book was so inspiring to me and the faith that these two people have in God was very profound. My advice to anyone that wants to see the movie, don't read the book. God was the center of the book but in the movie he was only mentioned once and not in a good way.

    39 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Touching read

    Didn't take long to read, short. Very good. To have a husband love you like that is overwhelming. I know my husband loves me but could he through something like that and after only being married a few months?? I really liked this and liked it even more knowing it was a true story! Divorce is so common now, its nice to know that couples do work hard to save their marriages!

    22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Great book

    Great book not all the pics loaded on my nook. Made me kinda sad. Great story about faith and love

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Inspiring

    Was shocked that it was only 107 pages. Was a very emotional and inspiring book. Would have liked to read more about the years between the 2nd renewal of their vows and today. Overall, a very good read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Great Read

    Lots of hope and inspiration.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Great true story

    Good book and inspiring love story, im sure the movie is much different than the book

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    i cant wait!!!!

    i cant wait to c the movie. but it seems sad;(

    2 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Awsome

    I love this book so much. If you just want a suttle romance book, this is for you. And its appropiate for your kids too. My daughter just loves it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Great book

    I loved it! I tend to like books with action, so this book was a great fit! Although it was nothing what i thought it would be. Honestly i did get a little bored towards the end. It was a very good book though! Im glad i didnt buy it because id probably end up deleting the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Very good book!

    Short story, but a very incredible story of love!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    True love story

    For better or worse... most couples get a few years before the worst, but not this couple. Ultimately, they get something better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Great story!

    I am glad I read the book before watching the movie. Hollywood completely FAILED to tell the true story. The book tells the real story of God's power to heal physically and emotionally. Great testimony, easy to read, very inspirational.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Good

    I heard its good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Good

    Hey i really liked this book and guess wat i got justin bieber tikets if u want to chat about it then just give me a call and im ten soooooooooooo 7139699693

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Inspiring and spiritually uplifting book

    The book may be the inspiration or the idea source for the movie but that is where the similarities stop. The book will boost your faith in the grace of God and His amazing miracles. Read the book and watch the movie but don't expect them to be the same.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2014

    Nothing like the movie

    The Vow as a book is so much more than the movie portrays it to be, other than the amnesia portion, the book is almost a completely different story. The Carpenter's faith is a beautiful example of love, loss & fighting to get it all back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Hmmm

    It was good but seemed to be all overtge place, less like a story and more like a chain of events.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Great story

    I fell in love with the story so romantic and amazing how he never stoped until she was in he arms again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Great book!

    Loved the book- sad what some people have to endure

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 184 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10